We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hop on-Hop off ..... but not if you are disabled”
Review of Hop On Hop Off

Hop On Hop Off
Book In Advance
More Info
US$105.70*
and up
Amsterdam Evening Canal Cruise with 4-course Dinner and Drinks
More Info
US$46.32*
and up
Amsterdam Canals Pizza Cruise Including Drinks
More Info
US$44.54*
and up
Amsterdam Dutch Wine and Cheese Candlelight Cruise
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The ideal transport along the canals, passing all the highlights of Amsterdam. You can hop on and off at the many stops whenever you wish and create your own sightseeing tour in Amsterdam.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Hop on-Hop off ..... but not if you are disabled”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We booked and paid 20 euros each for a one day pass on the 'hop-on;hop-off 'service. This was our first visit to Amsterdam and we thought that would be the best way to see the city. My wife has restricted mobility (not in a wheelchair) and over the years we have done river and canal cruises in many European cities so did not envisage any problems.

However, the particular design of the boats meant that we could not gain access. There were steep steps on the landing stage and then three steps without any supporting rails on the boat itself. The crew were helpful and we did receive a full refund - but were obviously disappointed that we could not partake of this traditional Amsterdam experience.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank luckjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanalCompany, Junior Online Marketer at Hop On Hop Off, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us.
We apologize that we weren’t able to offer boarding facilities for your wife.

We have shared your comments with the team to underline the importance of providing
boarding facilities for disabled people. Unfortunately we have not yet been able to install these
facilities because the stairs and piers are the property of the city of Amsterdam and it requires a long process to install it. However, it is one of our priorities in our plans to improve the customer experience.

But we are happy to read that our staff was helpful and refunded your ticket.
We hope to welcome you back once the boarding facilities are improved so you can experience Amsterdam from the water!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    341
    342
    120
    81
    68
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
279 reviews
140 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Slow boat in circles...on and off...stiff neck”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

You can buy either a 24 hour or day ticket...depending on when you start you might be better off the the 24 hour ticket. Buses operate to a schedule that was more or less to time...one boat was so noisy and the comentary so soft we could not make out anything...another boat was better. Three intersecting loops, but there is alot of nothing on some loops...yes you get an idea of the canals and the old houses but walking will get you this too...probably should have just done the 1 hour highlights then legged it elsewhere or hired a bike. Got stuck in the morning with about 10 screeching women on our boat obviously in from London for the weekend, excruciating. Good for older or less fit tourists though. Many boats crowded squashed 3 to a seat or standing and ticket does not guarantee a seat...if you are stuck on the rear facing seat it is most unpleasant craning your neck to see the sites...
the fare is 20 - 24 for the one day or 15 for the hour...personally I would do the hour after the 2 loops with a walk in the middle I was over the canals!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank MargaretPowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanalCompany, Junior Online Marketer at Hop On Hop Off, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you very much for leaving your review of the Canal Bus on TripAdvisor.

I was very sorry to learn that you have experienced a number of shortfalls. The noisy boat and the soft commentary were obviously not in line with our usual standards.

We have shared your comments about the rear facing seat with the team so that we can improve the customer experience.

We hope that to have the opportunity to restore your confidence in us and welcome you back in the near future.

With kind regards,

Luca Franken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Canal Company Bike Rental.”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I rented a Canal Bike twice with 2 of my friends and it was probably the highlight of my trip!
€8 per person and €20 deposit for an hour! €11pp for 1.5 hours.
You get the bike and an easy to read map to show you where to go to see certain attractions.
It's hard work peddling but it's totally worth what you pay! Such an amazing experience.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anthony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanalCompany, Junior Online Marketer at Hop On Hop Off, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Hi Anthony,

Thank you for sharing your positive experience! We truly appreciate your kind words.
We hope to welcome you back in Amsterdam.

With kind regards,

Luca Franken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, UK
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Hope on and off Rather good”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We had voucher for €3 off , which we got from our hotel.
We got the 24 hour ticket, i would suggest this and not the day ticket.
Unless you buy the ticket at 10 am , as the ride is 10-6.
In the week there is only 2 lines red and green.
You do see quite a lot of "Amsterdam" but only the inner circle.
There is also an audio tour on board which is quite good, it tells you things you wouldnt read in a book, like pointing out individual houses with stories behind them.

I would suggest this to anybody. It is worth its money as you can jump on and off.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Estella S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanalCompany, Junior Online Marketer at Hop On Hop Off, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Hi Estella,

Your review here on TripAdvisor is highly appreciated and we value your opinion. It is a delight to be able to read that you would suggest our canal cruise to anyone and we would like to thank you for that. Have a great day,

Luca Franken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Pizza Cruise”
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

We went on the pizza cruise with 2 couples and had a blast! Don't expect gourmet or the ability to hear all of the sights by the guide. Instead, you get a great visual tour of many canals, giant personal american-style pizza (like a dominos), individual pint of ice cream, and all you can drink beer and wine and bar snacks. Our boat was loud but full of energy!!! Very, very reasonable price and fun way to see Amsterdam.

Helpful?
1 Thank JillV288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hop On Hop Off also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Hop On Hop Off? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing