We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“24 hour ticket is the way to go”
Review of Hop On Hop Off

Hop On Hop Off
Book In Advance
More Info
US$108.19*
and up
Amsterdam Evening Canal Cruise with 4-course Dinner and Drinks
More Info
US$47.41*
and up
Amsterdam Canals Pizza Cruise Including Drinks
More Info
US$45.59*
and up
Amsterdam Dutch Wine and Cheese Candlelight Cruise
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The ideal transport along the canals, passing all the highlights of Amsterdam. You can hop on and off at the many stops whenever you wish and create your own sightseeing tour in Amsterdam.
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We managed to do everything on the Hop-On Hop-off canal cruise we wanted to in the time but you do need to plan well with the schedule. The family ticket for 2 adults and 2 children is marginally more expensive than the cost of 2 adults so it's good value and as long as you are on the boat before the 24 hours is up you can stay on it until you get off. We had one issue where we had to get off a boat as it was going off for repair and needed to wait 30 minutes for the next one to come along but apart from that it was a great way to get around the city. Small pieces of advice - not very suitable for people with mobility issues and really small kids as there are steep stairs and getting on and off is a challenge and we noticed that the boat was departing some stops at least 5 minutes earlier than what the schedule stated on the brochure so make sure you're at your stop 10 minutes early or you might have to wait up to an hour for the next one.

1  Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanalCompany, Junior Online Marketer at Hop On Hop Off, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear Andrew,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from the 24 hours Canal Bus.
It is a delight to read the plusses that you mention in your review.

We feel sorry you had to get off the boat as it was going off for repair and for our lack of punctuality.
Thank you for bringing this to our attention, I will share it with the team.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on our canal cruises in the near future.

With kind regards,

Luca Franken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (991)
There are newer reviews for Hop On Hop Off
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

497 - 501 of 991 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2014

We used the canal.nl cruise line with hop-on hop-off tickets. The first boat only took four people, eventually got a later boat. There was no one to control the queue, no safety rails and a bit of pushing and shoving as tempers frayed. There's only one crewman per boat so god help them if they have problems like the DUKWs in Liverpool or the Marchioness... It looks like they oversell the tickets, fine when things are quiet, but bad at peak times.

Once on the boat, things ran smoothly and the views were good.

Thank Mikemcc4362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanalCompany, Junior Online Marketer at Hop On Hop Off, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear Mike,

We appreciate your feedback and value your opinion.
We apologize that you experienced an unpleasant peaktime.

We have shared your comments about the boarding speed and waiting time with the team so that we can improve the customer experience.

We hope to welcome you back on board in Amsterdam!

With kind regards,

Luca Franken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Bad experience with this company. When we buy the hop on/ hop off tickets we asked for the differents lines and their timetables (we want it to do a whole route of red and green line in orther to see several channels). However, the person was assisting while buying the tickets didn`t know the times for each stop so she went to ask to other colleague. He confirmed us when the last boat started in the afternoon to do a complete red route and we surprised when the captain informed us that the boat finished at the middle of the route(at the other side of the town and without seing lot of loveling channels). We claimed to the captain for the bad information we received but he couldn`t do anything.
Besides when we bought the tickets they told us there would be some spanish audio guide for the routes but there wasn`t.
With no doubt, we would recommend other companies.

Thank albvara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanalCompany, Junior Online Marketer at Hop On Hop Off, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Thank you very much for sharing your review, every feedback is of true importance to us.

We are quite disappointed that you were unhappy about the Canal Bus. We apologize whole-heartedly that our staff informed you incorrectly about the latest tour.

Thank you for bringing to the attention that the Spanish audio was not played for you. On all Canal Buses we have audio available in 6 languages, including Spanish. The skipper can only select a maximum of 3 languages per tour, he should either ask the passengers for their language preference or the passenger should notify the skipper about their language preference. We feel sorry that the skipper didn't turn on the Spanish audio.

We have shared your comments with the team so that we can improve the customer experience. Thank you for choosing Canal Company and we hope that, despite of this experience, me may have the opportunity to restore your confidence in us and welcome you back in the near future.

With kind regards,

Luca Franken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Had a day ticket and virtually went around twice - first time see everything then hopping on and off. There are 3 different circuits which you can use with the one ticket, it is 20 euro for a day ticket and well worth it. Went out early and the boat was busy but not packed and was able to get a forward facing seat, the commentary was really good and the operators really helpful including the young guy selling tickets near the central station. Time was allowed for photography such as the seven bridges etc. Need to be quite mobile to negotiate the steps when either getting on or off the boat and getting onto the jetty's.

Thank Commz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanalCompany, Junior Online Marketer at Hop On Hop Off, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Thank you very much for leaving your review here on TripAdvisor.
Your kind words about our Canal Bus bring us great pleasure.

We, at Canal Company, are already looking forward to have you on board again.

With kind regards,

Luca Franken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We booked and paid 20 euros each for a one day pass on the 'hop-on;hop-off 'service. This was our first visit to Amsterdam and we thought that would be the best way to see the city. My wife has restricted mobility (not in a wheelchair) and over the years we have done river and canal cruises in many European cities so did not envisage any problems.

However, the particular design of the boats meant that we could not gain access. There were steep steps on the landing stage and then three steps without any supporting rails on the boat itself. The crew were helpful and we did receive a full refund - but were obviously disappointed that we could not partake of this traditional Amsterdam experience.

Thank luckjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanalCompany, Junior Online Marketer at Hop On Hop Off, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us.
We apologize that we weren’t able to offer boarding facilities for your wife.

We have shared your comments with the team to underline the importance of providing
boarding facilities for disabled people. Unfortunately we have not yet been able to install these
facilities because the stairs and piers are the property of the city of Amsterdam and it requires a long process to install it. However, it is one of our priorities in our plans to improve the customer experience.

But we are happy to read that our staff was helpful and refunded your ticket.
We hope to welcome you back once the boarding facilities are improved so you can experience Amsterdam from the water!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hop On Hop Off also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Hop On Hop Off? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing