We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as good as before”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Tara

The Tara
Ranked #1,860 of 3,767 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: US$16 - US$23
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Gastropub, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Red Light District (De Wallen)
Description: The Tara is an International pub, where you can have a drink at one of the beautiful bars or lounge on a sofa near the fireplace . Watch sports or play pool or to eat a tasty meal. It is also possible to reservate for larger groups.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Not as good as before”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

We visited the Tara as a group of 4. This wasn't our first visit but it just wasn't as good as before. The staff & atmosphere were very inviting as always. However the food just wasn't as good as usual. Still a great spot to have a drink mind you €5.70 a pint is a bit steep, but not the worst spot in town at all.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caitdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    91
    48
    24
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The most swingin' joint in town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Very alluring wine list. Good beer, cheap jagerbombs man! Radical! Good DJ's, nice layout. The dancefloor could do with being a bit bigger and what is up with charging 1euro to use the toilet? Totally wack. Other than that, cowabunga!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sebastian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good spot for a drink”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

Good pub to sit in and have a relaxed drink and catch and game of football. Prices are a tad high, but the location and pub is pleasant.

Friendly barman from England was prompt and professional and kept us warm by making sure the door was closed.

Not a traditional Irish pub, but after all, you aren't in Ireland!

Cant rate the food as we didn't eat here

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ryan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlon, Belgium
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An nice and original place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

There's different styles in just one place, to eat or just drink something in a warm and cosy ambiance or have a party, everything is possible at The Tara.
The staff is nice and helpful, the food is delicious, the music is good.
A perfect place to be !

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nathalie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“Bad food, even worse service!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

Never have I, as a customer, been felt so unwelcome by my waiter. Waiter was rude, and dismissive of us as clients. Furthermore, my fish and chips sat waiting on the kitchen counter for over 10 minutes as they cooked my girlfriends order. This is understandable when a large party is ordering, but there were few others in the restaurant except ourselves. When my girlfriends food eventually arrived, her fish had ham on top of it (which wasnt listed on the menu). As a pescetarian she requested it to be removed, the waiter seemed highly offended by this request and insisted that it was on the menu and vocally discussed with the chefs what a b***h my girlfriend was being.
All in all, I would NOT recommend this restaurant. While it is in a convenient area, walking in any direction will save you a lot of hassle.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Tara also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to The Tara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing