We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly & quick service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Nieuw Albina

Nieuw Albina
Ranked #1,610 of 3,767 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: De Pijp
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
128 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Friendly & quick service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

Nieuw Albina is a short hop off the Albert Cuyp Market.

This was our first visit. We stopped by for a quick snack in the late afternoon. Premmises were clean & table arrangemments were adequately spaced.

We were greeted by friendly faces & served quickly. Good varied mmenu selection. Seemms the highest priced menu item was 13,- euro. My Mmmichael had a sandwich & I had a generous sized loempia. They were tasty & satisfied our growling tummies.

isabelydancer00

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank isabelydancer00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    19
    3
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Preposterously cheap for such tasty nosh”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2012

Go for the chicken in peanut sauce - total taste sensation for seven euros. This is not a posh place for a romantic date but a wonderful spot for great food at this price. There are two Albina restaurants in the same street so if one is busy check the other. Greta location if you are a tourist and doing the Albert Cuyp market - just walk out on the left hand side, go past McDonald's and pick your Albina...

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
2 reviews
“Tasty and ridiculously cheap!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

A really nice suprise - friendly staff (with an English translation of the menu!), large portions of tasty food and prompt service. Worth a visit - as is the whole area around the Albina.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TS349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Surprising and good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

I knew roti from Guyana, so I was curious to try this one. It was really good and my favorite dish was the banana beignet in the peanut sauce. The roti was a little dry compared to the one I usually have but it was really cheap to eat there.
I also had the saltfish sandwich which was good. I did not care for the chicken soup because I though it was too greasy.
It wa sfast and cheap and next to the street market, so w were entertained and full!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank symbiose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge MA
Level Contributor
236 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Great Surinamese food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

The staff was so friendly.. we weren't sure what to order so we let them pick and we were not disappointed. Had the roti and the tjauw min. Do not miss this treat!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Gremily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nieuw Albina also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Nieuw Albina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing