We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant old hotel, very small room but fine as you don't need to spend too much time in it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Boutique Hotel View
Ranked #79 of 369 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very pleasant old hotel, very small room but fine as you don't need to spend too much time in it!”
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Very welcoming owner and small room but a lovely view over the canal. We only used the hotel for sleeping and showering ready to go out again over a weekend. Never sampled the breakfasts but the dining room looked very pleasant and the hotel had some very sweet kittens! The steep staircase and small room were charming, as it's a lovely old building. Very near to the Rijk museum and the centre of town and lovely and quiet at night with great blackout curtains so we slept very well indeed. Older travellers might consider the staircase before booking, that's all.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fluffy108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    538
    280
    83
    30
    13
See reviews for
131
506
47
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2011

My partner and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. On arrival, we were welcomed and given a small upgrade to a room with a canal view, which was lovely. The rooms were clean, and the bed was comfortable. The location was great, very close to everything and easy access to public transport, including the bus to the airport (4 euros pp.). What really makes this hotel worth a stay is the friendly manager, Nathalie. She was very helpful and also made the most delicious breakfast - bacon and cheese scrambled eggs and pancakes, made to order! It is not very often you come across a manager who takes such an interest in her customers, or who offers such personalised service with a smile. It was really nice :) Also, the coffee from the machine was great too (Try the mocchachino!). Oh, and the free internet access (an actual computer, not just free wi-fi), which was also a rare find on our 6 weeks travelling Europe.
My only dislike was the steep and narrow staircase, which being on the third floor was particularly annoying with heavy suitcases. However, Nathalie assisted us with our luggage which was great, and you can't really help that considering it is a traditional building on the canal.

We would stay here again without hesitation :)

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view on the first floor to avoid the steep staircase :) Make sure you get the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esther_83Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Everything about this hotel was perfect. An excellent welcome, very friendly and helpful staff and a great room overlooking the canal. The street is not busy so little noise. Breakfast is beautifully presented, varied and plentiful, and the freshly prepared dutch pancakes were delicious. A recommendation from Natalie, the co-owner, to a local restaurant for dinner was spot-on.
The hotel is ideally located for all museums, restaurants and attractions - we walked everywhere. It really could not have been better and we will definately return.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamminkeln, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2011

The hotel is situated very nearby the city centre but it is very calm. The service is very good and you may experience a very familiar, calm and relaxing atmosphere. The breakfast is very good. We loved it and when we come back to Amsterdam we would book it again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corinna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Great position for a hotel, friendly service, however, beware the smaller room(s).....We booked 2 double rooms for our stay. One was 20 Euro less and we were told, slightly smaller but that was all that was available, so we accepted two different sized rooms. The difference in size , about 4 x, shocked us. We did not feel the slightly cheaper price reflected the extreemly squashed conditions we had to endure, and to make things worse, being woken up at night by the moldy smells from the tiny bathroom didn't help. When we enquired about moving to a bigger room, we were told that would only be possible for 1 of the 3 nights, so it could not be done........

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PnPnT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

I stayed here with my husband and 4 year old son. Natalie who runs the hotel with her brother, is extremely helpful and friendly. Our room was a great size and on the first floor, so not too many steps to walk up with a young child. The room had a lovely contemporary feel, and the both the bed and pillows were very comfortable. I'm fussy about pillows, so it was great to have one that wasn't too hard or too soft! The breakfast was delightful, and Natalie cooks herself while having a chat if things aren't too busy. I recommend her bacon and cheese pancakes. Brilliant location for setting off on your bikes or by foot-just around the corner from the Leidersplan, with it's restaurants and atmosphere.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katrina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2011

My sister, daughter and I very much enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The location was excellent for enjoying picturesque Amsterdam's Museum Quarter and Vondelpark, and within walking distance of many other tourist attractions. Our room was well appointed, clean and quiet - and the free WiFi was so convenient ! This hotel serves an excellent breakfast, a very good start to your touristing day. Best of all, personnel at the hotel were always friendly and helpful. They go out of their way to make you feel at home. I definitely would re-book here next time in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hotel La Boheme
#40 of 369 in Amsterdam
1,065 reviews
377 House - Amsterdam
#55 of 369 in Amsterdam
265 reviews
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#53 of 369 in Amsterdam
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#131 of 369 in Amsterdam
448 reviews
Jordaan
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
#89 of 369 in Amsterdam
863 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#77 of 369 in Amsterdam
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel View

Property: Boutique Hotel View
Address: Leidsekade 77, 1017 PM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 369 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Boutique Hotel View 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boutique Hotel View is a boutique hotel with contemporary styling that is wonderfully nestled within an historic Amsterdam canal house. From the hotel you have a stunning view of the beautiful canals of Amsterdam. The Boutique Hotel View is designed around our guests. It is in the cultural heart of the city, on the Leidsekade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Boutique Hotel View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing