We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, friendly and fabulous!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Boutique Hotel View
Ranked #85 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic, friendly and fabulous!”
Reviewed 6 February 2012

I have just returned from a long weekend in Amsterdam with four friends. We had two rooms, one triple (twin beds and sofabed) and one twin. The rooms are very spacious, high ceilings and large windows so very light and airy. Ours had a lovely view over the snowy canal. Good sized en suite with bath/shower and nice toiletries provided. My only thought was there was no tea/coffee making facilities in the room, however there is a machine in the bar from which you can take a drink to your room. My friend asked for hot water and was then offered a kettle for the room. The staff are simply fantastic, cannot help you enough giving us advice on best places to go, which trams or buses to use and sorting out taxis for us. Although the hotel is not right in the centre, we found we could get to all the sights we wanted to see within a twenty five minute walk (in the snow) and there is the excellent public transport system with stops a couple of minutes from the front door. A fantastic weekend had by all and will definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frankers1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    528
    275
    81
    30
    13
See reviews for
129
496
47
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alsager, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

For the last 11 years I've been travelling to Amsterdam for a major trade show and a few days extra holiday. Each year I've stayed in a different hotel hoping to find one that I can keep returning to. This year I think I've hit the jackpot! Perfect location just off Leidseplein with all its bars, restaurants, theatres and other nightlife. Walking distance to the museum district and easy access via tram to the city centre or out to the RAI.

The hotel itself is a classic canal-side townhouse and we had a loft room with views over the canal. The stairs were a bit of a trial (especially after a night out) but you'll get this in a lot of Amsterdam hotels that have been converted from houses. The rooms are all tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. We didn't have the breakfast on this visit but at €10 it compares favourably with eateries in the area.

A word of warning for anyone with cat or dog allergies, there are two resident cats and a small dog. I thought they added to the ambience but they might not be everyone's cup of tea.

If you find yourself here on a Wednesday night, you really should head down to the Alto Jazz Cafe to see Hans Dulfer's band. Awesome night out but get there early if you want a seat.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

As an authentic Dutch canal-side house, this is a fabulous find in close proximity to everything a short-medium stay traveler could want.

Once you've mastered the public transport network, you'll realise that all accessibility options are available just a 3 minute walk away. Eateries and coffee shops are plentiful closeby, including a local jazz club where the famous Hans Dulfer is the resident entertainer as entertainment dessert. Tourist hotspots such as the Ann Frank house, Madame Tussauds, Van Gogh museum, the Heineken experience and the Rijksmuseum are either walkable or just a short tram journey from the hotel. Whilst the more popular hotspots are accessible, it's also easy to venture into the 'real' Amsterdam living/working areas either on foot or by bus/tram too and sample non-touristy architecture and everyday life.

The rooms are spotlessly clean and I don't say that lightly! Must admit, I do go a hunting for faults, but I couldn't find any at all with any aspect of the cleanliness. The lobby however is home to the two affectionate resident cats who are adorable but maybe not everyone's cup of tea.

The owner of the hotel works the front desk some days and can't do enough for her guests - whether that be offering advice on local shopping, directions or gigs etc. A very lovely lady :o)

I guess the only issue we had was the stairs - they are really steep and winding (as in all canal houses) and as I'd had recent knee-replacement surgery this proved difficult to negotiate which we hadn't really contemplated prior to arriving. In all fairness to the manager, she did offer to swap us rooms the following day to the ground floor of her neighbouring property but we loved the loftspace we'd already been given so climbed carefully and stayed where we were for 4 nights. Unless you're willing to spend the big bucks in the American Hotel up the road, I'd be really surprised if there's another hotel in such a splendid location that can offer lift access, so plan ahead.

We didn't eat in the hotel but I did see the breakfast food platter and it looked fabulous! We thought that at 10E it was a tad expensive but when compared to the other eateries in the locality its a fair and comparable price and had a really good selection too, with a wide range of eating times to suit.

Free wifi was a nice touch as so many places charge these days, as were the complementary coffee's in the lobby.

Overall, definately a place we'd go back to, with breakfast booked next time and perhaps a call ahead to get a room on a lower floor. Thanks for a lovely stay xx

Room Tip: If you have mobility issues phone ahead and ask Natalie for a ground/first floor option as the stair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bev4971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

My husband, 22-month daughter, and I arrived to Hotel Boutique View (HBV) at about 10:30am on a Sunday in mid-December for a one-night stay directly off of a (very) long flight from Seattle. My daughter had a cold, we were exhausted, the weather was quite chilly and blustery, and we were badly in need of a nap. We knew check-in wasn't until 2pm, but went straight to the hotel anyway, knowing we could at least leave our luggage. Nathalie welcomed us, offered us tea/ coffee, and checked on our room, which wasn't ready. Upon hearing our story, she took us to her home a few doors away, where she operates a B&B and let us use an empty room. We tried to keep our usage light, but we did sleep in the bed and use the restrooms. I badly wanted to give Nathalie payment for her kindness (at least knowing the room would need light housekeeping again), but she refused. We will never forget Nathalie or HBV for this reason alone, but then on top of that, the room was spacious, clean, and comfortable. And breakfast the next morning (extra charge) was delicious-- quick, hot & fresh, cooked to order with as many helpings as requested! Nathalie is an amazing cook :) Eating in the hotel was perfect for us ( although pre-kid I would've likely used breakfast as an opportunity to explore the city, Lonely Planet guidebook in hand!), as we could let our jet-lagged toddler sleep in while we took turns going downstairs for breakfast. The hotel is only a block from Leidseplein Square and we paid roughly $200/night, so I feel the value (having done a little bit of research in my hotel search) was tremendous!

Amsterdan was our bridge between Seattle and Geneva and then again from Geneva to the Middle East, so we had two 1-night stays planned four days apart. The second time, we knew exactly the hospitality and graciousness that awaited us. Given the weather was cold, and our daughter was having too much fun playing with the hotel cat, we spent a lot of time in the hotel's dining area during our two stays. So we got to meet Nathalie's mother, brother, and his girlfriend- this really is a family affair! We heard life stories, our daughter was doted over, and it felt like we were staying with OUR family! Hotel BV is our only choice in Amsterdam from here forward. We won't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank artinads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester uk
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

This is a great little boutique hotel and literally round the corner from Leidseplein square - where there is every type of restaurant you could possibly imagine, all the ones we tried were very good quality. There are loads of pubs and coffee shops in this area too.
The hotel location is great because you are outside of the main Amsterdam tourist attractions (Red Light District and Dam Square) but you are also only a bike ride away from it all.
The hotel staff are all very friendly and helpful. They have discount cards and leaflets on display for all the tourist attractions in the foyer.
Breakfast is definitely worth the extra 10 euros. Freshly made eggs or pancakes of your choice, fruit, bread, ham and cheese, fruit juice and tea and coffee.
The small double is very small, but cosy and great if you just want a place to rest your head after taking in the sights and night life.
There is a 5% tourist tax charge on top of the cost of the room. This is mentioned on the website and on booking.
We loved Amsterdam and the Boutique Hotel View was a really good find.
A generally Amsterdam tip:- Beware of the bike seat theives! I think they like to target tourists.

Room Tip: There is a big difference (about x2) in size between the double and small double. Keep this in mind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Caroline2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 30 January 2012

My partner and I stayed at Hotel Boutique view for 4 great nights. Very nice accommodations, very clean and light.
A very friendly place and a great base from which to explore Amsterdam. Our room had a nice view of the canal.
Only 10 mins walk to van gogh museum, 15 to the Heineken experience, 20 minutes walk to the red light district , heaps of nice cafes and restaurants within 5 minutes walk of the hotel.
2 sweet little kittens, 1 well behaved little dog.
Very comfortable stay.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morrisandhemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

We stopped here for one night on our layover to the USA. Great hotel and the owner is very friendly. The beds were comfy and its in a great location. We walked to a popular bar LUX and there are so many stores around

Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hotel La Boheme
#36 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,055 reviews
377 House - Amsterdam
#57 of 367 in Amsterdam
252 reviews
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#113 of 367 in Amsterdam
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#59 of 367 in Amsterdam
840 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Clemens Hotel
Clemens Hotel
#24 of 367 in Amsterdam
981 reviews
Jordaan
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
#76 of 367 in Amsterdam
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel View

Property: Boutique Hotel View
Address: Leidsekade 77, 1017 PM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Boutique Hotel View 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boutique Hotel View is a boutique hotel with contemporary styling that is wonderfully nestled within an historic Amsterdam canal house. From the hotel you have a stunning view of the beautiful canals of Amsterdam. The Boutique Hotel View is designed around our guests. It is in the cultural heart of the city, on the Leidsekade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Boutique Hotel View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing