We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A quick stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Boutique Hotel View
Ranked #87 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A quick stopover”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

All in all charming. Not cheap though. I guess that is market forces at work.
The host and night porter were very helpful. The cat was above it all.

There is no lift so accessibility could be an issue in this old building.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank DocHC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    524
    270
    79
    30
    13
See reviews for
128
487
47
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Our first experience of Amsterdam was made marvellous by staying at The Boutique Hotel View. We arrived on an early flight but Natalie was happy to look after our luggage for a few hours while we had a walk around and got our bearings while our room was made ready. She then upgraded us to a wonderful, spacious room (103) with a canal view. We stayed for 3 nights. Breakfast was fantastic, with your choice of breads, meats, cheese, fruit, cereal, juice, tea, coffee, but the bacon and cheese pancakes were the best! Natalie made the pancakes to order. She and her staff were very friendly and helpful at all times, including her mum. The area was very central to museums, sights and the Leidseplein with many dining options. We certainly will stay here again and recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: Ask for a canal view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

I stayed at this hotel for four days with my husband. We found it perfect. The room was of a good size, the hotel was in a decent location and hotel staff were extremely friendly. Breakfast was gorgeous, the pancakes were beautiful. There were lots of nice little homely touches such as umbrellas by the door and tea and coffee facilities down stairs. I would definitely recommend this hotel

Room Tip: The stairs are steep so you may want to take that into consideration if needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Davinia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

I always re-read the reviews before we get to the hotel so I know what to expect. Everyone says they let them check in early and upgraded them so I was expecting good things. We got there about 90 minutes before check in time and was abruptly told that they never let anyone check in before 2 so we left our bags and went out. When we came back we checked in a went up the very steep stairs to our room. We literally had the smallest room I have ever seen. It had a double bed and it touched 3/4 walls in the room and for the 4th wall there was only about 1 foot between the bed and the wall. The only way to get past each other was to back out to the hallway or walk around each other on the bed. The whole bathroom is the size of a normal stand up shower. We stayed at a tune hotel in London, which are known to be very small and its stated size on the website was smaller than what Boutique hotel view said their room was but I would guess the Tune hotel was at least double the size. It was terrible.

Most importantly to know is that there is NO AIR CONDITIONING and Amsterdam is hot hot hot! It was impossible to cool down.

The staff was wonderful, friendly, helped you figure out where to eat and what to do. The breakfast is amazing and if I was reviewing this as a restaurant it would be 5/5.

The location is also really close to one of the entertainment districts and it was a 5 minute walk to dozens of restaurants, which was great!

This was the most expensive hotel on our entire Europe trip and it was by far the worst. Not worth the money.

Room Tip: DO NOT book a double room. It is too small for 2 people and shouldn't even be offered for 2 gue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank walking-cowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

As a solo traveler on business, I chose this hotel because of its proximity to the conference I was attending and because of the great price. The location is great in general, it's very close to the tram, there's a canal cruise kiosk in walking distance and a number of restaurants in very close walking distance.

I arrived early in the afternoon and my room was ready. It was in the lower part of the hotel. The bed was comfortable, the room was clean, my only complaint was the mildewy smell coming from the shower and that the drain in the shower was clogged so my shower had to be short or water would run out into the room.

I was re-located on my last night to a lovely room on the top floor with a modern bathroom, comfortable bed and lovely view of the canal.

Breakfast is in the lobby area and you have your choice of croissants, fruit, cheese and meats or you can have eggs or pancakes made. I woke up one morning to the smell of croissant's baking, wonderful!

Just an fyi, if you're mobility impaired in any way, be advised there are a lot of stairs to get up and down, depending on what floor you're staying on and the stairs are very narrow.

Room Tip: I would suggest a room on the second floor and above
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruttegger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

We had a lovely time in Amsterdam, Natalie and family made it even better, very friendly, helpful hints at what to do and see. You MUST have the breakfast each morning, very healthy and lots of it. The lobby had a dog and cat welcoming us each time we returned, the room was very comfy. Hotel is set in Museum quarter and close to Canal tour ticket office, I recommend using the canal to get to north and the Zoo, which was a surprising highlight of our holiday. We will return to Amsterdam again, I think we will try and book into The Boutique Hotel View again as it was perfect for us, maybe we will get the top floor view of the city, thank you Nathalie again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Great hotel! The welcoming was warm and lovely. They speak several languages and know their way around the city. They give us great advice for restaurants.
We were staying in a deluxe bedroom, comfortable, spacious and well decorated. The only disapointment was the bathroom: not enough space and the toilet and the shower are very close. We asked for breakfest in bed, it was delicious!!! (Fresh fruit and orange juice, croissant, yoghurt, omelette,...). It's well situated and next to the tramway line. A perfect place for a couple to visit Amsterdam!!!

PS: If you go there during the low season, you can have a "hot deal" and get a great price on the room, as we did.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christophe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hotel La Boheme
#37 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
377 House - Amsterdam
#45 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#106 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#58 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Jordaan
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
#78 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel View

Property: Boutique Hotel View
Address: Leidsekade 77, 1017PM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Boutique Hotel View 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boutique Hotel View is a boutique hotel with contemporary styling that is wonderfully nestled within an historic Amsterdam canal house. From the hotel you have a stunning view of the beautiful canals of Amsterdam. The Boutique Hotel View is designed around our guests. It is in the cultural heart of the city, on the Leidsekade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Boutique Hotel View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing