We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but perfectly formed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Boutique Hotel View
Ranked #85 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Channel Islands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Small but perfectly formed”
Reviewed 2 June 2010

Had a great stay at this hotel. We were very genuinely offered an upgrade for the first night but declined to take it, in case I had room envy when we were moved. We were given a small double room with a canal view, which was lovely. Tiny room but considering there is a city out there to see you're very rarely in there. Great shower and all the amenities you need. The breakfast was excellent value for a special deal of €8, with good choice and even some hot dishes (which I did not try but they looked okay). The only thing the breakfast lacked was a toaster, but that's cool, I can survive on cereal and freshly baked croissants. You can smell the croissants getting baked in the morning and it does put you in the mood. Was also very clean and modern. The cats were nice little animals and no bother at all. My favourite feature was the cold beers on room service. I'm sorry I did not try the internet stations but the wifi in the rooms worked perfectly on the iphone.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JerseyJetSet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    526
    273
    79
    30
    13
See reviews for
128
491
47
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2010

Very friendly staff and nice rooms. Unfortunately, the hotel had a couple of cats, which cut our stay short due to my allergic wife. But I would love to come back another time (with another wife).

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RuneViking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 7 November 2009

We picked the Hotel View via Tripadvisor for an overnight stop in Amsterdam. We had a great time. The hotel was clean and recently refurbished. We were offered a free upgrade to a larger room at the top of the hotel. It was tucked under the eaves, with quirky and interesting spaces, modern ensuite bathroom and an excellent canal view. The staff were welcoming and helpful. Their restaurant suggestion was exactly what we wanted. Breakfast was good enough to make my wife, a breakfast connoisseur, very happy indeed,

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2009

Me and my girlfriend had a nice stay at this hotel. In general we were very satisfied with our stay. The room we had was very small but we did not stay there a lot so it was not a problem for us. The breakfast was fine and the location is great right next to the Leidseplein. The hotel is generally very clean although we found it a bit unappetizing that the hotel's two kitttens were playing around in the breakfast area and sometimes on the plates.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheGold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2009

This is still a new hotel and it was a great stay. Rooms are very nice with canal views in the front. The staff were brilliant, really helpful and friendly. Perfect location for centre, bars and food. Well worth it

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2009

My partner and myself have just returned from a Bank Holiday trip to Amsterdam. Whilst not wanting to be too far away from nightlife, restaurants and travel routes we were struggling to find somewhere that had all this but was fairly quiet, away from stag/hen parties and just not so 'in your face' as the area around Dam Square and also value for money with breakfast included, didn't want much did we!!!. I had trawled the internet for around 3 days trying to find somewhere when by accident I came across this hotel. We were very pleasantly surprised, a bus goes straight from Schipol Airport to the top of road the hotel is in, 5 minutes walk and you're there, it's right on the canal and we got a free upgrade to a canal view room, the double room we had was small but it had en-suite was very well decorated, very clean and the bed looked straight over the canal, beautiful to wake up to. It's right on the major tram routes and only 10 minutes to Dam Square. There were plenty of bars, restaurants and shops 5 mins walk away around the Leidersplein. And last but not least the young man who checked us in couldn't have been more helpful and recommended a great night club for our first night out!! We would definately go back.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dancinbird_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2009

My friend and I traveled all over Europe and had originally booked a hostel in Amsterdam. We were not fond of it when we got there so we only stayed one night and then found this beautiful hotel. We had a beautiful room with two huge windows on the first floor looking out onto a canal. The view was to die for. The stairs are really steep and we needed to have guys from the hotel bring our luggage up, but they had no problems with it and were very accommodating.
The only thing that bothered me about Europe and the hotels is that there are no screens on the windows. Two huge windows left open because it was hot can attract a lot of bugs. Especially by water. This was just a minor inconvenience, but it did bother us. Other than that, we loved our stay and were happy we switched to the Boutique Hotel View.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DRBKLYN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hotel La Boheme
#37 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
377 House - Amsterdam
#46 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#125 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#59 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
Jordaan
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
#78 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel View

Property: Boutique Hotel View
Address: Leidsekade 77, 1017 PM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Boutique Hotel View 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boutique Hotel View is a boutique hotel with contemporary styling that is wonderfully nestled within an historic Amsterdam canal house. From the hotel you have a stunning view of the beautiful canals of Amsterdam. The Boutique Hotel View is designed around our guests. It is in the cultural heart of the city, on the Leidsekade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Boutique Hotel View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing