We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place, many options”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pizzeria Azzurro

Pizzeria Azzurro
Ranked #2,940 of 3,767 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Red Light District (De Wallen)
Michigan
Level Contributor
219 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Nice place, many options”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Stopped in after walking around town. Friendly place. Good service. We tried an Italian sampler dish, pepperoni pizza and garlic bread. All was good. Served hot. Only beer available was Heineken. Good atmosphere.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank LoveToVacateMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    43
    21
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helena, Montana
Level Contributor
77 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good food and atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

We ate here after wandering around this area, trying to choose amongst the many restaurant options available. Good simple food, good service and nice atmosphere. There are musical instruments of all types hanging from the ceiling and on the walls - even two saxaphones used as beer pulls at the bar! Apparently it used to be a jazz club. The menu had many good choices, although there were only a few wine selections. Most people we saw were drinking beer. They offered some good value dinner specials but we chose off the menu and thought their prices were very reasonable for our good sized portions. Other diners' dishes were very big portions too. In the alleys where this restaurant is located there are many many options for eating and I think we made a good choice.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tootallhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and service but average food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

We ate here last week having last visited around 5 years ago. It's in a great location, surrounded by pubs and bars and has a very lively atmosphere. The food is good but nothing special. I had a quattro formaggi pizza that would have been great but which had (no exaggeration) about an inch thickness of cheese on it. I LOVE cheese but this was about four times too much cheese and was impossible to eat.

The service in here is great, however, and the atmosphere and location give it an extra star. I'd eat here again but would definitely order something else.

Prices are average for the area but a little high for other parts of the city centre.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JayLee1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
85 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Nice little find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stumbled across this place after wandering about for ages trying to find somewhere that was a steakhouse and also had pasra and vegetarian options. The garlic mushrooms starter was divine and I had a tagliatelle with mushrooms in gorgonzola which was also very good. My husband had the large rib eye steak and was very impressed. The service was friendly and the restaurant was cosy with a nice atmosphere. We also noticed that the prices were more reasonable than steakhouses on Damrak and other main streets so worth diverting slightly off the beaten track. Lots of nice little bars in the vicinity too that were friendly and felt safe and un-dodgy which is a bonus in Amsterdam!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dusty27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radomsko, Poland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“not great, but worth checking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

came there completely by chance, without any earlier plans. we didn't have to wait too long for the food, which was kinda surprising. the view from the restaurant is really nice. the food was good. nothing to complain really. well, maybe it could have been a bit more of it but it was ok. prices similar to other restaurants in the area. start from 9-10 euro for spaghetti or the most basic pizzas.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Black_Bizon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pizzeria Azzurro also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Pizzeria Azzurro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing