We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very satisfied” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apostrophe Bed and Breakfast

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Apostrophe Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #215 of 329 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Banska Bystrica, Slovakia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“very satisfied”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

we stayed in an apartman 800 metres from Apostrophe. 4 bedroom, 1 livingroom, 1 bathroom. Jan (the owner) was very helpful and very kind. We had everything we need for our comfortable stay. Its ideal for a friends who would like to stay in a good place with a limited budget

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    11
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
9
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

I stayed one night at the B&B after the European League Final at ArenA. B&B is located at resendential area in apparently a row house. There are at least 2 other rooms, I had one with bathroom en-suite. No extraodinary comfort, just fine and certainly, clean. If you are allergic, probably, it is better to look for other accomodation, the house is full of carpets, books and very nice things brought from different corners of the world. The owner Jan is very nice person, speaks English and German, pity that I had not enough time to chat, definitely Jan have travelled a lot.
Car can be left at the front of the house. Direct bus connection brings you in about 10 minutes to the stadium. Last bus leaves from the stadium after midnight. That was very convenient!
And do not forget cash, the owner does not accept cards.

Room Tip: Not sure that all B&B rooms have bath en-suite. Check up front
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Konstantin I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2013

Parking a car anywhere in Amsterdam is always going to be difficult so it was good to get this B & B with a free car park. Our room was comfortable enough, but a bit cluttered and we had to clamber over the bed or our luggage. There was plenty of reading - a huge bookshelf with books in a number of different languages. Our host Jan was friendly and helpful and breakfast was very nice, although, as another reviewer noted he would sit on his computer while we had breakfast, but my wife didn't let him get away with that, so she would engage him in conversation. When we did get him talking he was really interesting to chat to. We also had a problem with the shower screen in the ensuite room - which doesn't give much privacy and the thin walls - another guest was skyping after we had gone to bed and we had to ask her to keep her vioce down. She was very apologetic next morning. I guess we had the feeling that we were staying in someone's spare room rather than at a B&B, but overall it was comfortable and convenient. We stayed 5 nights there. It's a long way from central Amsterdam but the metro is convenient - about 10 minutes walk to the station and then 15 - 20 minutes to central station. From there you can get a tram to almost anywhere or (as we did often) just stroll along the canals. Amsterdam Zuidoost is a residential area which is fairly multicultural with quite a large african population. This was fine by us and we felt perfectly safe even walking from the metro at night. Jan told us that it bothers some of his guests which is disappointing but not surprising.

Room Tip: If you like your privacy when using the toilet or bathroom then you shouldn't choose the ensuite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beaver055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trikala, Greece
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

Me and my husband stayed in Apostrophe during November 2011 and we found the hospitality great, Mr Jan is a fine host and will put his best effords to meet your needs, he even helped us with booking tickets and transport cards.
The breakfast was far from the typical Dutch and included a variety of things.
The place is very clean and has magnificent libraries where you can spend time reading an interesting book.
Bus stop at 150 meters. Metro station near by. Nice location away from the noise of downtown.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elenagiannoulaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sthlm
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

We stayed at the place for two nights. We enjoyed the safe and calm environment, and relative proximity (10-12 mins walk) to public transport. The place was clean and tidy, and the breakfast was complete.

However, we had booked the ensuite room, which does indeed have a private bathroom/WC. Only, there's no proper door between this and the bedroom, but only a small frosted glass saloon style door. This didn't go from floor to ceiling, and there was also a 15 mm gap, which meant that whilst using the bathroom/toilet, your companion cannot avoid seeing/hearing you. As we did not feel particularly comfortable with this detail, we ended up using the shared bathroom in the corridor.

There was plenty of breakfast but we were a little disappointed that nothing traditionally Dutch was served. During breakfast, the owner was sitting next to the table, at his computer, listening but not participating to our conversation, which was fairly awkward. Otherwise, he was very nice and friendly and gave us a warm welcome.

The walls are also very thin, which means you know exactly what is going on in other guests' rooms.

Room Tip: Do not take the ensuite room if you are concerned about privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank s t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
253 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2011

This B&B is located relatively close to a metro if you don't mind walking 10-15 mins which takes you to Amsterdam. It is clean, the host is nice, and breakfast is filling any typically European, with different breads, cereal, jams, meat and cheese, etc. This is B&B is especially convenient if you come by car since there is free parking. I would stay here again if I was visiting Amsterdam.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Atalanta8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Floris Hotel
Floris Hotel
#266 of 329 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
La Corte Sconta
#117 of 329 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
De Pijp
Amstel Riverview
Amstel Riverview
#150 of 329 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Sharm Hotel
Sharm Hotel
#149 of 329 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
B&B Logeren aan de Amstel
#173 of 329 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apostrophe Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apostrophe Bed and Breakfast

Property: Apostrophe Bed and Breakfast
Address: Geerdinkhof 258, 1103 RA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Hotel Style:
Ranked #215 of 329 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Apostrophe Bed and Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Apostrophe Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing