We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful prix fixe meal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Restaurant

Le Restaurant
Ranked #542 of 3,725 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: De Pijp
Siasconset, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful prix fixe meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

My husband and I had dinner here and it was one of the highlights of our trip to Amsterdam. We had a table with a view of the kitchen, so my husband was happy watching their quiet, extremely organized preparations. Very good service. Imaginative food using local products. We will return the next time we're in Amsterdam.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Hyannismedical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    5
    3
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
40 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best of Amsterdam”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

In my opinion really no other restaurant in Amsterdam beats this small, cosy one in The Pijp. The food is amazing, it is culinary but not to the point that it is more of a science project than something you enjoy eating. It is just perfect. The guy that does the wine section is really enthusiastic; he sorts out wines to accompany your dinner if you want, or you can just choose from the wine list that is sufficient enough. The maitre d' and the waiter are friendly fun guys who know the balance between perfect service and some fun. The chef comes into the restaurant with freshly baked madeleines after dinner - even if you are full (you will most likely be) DO NOT PASS THEM! They are even better than the ones you get at Laduree in Paris. There is only one thing: it is quite hard to get a table here, in weekends you really have to book a good few weeks(say 7 or 8) in advance. Weekdays are said to be easier, but just to be on the sure side I'd make a reservation instead of just walking in hoping to get lucky.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Lois744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very good degustation menu in Amsterdam”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

Very friendly service. Good suite of small to medium plates. Mostly sea products. Good wine. Good dessert.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank riouxp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marbella, Spain
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Michelin is missing out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

As a seasoned traveler and sybarite, which my age supports, I was astounded that LE Restaurant, Amsterdam, did not have Michelin Stars. It is comparable to Saüc in Barcelona or Agli Tre Amici in Udine, Italy. Superb ensemble of selections very assembled by a professional and affectionate team. The wine list was adequate, but needs to be expanded a bit more exclusive to meet the menu's nuances. Do not even think of showing up without a reservation!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JoseAntonio1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“everything was perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

I ve made a reservation a few weeks earlier for I knew it is not possible to get a table in this restaurant any other way. My husband and I were celebrating our 20iest year together so for starters I think we had the best table. A large 2 persons table overlooking the restaurant and with a nice view of the small (very quiet!)kitchen. Delicious amuses to start, good suggestions for wine and all courses came in a really good pace so not to quick not to slow. Because there was a lot to taste I cannot remember everything but I can recall: a beautifully made petit gamba tosti, macaron of mackerel, lovely soft cod, the most delicious beef I ve eaten, a little cheese after and for me a bit too much sweets ; ) at the end...(dessert plus extra freshly baked madeleine cakes, and more sweets served alongside the coffee. But heh, I don t have a sweettooth. Very lovely place for intimate dining. Not for familys with young children or large groups.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Wendelien D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Restaurant also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Le Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing