We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great take-away falafel”
Review of Sonny Falafel

Sonny Falafel
Ranked #1,301 of 3,907 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Neighbourhood: De Pijp
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: De Pijp
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great take-away falafel”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We looked for ages to find this place - there is a street called eerste van der Helmestraat ad it's NOT there:) (@tourists- it's really close to the Heineken Brewery in case you're looking as well).
It is a tiny take-away shop - so don't expect a nice setting or anything fancy.
You have a vast choice of falafels with all sorts of toppings. You can then add yourself salad, tomatoes, sauces etc.
Taste= really great!
So definitely worth the search walk through half of Amsterdam.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ElviraBuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    25
    7
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT!”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Excellent little place, 5.50€ for a scrumptious falafel with serve your self fixings. Excellent sauces and salads. Having tried about 20 places, this is the best falafel I have tried in amsterdam.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aviravir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great falafel!”
Reviewed 24 July 2013 via mobile

Great falafel and very friendly service. Although I wouldn't visit the De Pijp neighborhood for this place, I really enjoyed my meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank H M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“BEST FALAFEL I have had”
Reviewed 7 June 2013

I was introduced to a Falafel at Sonny's a couple years ago by a friend, the guy behind the counter is a friendly friendly guy,, for 5 euros you can get a wonderful sandwich with marvelous toppings and wonderful sauces,, and oh their fries are yummy too... I recommend SONNY's its right off Albert Cuypt street Market.
Word of advice,, get loads of napkins, cos this sandwich as yummy as it is,, its also messy, it is not the type of thing u can walk down the street eating :-)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CloggieUsa2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prato, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“So rude”
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Even though the food is really nice, the lady behind the counter was so unbelievebly rude.

Not only she shouted at us while we were trying to sort out how the place worked but she also mistook our order on purpose!!!

Around Sonny there are plenty of other restaurants and even a market place where you can eat for less and surely much more welcome!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ale_2076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sonny Falafel also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Sonny Falafel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing