We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best stay of the whole trip”
Review of Vondel View B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Vondel View B&B
Ranked #21 of 338 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 December 2012

2 weeks of travelling through Amsterdam, Hague, Paris and Brussels with my husband and our toddler and this was by far the best stay of the trip. The location was fantastic and just a quick tram ride from central station, close to all ammenities and vondel park which was beautiful.
The suite was in immaculate condition, stylish, clean and large with a king size bed, huge bathroom with jacuzzi tub and a seperate seating area with tv. When travelling with a toddler having the extra space was much appreciated so he had room to run around and separate area for sleeping too.
Rita was an amazing host and treated us so well. Upon arrival she gave us all the necessary navigation tools for the area and some recommendations for spots to eat and if you wanted to try a specific restaurant she would make the reservations for you was was so nice. All were fantastic!! The breakfasts were perfect, delicious with lots of selection and extras to take for snacks/lunch for the day. She had a wonderful baby cot all set up when we arrived and a high chair for our little guy which helped make this spot feel like home away from home.

Thanks Rita:)

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slipstitchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (305)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 305 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2012

What an amazing experience we had at Vondel View. Rita and her husband were wonderful hosts and we are so thankful we were able to stay here during our visit to Amsterdam! Location, location, location. The B&B is in a beautiful neighborhood a stone's throw from Vondelpark. There are many restaurants close by and it is a great area to just walk around and take in the city. Public transit is close by and there are a few bicycle rental shops down the street. We used our bikes to get everywhere and from the B&B, it was at most a 20 minute ride to any museum or attraction. It was also very easy to get to from the main train station, just a hop onto the tram and it drops you off less than a 5 minute walk from the inn.

We stayed in the Flower Room which was elegant and cozy. Our adjacent bathroom was complete private (this room is on its own floor) and was huge compared to many of the inns we have previously stayed in during our travels in Europe. The room overlooked a lush garden and was a wonderfully quiet space after our busy days in the city. Breakfast was fantastic and Rita made sure to remember our dietary restrictions which we so appreciated. She brought breakfast to our room each morning at the requested time and was helpful in planning our days, providing directions, etc...

I think I could have stayed here for another two weeks had time allowed it! I can't wait to return to Amsterdam and stay here again. Thank you for a wonderful experience in The Netherlands!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsaylmason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

I have stayed in some great places in my time, some better than others; but on the whole, I have always been happy with most of the places I have stayed. However, I felt that this experience was exceptional.
Looking at Trip Advisor recommendations, My Husband and I stayed for 2 nights for my birthday weekend at the B&B suite, which was more wonderful than words could say and was spotlessly clean and luxurious. The host Rita, is a genuinely friendly and kind person, who was clearly passionate about what she does. In some ways, it was like having a second mum, but not intrusive. She made our stay in Amsterdam so special and the breakfasts were incredibly diverse, delicious and bountiful. She even put up a banner and bought me a freshly baked cake for my birthday.
The intuitive observations that Rita gave (down to the well stocked cupboards) were priceless - she gave us tips on where to go and was willing to arrange anything we needed. We checked in very late, which she stayed up for and was always willing to help.
It was not cheap to stay, but well worth it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Stayed here about 3 weeks ago. What a treat.
Location is perfect. Rita the owner could not be more
Helpful or informative. The breakfasts were scrumptious and different
Every day. Will be back there on our next trip.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Russ H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

We spent 3 nights at the Vondel View B+B. It is a block from Vondel park and about a 15-20 minute walk from Dam Square if you dont stop to go in the shops along the way. We had the flower room which is on the 2nd floor. The bedroom portion is spacious and has a table which you can eat your breakfast at or have a cup of tea or coffee. There is also a safe for valuables and a TV. The bathroom is in a separate room that is right beside your bedroom door. The flower room is the only room on the 2nd floor so its very private. The breakfasts were very good with a good assortment of food and as we had to leave early for the airport on the last day, Rita, the owner made us a small take away breakfast. Rita is very helpful and got us in our room early which was a big help as we got into Amsterdam on an overnight flight and I had a meeting after lunch with some people. The chance to clean up was appreciated. I would definitely stay here on future trips to Amsterdam and would have no problems recommending this place to friends.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank retire55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Not only does Rita do one of the best brekkie spreads a guest could ask for (which varies depending on the day), she also bends over backwards to make your stay that extra bit special. My boyfriend Alex was running the marathon and Rita was only too happy to help make sure he got there on time by taxi, tips on where to eat the night before and a genuine interest in how he got on. She also helped up out with best ways to get around, local eateries and guides to Amsterdam. As for the room... it was simply stunning. Huge windows, spectacular ceiling and tasteful art- not to mention the bathroom, a little sanctuary in itself complete with white robes, slippers and fluffy towels. Bliss! Thank you again for having us, Kate and Alex xxx

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We agree with all the glowing reports written by other guests. We were most impressed with the very spacious Flower room and adjoining luxury bathroom. Both were spotlessly clean and 'oozed' style and flair. Rita's attention to her guest's every need was most helpful, and never obtrusive. Her breakfasts amazed and delighted us every morning with their variety, flavour and amount. As many travellers to the city would have a late flight home, Rita makes sure that her guests have extra on the breakfast tray on the final day so that they can make up a 'picnic' to last them! She really does think of everything. Vondel View is in a quiet side street, but only a two minute walk from the tram to the city centre, and half a minute to the beautiful park leading to the main museums, and a few minutes' walk to a choice of excellent restaurants - perfect! Although the tram is convenient, we usually walked through the park - safe, even at night - into and out of the city.
Many thanks Rita for making our trip extra special.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank way2go07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#18 of 374 in Amsterdam
4,010 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Barangay
B&B Barangay
#6 of 338 in Amsterdam
927 reviews
Centrum
Tulip of Amsterdam B&B
Tulip of Amsterdam B&B
#3 of 338 in Amsterdam
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Museum Suites
Museum Suites
#5 of 338 in Amsterdam
358 reviews
Vondelpark
Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam
Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam
#15 of 338 in Amsterdam
286 reviews
Centrum
Amsterdam At Home
Amsterdam At Home
#25 of 338 in Amsterdam
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vondel View B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vondel View B&B

Address: Gerard Brandtstraat 14 hs., 1054 JK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 338 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: £115 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B Suite Vondel View in Amsterdam: unique in style and comfort and ideally situated in a quiet residential street next to the Vondel Park. Your complete private suite with living room, bedroom and bathroom. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing