We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Amsterdam”
Review of Vondel View B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Vondel View B&B
Ranked #19 of 338 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Stayed at the VondelView B&B for 7 nights, 16-23 May 2013. Thanks to prior Tripadvisor tips, we had a most wonderful stay in this lovely home next to the Vondel Park. Rita and her daughter, Liza, took magnificent care of us, providing a beautiful, comfortable room and fantastic breakfasts each morning. Please note that in the Netherlands, first floor translates to the upper floor or second floor in America. I was frightened when faced with the one flight of stairs that are quite steep, but with coaching managed the climb throughout the week. My fear of heights was lessened by the exercise and am certainly glad that I did not consider booking somewhere else.

The VondelView has an incredible ground floor room, or zero floor in Dutch, if you absolutely cannot climb stairs. But both accommodations are incredibly beautiful, decorated by Rita's husband, Robert. His original artwork adorns both accommodations. The location is also marvelous with a tram stop minutes walk from their door.

VondelView B&B certainly deserves their 5 star rating. We hope we may enjoy another stay there again.

Leslie and Ron

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (305)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 305 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2013

We spent three nights at Vondel View B&B during our vacation to Holland. You can walk to the park, museums, and restaurant areas in about 10-15 minutes. There is a tram stop within a two minute walk for easy access to the train station and other areas of Amsterdam. Rita was a wonderful hostess. Breakfast was delicious and filling, and the room was lovely. I highly recommend this B&B!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveltandem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Hearing the name “Amsterdam” brings to mind tall narrow Dutch houses, canals and flowers. What would it be like to live in Amsterdam in one of these tall houses? The Vondel View B&B provides this unique opportunity and more; sumptuous Dutch breakfasts are served to personal taste and schedule by the cheerful owner, Rita, a native of Amsterdam; plus you feel part of a neighborhood. The B&B is situated on the city’s beautiful central park. Walk through the park and in 10-15 minutes you arrive in the museum area (Rijks, Van Gogh and modern art museums) or in a high-end shopping district. A few minutes further, you are now in the old city ringed with canals. A short walk from the Vondel View B&B in a different direction brings you to Leidse Plein, a hub for shopping and social life in the city. We have just returned from our second visit to the Vondel View B&B within the past two years. Not only are we attracted to Amsterdam and its rich culture, but also to the sensation of “living” in a tall Dutch city home.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BK1433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

This is a great B&B price is right. From the moment we arrived everything was taken care of. Our cases were put in our room. Rita our wonderful host provided us with details of things to do in Amsterdam. This B&B very well appointed, clean and with a beautiful bathroom It is in a great location a few steps from Vondel Park in a very quite area. The tram stop is a 2 min walk and for €7 you can get a day ticket (number 1 Tram) The trip to Rijksmuseum and the flower market is just a few minutes and dam square is about 15 mins. The breakfast is fantastic fresh breads, juice, yogurt Ham and cheese. And a hot meal as well ( omelette, boiled eggs , scrambled eggs). If you are lucky the family cat may paid you a visit. Amsterdam is very easy to get around. We visited the Waterlooplein flee market, Rijksmuseum, Did a walk through Jordaan and the red light area, an open boat canal tour with Ecco tours.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonnyMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

We felt "at home" with an excellent breakfast served in the room, a very nice room and bathroom.The B&B situated 15 min walk through Wondelpark to the central of Amsterdam. We can really recomend a stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elisabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

This was our 4th visit to Vondel View. It's location is fantastic, 50 yards from a leafy side gate to Vondel Park where the birds sings, the Heron hunts and the Storks fly over their nest. A short tram ride takes you from Central station or the airport to Vondel View which is situated in a very nice residential part of Amsterdam. Lots of eating places and shops to choose from all within waking distance. You also get the best of both worlds- walking distance to all the museums and other main attractions. Vondel View is very quiet at night, you are assured of a peaceful sleep, undisturbed by traffic or noise. The acommodation is outstanding 5*+ we have stayed in both the Apartment and the Flower Room - you will not be disappointed. It's very comfortable and every thing you need and more is provided. Internet, tv, fridge, coffee/tea, books, information. Rita is a charming host, Helpful, kind and accommodating. The breakfasts are fantastic, all fresh produce and something different every day. We would not consider staying anywhere else in Amsterdam.
R & S from Edinburgh 17-20 April 2013.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank summerEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Before arriving in Amsterdam we had emails from Rita, the owner, who organised the taxi from the airport and advised us what tourist attractions to pre-book. On arrival, we were greeted like old friends and shown to our lovely spacious room. Rita suggested local restaurants for dinner and booked them for us when necessary.
Breakfast was served in our room and was a feast, so much so that lunch was rarely needed.
Vondel View is in a lovely part of the city, close to the museums, next to Vondelpark, good restaurants near by, a tram stop round the corner and within eay walking distance of all the major canals and tourist attractions.
A wonderful place to stay to which we will return when next we visit Amsterdam.
Chris and Ian, Leamington Spa, England

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Pillows Anna van den Vondel
Pillows Anna van den Vondel
#47 of 372 in Amsterdam
116 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#17 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,336 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Museum Suites
Museum Suites
#5 of 338 in Amsterdam
356 reviews
Centrum
Tulip of Amsterdam B&B
Tulip of Amsterdam B&B
#3 of 338 in Amsterdam
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vondel View B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vondel View B&B

Address: Gerard Brandtstraat 14 hs., 1054 JK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 338 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: £116 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B Suite Vondel View in Amsterdam: unique in style and comfort and ideally situated in a quiet residential street next to the Vondel Park. Your complete private suite with living room, bedroom and bathroom. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing