We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend in Amsterdam”
Review of Vondel View B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Vondel View B&B
Ranked #18 of 337 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Lovely bed and breakfast with very welcoming and helpful hostess. Convenient location near a park, which was nice to walk across to visit museums etc. There was a very good breakfast, including dutch specialities, and many useful extras eg umbrellas, guide books etc. We had a great weekend visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SusanGenge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (305)
There are newer reviews for Vondel View B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 305 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2013

My wife and I have recently enjoyed 3 nights at the Vondel View B&B. It was a fantastic place to stay and one of the highlights of our trip to Amsterdam and the UK.
Rita looked after us wonderfully! Each morning we were presented with the most amazing breakfasts (as noted by the other lucky visitors), which were delicious and a great start for lots of walking around beautiful Amsterdam. I particularly enjoyed the pancakes on our last day! Rita also went out of her way to help us sort out our lost luggage issues. She made our life much easier encouraging us to head out and do the tourist thing while she helped with phone calls and emails to get our luggage sorted. While it wasn't ideal having the airline lose our bags at the start of the holiday, it would've been a nightmare if it weren't for Rita's help (in particular her language skills)!
Lastly, we were also pleased to find the B&B was in a handy spot. We were a little worried that it might be inconvenient to get into town, but our fears were put quickly to rest. The B&B is really close to a tram station only a few stops from town. Also, it's only a 15min walk through the peaceful Vondel Park to museums and other landmarks, and from there only a few minutes more to the canals and bustling streets of central Amsterdam.
All in all, I can't say enough about this place. Only warning would be re the steep narrow stairs. But Rita even helped us with that (once our bags finally arrived)! Fantastic place!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shaunvd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We're just back from a 2 night stay in Amsterdam at the Vondel View B&B. We couldn't have stayed in a more beautiful traditional Dutch building nor had a more warm, friendly welcome than we did from Rita. Our room, the Flower Room, was spotless and tremendously comfortable (wonderful kingsize bed). The bathroom was huge and luxurious but the thing that made our stay really marvellous were the amazing breakfasts! Absolutely delicious and imaginative, especially appreciated by two vegetarians. We travelled to Amsterdam from London by train. It was so easy and much, much nicer than travelling by air. We will definitely be visiting again soon and when we do, we'll definitely stay at the Vondel View - I recommend you do the same!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smithk31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

I recently stayed at the Vondel View B&B, and all of the wonderful things that people have said about it are absolutely true. Rita is a wonderful host, and the accommodations themselves - I was in the Flower Room - were beautiful. The breakfasts that Rita prepared were delicious, and homemade! The B&B is conveniently located right near a tram stop, and there are several places to eat along the street. (I highly recommend Kartika Restaurant.) Two things to point out for future guests. First, if you're staying in the Flower Room, on what Europe considers the first floor, the stairs are tricky. Best not to attempt drunk, I would think! Also, the bed, while comfortable, is a bit low. With achy muscles after a long day of walking around, I often find it difficult to get myself out of bed! These are only minor points, however. With online reviews, you often have to look at extremely positive ones with a bit of skepticism. I was happy to see that the Vondel View's reviews were well earned.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SKL41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Both my boyfriend and I are first time travelers in Amsterdam. I chose Vondelview through Tripadvisor (my first time) and my boyfriend was very pleased with my choice. Our room was the flower room, with a beautiful ensuite bathroom and a lovely spacious room with typical dutch windows. We stayed for 2 nights on the 29th and 30th of June.

Make sure you get a pass for the Tram as there is a very convenient Tram 1 station next to the B&B. The location is great, very close to the Vondelview park, and there is a bike shop just around the corner and a 10 min walk away from all the other tourist attractions located at the city Centre. What I love about this place is it's nice to be able to wind-down after all the craze in Amsterdam, so peaceful and quiet.

Also, if you are staying with very heavy luggage, would not suggest to take the Flower Room as the house steps are very steep and relatively 'narrow'. Note, if you don't like cats you might be surprised to get a visit from the family cat, but he is very cute and cuddly, loves to be petted. I enjoyed his company very much.

I just wish we got to have Rita's delicious breakfasts always with an extra touch of a Dutch treat to share! Lovely hot bread basket, with cheese, ham and eggs done in different way, juice and yoghurt etc. Very filling and Rita the host was more than helpful and a delight to speak with. Overall, it was a very excellent stay and would come back here anytime.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yvonne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We stayed at Vondel View B&B during an extended weekend vacation (21.june.2013 - 24.june.2013) and had a wonderful experience.
The rooms were very clean, well organized and spacious. The bathroom was immaculate and very large.

The location is just perfect: very quit and you have the Vondelpark entrance just outside the hotel.

There is a bike rental place at 5 minutes walk from the hotel. We recommend everyone renting a bike, since that is a very useful means of transportation (there are bike lanes all over the city, at least in the central area where we hung out).

The breakfast was delicious and we were asked for preferences, in order to get the most out of it. We even had little pancakes specially cooked for our 4 years daughter!

There are a lot of good things to say about RIta, but the most important is the fact that she made us fell like home during our stay at Vondel View B&B.

P.S. "Cos" is a great cat!

Room Tip: The room we stayed in was at the first floor, and was perfect, since we had our 4 years daughter wit...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stefan_pascal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Great place to stay, it is meters from an entrance to Vondel Park and beside a main tram link into the centre (this can also be easily walked in 25 minutes and is a great way to see the city). It's a 5-10 minute walk through the park to the museums. Our room (the flower room) was beautiful with a particularly good painting in it that set the tone for our art themed trip. Rita is a great host provided lots of little things that make the stay extra special. We would not stay anywhere else when we return to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brettca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Pillows Anna van den Vondel
Pillows Anna van den Vondel
#48 of 371 in Amsterdam
111 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,608 reviews
Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
#84 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#18 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,310 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Museum Suites
Museum Suites
#5 of 337 in Amsterdam
353 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Iron Horse
Hotel Iron Horse
#29 of 337 in Amsterdam
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vondel View B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vondel View B&B

Address: Gerard Brandtstraat 14 hs., 1054 JK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 337 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: £115 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B Suite Vondel View in Amsterdam: unique in style and comfort and ideally situated in a quiet residential street next to the Vondel Park. Your complete private suite with living room, bedroom and bathroom. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing