We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay for the best Amsterdam experience”
Review of Vondel View B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Vondel View B&B
Ranked #18 of 337 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2013

From the moment we arrived to leaving, this b&b was perfect. Located right next to vondel park, only 2 mins from tram route 1, allowing easy access to all the top sights, as well as being near supermarket & a good choice of eateries, we could not of picked a better place to stay. We stayed for 5 nights, in this well equipped b&b, specifically in the flower room, with gorgeous fittings & luxurious bathroom. Rita is so helpful & friendly, always smiling & providing the best breakfast to set you up for the rest of the day. Stay at Vondelview & you will not be disappointed

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuffolkHannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (305)
There are newer reviews for Vondel View B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 305 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

We had a wonderful three night stay at Vondelview B&B The location was not in the centre of Amsterdam, however Tram# 1 was just around the corner and took us directly into the city centre. The room was very nice, spacious and clean. The bathroom felt like a spa! The breakfasts were delicious with a nice variety of bread, cheese, fruits, yoghurt and of course freshly prepared eggs. Rita is the perfect hostess and obviously enjoys what she is doing. We were so pleased that she served us pofertjies for our last breakfast in Amsterdam. Thank you Rita!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mknight27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Our stay in Vondel View was simply a delight. Rita, our hostess was so friendly and welcoming. We arrived in the morning after disembarking from our Baltic cruise. We were hoping we could at least drop off our luggage because it was so early, but our suite was ready and just lovely. The location is so convenient, just steps away from the tram stop; we were able to navigate the city and arrive at all of our tour locations on time. Breakfast at Vondel View is an elegant occasion, such a variety of foods and wonderful presentation, served in our room overlooking morning joggers, dog walkers and ever present cyclers. We truly enjoyed our long weekend and would love to return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We picked Vondel View because of all the great reviews and definitely didn't regret it. We stayed here at the beginning of our trip to Europe and it was a great start to our holiday. We stayed in the Flower Room and it was so nice! The room is lovely and spacious and overlooks a very pretty garden. The bed was comfortable and the room was very clean and beautifully decorated. The separate bathroom was big, spotlessly clean and had everything we needed.

The location is quite good, it is out near the Vondel Park which isn't the very centre of town but it is a lot quieter which we preferred. It was very easy to get into town, we usually just hopped on the tram. It is very close to the Museum District, just a short walk away, and there are grocery stores and restaurants near by too.

Of course the best part of our stay was Rita, she really is an excellent host. We arrived in Amsterdam early in the morning after a very long-haul flight, and she was kind enough to have our room made up a few hours early so that we could check in early and have a nap! It has been said before, but her breakfasts were amazing. She would carry everything up the rather steep stairs each morning and serve the breakfast in our room at a time of our choice. It was all so carefully prepared and prettily presented, we definitely looked forward to getting up for breakfast each morning.

Keep an eye out for the very sweet ginger cat who lives there, he loves people and doesn't mind a pat! If you're not a cat person though, Rita is very good with making sure he isn't in the way.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Vondel View B & B to anyone, and next time we manage to get away to Europe we would love to visit again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CorinneandGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We stayed at B&B Vondelview this weekend and it was wonderful! My husband generally prefers hotels and was hesitant about staying at a B&B, but I'm happy to report that he wasn't disappointed.

First off - the room. It's excellently decorated (apparently the owner's husband is an interior designer/decorator), very clean and a nice large size. There are also several travel books (Rick Steve's, Frommers, etc.) in the room that we took advantage of using during our stay.

As for the owner - Rita - she is incredibly friendly and helpful. Once we arrived, we realized our adaptor was broken and when asking if there was a nearby store to buy a replacement, Rita offered us an extra adaptor she had so we could use it during our stay.

Breakfast is included in the price and served in your room, and it is sooo much better than some of the hotel breakfasts I've had in the past. There were eggs, ham, cheese, pastries, bread, yogurt, etc. I was really pleasantly surprised about it, as I thought it would just be some breakfast pastries and coffee.

As for the location, it's not even a five minute walk to the Tram 1 stop and it's also right next to Vondel Park. On our first day we ended up walking to the Museum District by cutting through the park and it was nice to see the locals vegging out and enjoying their day.

The only thing that I wish Vondelview had was air conditioning. Although Amsterdam is fairly cool, the weekend we went was still pretty warm and there wasn't much wind blowing into the room. Plus, my husband tends to get hot pretty easily. However, there is a powerful fan in the room that did help a bit.

I definitely recommend B&B Vondelview and would return for sure! It's a great value, beautifully decorated, clean and well-located.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Flower Room and you have that floor to yourself. Note that the bathroom is technica...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ApresNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Lovely bed and breakfast with very welcoming and helpful hostess. Convenient location near a park, which was nice to walk across to visit museums etc. There was a very good breakfast, including dutch specialities, and many useful extras eg umbrellas, guide books etc. We had a great weekend visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SusanGenge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

My wife and I have recently enjoyed 3 nights at the Vondel View B&B. It was a fantastic place to stay and one of the highlights of our trip to Amsterdam and the UK.
Rita looked after us wonderfully! Each morning we were presented with the most amazing breakfasts (as noted by the other lucky visitors), which were delicious and a great start for lots of walking around beautiful Amsterdam. I particularly enjoyed the pancakes on our last day! Rita also went out of her way to help us sort out our lost luggage issues. She made our life much easier encouraging us to head out and do the tourist thing while she helped with phone calls and emails to get our luggage sorted. While it wasn't ideal having the airline lose our bags at the start of the holiday, it would've been a nightmare if it weren't for Rita's help (in particular her language skills)!
Lastly, we were also pleased to find the B&B was in a handy spot. We were a little worried that it might be inconvenient to get into town, but our fears were put quickly to rest. The B&B is really close to a tram station only a few stops from town. Also, it's only a 15min walk through the peaceful Vondel Park to museums and other landmarks, and from there only a few minutes more to the canals and bustling streets of central Amsterdam.
All in all, I can't say enough about this place. Only warning would be re the steep narrow stairs. But Rita even helped us with that (once our bags finally arrived)! Fantastic place!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shaunvd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Pillows Anna van den Vondel
Pillows Anna van den Vondel
#48 of 371 in Amsterdam
112 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,611 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#17 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
#84 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,261 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Museum Suites
Museum Suites
#5 of 337 in Amsterdam
354 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Iron Horse
Hotel Iron Horse
#29 of 337 in Amsterdam
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vondel View B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vondel View B&B

Address: Gerard Brandtstraat 14 hs., 1054 JK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 337 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: £115 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B Suite Vondel View in Amsterdam: unique in style and comfort and ideally situated in a quiet residential street next to the Vondel Park. Your complete private suite with living room, bedroom and bathroom. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing