We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vondel View B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vondel View B&B
Ranked #15 of 329 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

Only one word describe Vondel View B&B. "Excellent" Located in a quiet neighborhood,close to the tram and within walking distance of the museums is Vondel View. The setting was very charming and our room was big and very comfortable. Everything was very clean and Rita (the hostess) prepares great breakfasts. The bathroom was completely furnished and had a shower and a bathtub. We spent three great nights at the B&B and can't say enough about it. There is also a great park next to the B&B which is great to take leisurely walk. This is the place to stay in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TowsonHounds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    16
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
54
204
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

We recently stayed three nights at this elegant B&B right near Vondel Park in Amsterdam. The main floor suite was spacious and clean and beautifully decorated. Each morning the owner, Rita, provided an extensive breakfast which we thoroughly enjoyed. Rita is friendly and knowledgeable and I highly recommend her establishment.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leslie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HK
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

I simply love & enjoy my stay at Vondel View, the room is wonderful with comfortable bed while the bathroom is furnished with a big bathtub & a very beautiful hand painting ceiling!

You can't miss the breakfast every morning, it gives you a wonderful start everyday! Different tradiaional Dutch meals are prepared every morning :)

The location is near to the Vondelpark, you can enjoy quiet nights there.

I recommend this place without reservation!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

My husband and I spent seven wonderful days and nights at the Vondel View, and we couldn't have been more pleased with the accommodations. The location is ideal for those who want a quiet alternative to hubbub of Dam Square and the tourist-jammed neighborhoods. The building is only steps from beautiful Vondelpark, a city oasis that leads directly to the Reijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, and other attractions. The Melkweg and a charming cinema, De Uitkijk, are within an easy stroll. The tram, as others have noted, is less than a block away, bringing all of Amsterdam within easy reach.

We stayed in the suite, which provides a lovely parlor in addition to the spacious bedroom and bathroom. All of the rooms are sumptuously appointed, with handsome wardrobes that make you forget that you're living out of a suitcase, unique chandeliers, and other tasteful ornaments. Additional features include hardwood floors, tall windows that bathe each room in light, and the convenience of a personal computer.

Rita, our peerless hostess, provided every amenity that we could wish, from warm greetings to assistance with printing our boarding passes and taxi service to the airport. Most remarkable of all were the breakfasts, so generous that we didn't need to eat again until the evening. Every day Rita varied the menu, from eggs and two types of warm breads to various flavors of juice and jam, a different meat every day, two kinds of cheese, plus special treats that included poffertjies (dainty pancakes), stroopwafels, chocolate sprinkles and other sweets, fresh fruit, and a pot of the most delicious coffee. Even with the tram nearby, we felt compelled to walk as much as possible to try to burn off the fabulous breakfasts and make room for more.

The only drawback is that you might be too comfortable to go sightseeing. Between the huge bed with goosedown duvet and the cozy couch in front of the teevee, we were rather slow in getting started each morning and very happy to come home early. Stay here and feel like a real Amsterdammer!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dragoslava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

The room was exquisite with a luxurious bathroom.
The bed was very comfortable. The breakfasts, delivered to our room, were delicious and enormous! We had some left over for lunch.
Rita was helpful and informative, going above and beyond to make our stay a total delight. The location is just perfect, everything is walking distance or a cheap and simple tram trip. When we visit again, we know exactly where we want to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gubita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

We enjoyed the Vondel - a partner to the nearby Hotel Roemer at which we'd stayed previously - and found it truly perfect. Close to the best museums as well as the canals and restaurant district, we had no complaints - only accolades. Staff was extremely helpful. We loved exploring the neighborhood and enjoyed the local Seafood bar. When we return to Amsterdam again, we shall definitely try to stay here!

Room Tip: The hotel is located on a street that does not have lots of traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PattyJ0hns0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosebud, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

We stayed at Vondel View B&B for the Amsterdam leg of our much planned and long awaited Eurotrip and it was most definitely one of the highlights of our journey.
Tucked away in a small (but easily accessible) lane on the edge of the beautiful Vondel Park was our little patch of hired paradise for two nights.
We arrived in the morning and although the previous tenants of the Flower Room hadn't yet left, Rita was most accommodating and we were able to leave our luggage so as to explore the beautiful city for an hour or so unencumbered, while our room was readied.
The room itself was exquisite, a truly peaceful, beautiful space. The bathroom, the only other room on the top floor, was downright palatial, so luxurious and beautifully decorated.
The bed was blissfully comfortable and the breakfasts delicious, varied and enormous! We could even put some food in the room's little fridge for snacks and afternoon tea!
Rita was helpful and informative, going above and beyond to make our stay a total delight. The location is just perfect, walking distance or cycling distance to everywhere and if you're not particularly that way inclined, a cheap and simple tram trip will get you where you want to be. Amsterdam is a wonderful city and when we come to visit again, we know exactly where we want to stay. It's always the little things that make a big difference when you're travelling and Rita has thought of everything. The magic is in the details. Many thanks xoxo

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LucyAndTom2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,473 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#9 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#4 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#60 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#5 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vondel View B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vondel View B&B

Property: Vondel View B&B
Address: Gerard Brandtstraat 14 hs., 1054JK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 329 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B Suite Vondel View in Amsterdam: unique in style and comfort and ideally situated in a quiet residential street next to the Vondel Park. Your complete private suite with living room, bedroom and bathroom. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing