We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected better.”
Review of Grekas Deli

Grekas Deli
Ranked #1,223 of 3,905 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
Neighbourhood: Centrum
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Centrum
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“Expected better.”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

The food was ok, but too expensive for something warmed up in the microwave. Looks like their main focus is food to take away, and they just warm up the same food for people who want to eat there.
Still a positive experience though.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dromao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    32
    7
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zaandam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice food, awful owners.”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

First of all, the pita Gyros is delicious. The other food is somewhat pricier, but still tasty. However, the reason I'm writing this review is because of my staff experience. The person bringing us our drinks was fine, but the owners were simply rude and seemed somehow in a hurry to close down shop, even though it was only around eight o' clock in the evening. When I mentioned the fact that we felt that they were being a bit pushy, we got a scolding in Greek. Horrendous. We also noticed that the female owner was in a foul mood, because she was yelling at the other staff members as well.

Finally the tip we offered for the nice food literally dissapeared into the owner's pocket. I felt awful for the other staff members, because they seemed to be working their butts off. Absolutely do not recommend this place to anyone, because of the bad experience we had at this place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Timbertius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Framingham
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Tasty Greek in Amsterdam”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Very small family style restaurant. Food was good. We got mixed grill which was really good except for lamb chop which was a little tough. The shisk kabob and chicken were tender and tasty. Grilled pita bread was absolutely delicious with yogurt cucumber dip--couldn't stop eating it. We split this meal which was large and fairly priced. All in all a really good meal. Would recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wanderers26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Opa!”
Reviewed 22 May 2013 via mobile

After passing by many times, finally ate dinner here. Don't expect fancy/schmancy, but do expect great food at reasonable prices. The eggplant and the Greek meatballs were awesome. Close your eyes when you eat the mousakka and you are transported to Greece. Ouzo after dinner and opa!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bordeaux71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, PA
Level 6 Contributor
1,425 reviews
564 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3,798 helpful votes
“Delicious once again!!”
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We ate here several years ago when the original owner had this restaurant. Then they sold it to people who were never open at the hours posted on their door and when they finally were open, the food was dreadful.

There are now two very hard working women from the Peloponnese area of Greece who make wonderful food. I was told they have had this place " for about two years." We were in Amsterdam 5 days and ate here 3 days. Everything we had was fresh, delicious, reasonably priced and well presented.

I hope these women continue to run this restaurant, as I am looking forward to returning. Once again, highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank luvroma2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grekas Deli also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Grekas Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing