We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice tapas bar!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tapas Bar Catala

Tapas Bar Catala
Ranked #387 of 3,767 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$22 - US$33
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Cheap Eats
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Centrum
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Really nice tapas bar!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

This was a very good tapas bar! The food, the staff and the place, everything was just gorgeous! We really enjoyed it. The atmosphere was very nice and we liked to sit and watch all the people moving on the street. We would like to come back another time. Thanks, Inger from Sweden.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Inger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    115
    34
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

The restaurant is small, few tables inside and outdoor. Some young spanish guys serve tipical tapas. The food is good, grilled prawns tasty and fresh, the octopus excellent.

Helpful?
Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
375 reviews
264 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Unlikely place for good tapas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

It felt a bit reckless to go into a tapas place in this road of restaurants in the centre of Amsterdam. If Barcelona has gone downhill with its tapas, what chance for a place in Spuistraat?

Espinacs, Xipirons, etc were excellent. The albondigas in a gravy with some peas, etc was a bit bland and disappointing though.

Portions were a good size - more like raciones than tapas. The waiter kindly advised us not to over order and we were, indeed, quite full (having followed his advice).

For me, the litmus test of a good tapas place / Spanish restaurant is their tortilla de patatas. Theirs was a really good one.

Excellent place.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Squid397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabiota T, Manager at Tapas Bar Catala, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
we could not expect better comment, Thanks and until next time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Spanish tapas!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

I would say that there is no difference between a tapas bar in Spain and this place. Good food and nice price. Really good service:)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabiota T, Manager at Tapas Bar Catala, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Thank you for your kind feedback, it help us to contstantly improve our quality, service and reputation. it looks like cut and paste but is not we really appreciate your time and comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

This are authentic Spanish tapas and food. The fresh shellfish they offer is spectacular! The service is perfect and very reasonable prices. Oh! and in the center of Amsterdam!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Kike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabiota T, Manager at Tapas Bar Catala, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
thank you very much for your comment. Help us continue to improve our quality and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tapas Bar Catala also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Tapas Bar Catala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing