We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable base to explore Amsterdam”
Review of Amstel Corner

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amstel Corner
Ranked #186 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 October 2012

I wouldn't call this a hotel, as there are no facilities, but it was a great place to stay. The house is in a great location right on a canal, a few minutes walk from trams and tube. Fokko was very welcoming and efficient. The two rooms we took were spacious for Amsterdam, well equipped with kitchenettes, clean modern bathrooms, modern furniture and comfy beds. It was nice to be able to make tea and coffees, and snacks.

I would book this again as an alternative to a hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank moo963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2012

We chose to stay here as we found some of the more smaller (i.e. not chain), more centrally located hotels were extortionately priced. This was more reasonable and although it was further out this wasn't a problem as it was an easy walk to the centre (about 15-20 minutes along the canals) - if you'd prefer not to walk there are good tram links. Amstel Corner is a cross between a hotel and apartment: there is no reception but we just called before we arrived to make sure someone was there to meet us; we were met by Maria who was very friendly and even carried my suitcase up the steep stairs for me! There is a kitchen area to make drinks and snacks but the room was tidied and towels replaced every day. We stayed in the Duke's Suite which was lovely - spacious, lovely airy, light room, comfy bed, modern bathroom with flowers which was a nice touch. Only criticism would be that the cold tap didn't work well - either didn't work at all or would gush and it was difficult to turn it off again :-( and the panel for the toilet flush was missing. This was a great base for our stay in Amsterdam and I would consider staying here again if we were to return!

Room Tip: The Duke Suite is lovely but be aware it is at the top of the house up several flights of typically...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nottingham_UKBeanbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Gareth C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 30 July 2012

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
4  Thank CH L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor Member
Amsterdam
13
Reviewed 12 July 2012

The 'Play' room that we stayed in was very stylish and had lots of light. We would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

cosy room, kitchenette useful & clean, tv broken, beautiful bathroom with nice rainforest shower, big bed

nice view out of all windows!

a bit out of centre, but with a little walk on the rembrandtplein

fokko was very helpfull and friendly :)

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
3  Thank Debbie4500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
3  Thank Patchetts
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Nova Apartments Amsterdam
Nova Apartments Amsterdam
#168 of 374 in Amsterdam
179 reviews
Plantage & the East
The Bridge Hotel
The Bridge Hotel
#97 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,055 reviews
Holiday Inn Amsterdam
#154 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Notting Hill
Hotel Notting Hill
#75 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,009 reviews
De Pijp
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Amstel
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Amstel
#180 of 374 in Amsterdam
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amstel Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amstel Corner

Address: Sarphatikade 16, 1017 WV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #186 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £90 - £282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Amstel Corner 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This friendly hotel in the heart of Amsterdam provides tasteful luxurious studios and rooms along a beautiful Amsterdam canal. " In 1870s it was the site where the Amstel Corner is now housed, a large water where the Amstel river ran through. The inner harbor was called Amstel Haven. " On 16th of April 2004, the current owner purchased the property and rebuild the inside to fit modern living. The following years a hotel license 2012 was applied for and obtained and the Amstel Corner hotel was born and the rest remains History." You are assured of a warm welcome at the Amstel Corner hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amstel Corner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing