We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great pancakes, but get their early” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pancakes Amsterdam

Pancakes Amsterdam
Ranked #11 of 103 Dessert in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$13
Cuisines: Dutch, Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Description: We welcome you at Pancakes Amsterdam! Pancakes Amsterdam is established in 2007. Almost ten years later we have three location. The first one is situated in the famous Nine Streets. This is were Pancakes Amsterdam has started! The second location is near Amsterdam central station and the third one is our newest location and is situated next to Anna Frank House and Westerkerk. Come and visit one of our location and enjoy the tastiest Dutch pancakes and American pancakes! We hope to see you soon!
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great pancakes, but get their early”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

My husband and I read about Pancakes! in the New York Times review and had a great meal. He had a sweet pancake while I chose the savory and they were amazing. We had decided to get their prior to opening (10am) and wait and I'm so glad we did. Less than 10 minutes after opening there was already a line out the door. There is only one cook (at least that I saw0 and it didn't take very long for food to start arriving slowly. Make sure you bring your patience with you, but you won't be disappointed in the food!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AlysiaEve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,786 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    888
    623
    169
    52
    54
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Heilbronn, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very good pancakes!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

The pancakes were delicious. The service was also very good, although the pancakes took some time to be prepared

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Igor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The Real Savory Pancake of Amsterdam”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

This restaurant came recommended as one of the best places to find a real Dutch pancake and I was not disappointed. The restaurant is tiny and we waited in line but it was well worth it. We were told that the wait would be 30 minutes but we were seated outside in 15. It is surrounded by nice small shops so while I held our place in line the others in our party wondered through the shops. We think of pancakes as a sweet breakfast food. In Amsterdam you must try a savory pancake. I had a ham and cheese pancake for a late lunch that was delicious. Service was friendly.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 68SteveS68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
307 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Pancakes Bakery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Loved the Dutch pancakes, thin and crispy, delicious with bananas and peaches. A MUST TRY when you visit Amsterdam. If in the summer, excellent outside tables in front of one of the canals.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alfredo8074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
84 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Delicious pancakes, extremely slow service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Delicious pancakes, but extremely slow service. They are definitely moving at their own pace there without much regard for getting customers in and out very quickly.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kate38880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pancakes Amsterdam also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Pancakes Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing