We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair to Midlin"”

Steakhouse Piet de Leeuw
Reserve with
Steakhouse Piet de Leeuw is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #449 of 3,900 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Stadsdeel Zuid
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Fair to Midlin"”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Stopped by for dinner as it was down the street from our hotel. Crowded with mostly young local customers. Brusk waiter. Seatings for two only at common table. Unusual for Holland was the non communication with the other two couples already there.Told gruffly "this is a Heineken's bar" when I asked for a taste of the famous Amsterdam micro brew and H was a take it or forget beer. Since I love the H I get at home, I didn't have a choice but to have it here too. Happily other restaurants offered more choices. My wife ordered the Beef Tenderloin tips and they were overly chewy and the sauce a bit too vinegery. I had the Salmon with a mussel sauce that I enjoyed, but no great shakes. Service had to be called and there was a long long wait for the requested cheque. It was a local restaurant and lots of noise with everyone chattering except our table. Pass it up.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jimgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    154
    57
    18
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious”
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Delicious food and deserts. Cozy restaurant with local customers. Go there for the most enticing displays of beef, French fries. Ice cream was great and big!

Helpful?
Thank Raina M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
47 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We went here one evening and had a good time. It was packed with locals, which is always a good sign to me. We ended up sharing a table, which was fun.
The fillet steak was very well cooked and the sides of chips and salad were good too. Not the cheapest place, but good food!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OilR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Very good value and great atmosphere”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We ate twice here in our 4 night stay. The daily specials were lovely. Very busy with locals and tourists alike. You may need to share a large table with others but that adds to the ambience.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrsRo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stone Mountain, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“It became our local restaurant”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We ate here no less than four times for dinner during a nine day visit because of the quality of the food and the lively, friendly atmosphere. The menu was broad and we easily found different choices which suited us each time we ate here. The filet mignon in Stroganoff sauce I had one evening was the finest I have ever eaten. While they largely cater for couples and foursomes in the center they have a large rectangular table which seats at least 12 people and it was more often than not being used every time we ate there. The service was excellent and we felt we had good value for our money.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tony1784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Steakhouse Piet de Leeuw also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Steakhouse Piet de Leeuw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing