We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better Value Is Hop-on Hop-off Canal Cruise”

Canal Tours Amsterdam
Book In Advance
More Info
US$106.70*
and up
Amsterdam Evening Canal Cruise with 4-course Dinner and Drinks
More Info
US$46.75*
and up
Amsterdam Canals Pizza Cruise Including Drinks
More Info
US$44.96*
and up
Amsterdam Dutch Wine and Cheese Candlelight Cruise
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: There’s nothing like seeing Amsterdam from the water! Canal Tours Amsterdam organises distinctive and innovative programmes on and around the Amsterdam canals. With a diversity of products – including Pedal Boats, Hop On Hop Off Boat, Open Boat Tours and Dining Cruises. Canal Tours Amsterdam is a brand of Stromma Group.
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Hotel concierge sold us discounted tickets for an hour canal cruise with Holland International, which departed from Grey Line Pier 5 near Damrak 26. Went by Central Station, entered Waalserlaudsgracht Canal, then Oude Schans Canal passing City Hall, then Amstel River and turned into Herengracht Canal all the way to Brouwersgracht Canal. After turning into Singel Canal, cruise went out to where the river cruise longships dock, then turned into the Oosterdok passing Nemo and returned to Pier 5. Personal audio was loud and clear in a number of languages and covered the few sights we passed. Entire tour lasted less than an hour and, unfortunately, overall cruise left a poor impression. For a few dollars more, a better value is the Hop On Hop Off Canal Cruise whose routes better cover sights of interest.

Thank SMP-NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanalCompany, Junior Online Marketer at Canal Tours Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

First of all, thank you very much for taking the time to share your
experience on the #1 canal cruise.

We are sorry to hear that the cruise didn't entirely meet your expectations.
We will do our best to improve our route to cover even more highlights.

Thank you for choosing Canal Company and we hope to have you on board
again.

With kind regards,

L. Franken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,471)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

814 - 818 of 1,471 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

Lovely evening on the canals. Good wine, good cheese selection with bread, white tablecloths, nice group of people. Commentary was not too much, not too little. Closed-in boat with windows that allowed a good view, windows opened if you wanted. Small bathroom on the boat. Very interesting to see how the long canal boat can be manouvered through turns.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank onmyway10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Fisrt experience and very positive. The boat was very clean, the drinks excellent, and the staff very helpful. I can certainly recommand the company

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank PHHLasne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanalCompany, Junior Online Marketer at Canal Tours Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you for the positive review, we really appreciate it.

It's a pleasure to know that you loved the cruise.

With kind regards,

L. Franken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We did an evening canal cruise (roughly 1 hr 30 mins) and it was beautiful! It was nice to get a sense of the city from the canal. We did a pizza (which was delicious) and all inclusive beer & wine (white, rose, or red) cruise-casual food and atmosphere, yet we had wonderful waitresses that were very friendly, professional, and informative along our cruise around the canals. Highly recommended!

Thank TropicTraveller08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanalCompany, Junior Online Marketer at Canal Tours Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you for your taking the time to write a review.

We are happy that you had a wonderful cruise!
We noticed that you rated us 3 out of 5 stars, could you give
us any feedback about what we could do to make it a 5 star cruise?

I am looking forward to hear from you.

With kind regards,

L. Franken
l.franken@canal.nl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

It's a good way to explore the canals. We were plied with plenty of wine (over the advertised 2 glasses) which was good because the cheese plate was rather small and I would have found it overpriced if not for the extra wine. That said the cheese was delicious - just a small spread. It becomes quite romantic once the sun finally set but in June this didn't happen until a little over halfway through the trip.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Cait J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Canal Tours Amsterdam also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Canal Tours Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing