We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good tour but not breathtaking”

Canal Tours Amsterdam
Book In Advance
More Info
US$101.84*
and up
Amsterdam Canals Cruise with Freshly Prepared 4-Course Dinner
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: There’s nothing like seeing Amsterdam from the water! Canal Tours Amsterdam organises distinctive and innovative programmes on and around the Amsterdam canals. With a diversity of products – including Pedal Boats, Hop On Hop Off Boat, Open Boat Tours and Dining Cruises. Canal Tours Amsterdam is a brand of Stromma Group.
Sale
Level Contributor
205 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“A good tour but not breathtaking”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I took one of their canal tours, earlier this week and it was pleasant and I enjoyed it bit I wasn't completely knocked out.

The cruise leaves Grey Line Pier 5 and winds it's way around the city, anti-clockwise and returning via the harbour, passing the back of Centraal Station. The boat was clean, and the captain was a pleasant enough guy and there was a decent audio commentary, throughout the cruise.

It is a pleasant way to spend an hour but having checked out other cruise companies, and TA reviews, for several cruises, I would try another, first, before coming back to this one.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank SaleDamc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanalCompany, Junior Online Marketer at Canal Tours Amsterdam, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear madam/sir,

Thank you for sharing your experience on the #1 canal cruise.
It's a pleasure to read the plusses you mentioned.

We will use your feedback to make the cruise even more exciting
and interesting. Thank you for that.

With kind regards,

Luca Franken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    532
    470
    204
    96
    62
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
273 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“100 Highlights Cruise was nice”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My bf really wanted to do a canal boat cruise while we were in Amsterdam, and our hotel told us that they all left from across the main train station, so we went there and checked out the options from Holland International Canal Cruises.

They had several options, some with food and drinks, and some were quite pricey. We decided to do the 100 Highlights Cruise, which cost 15.50 euros per adult and took about 1 hour.

We went to the very back of the boat, thinking there would be more leg room for my bf's long legs, but it turned out that the wooden bench with the cushions weren't that comfortable. And we were next to the toilet, which was kind of yucky. Oh well.

The cruise itself was quite pleasant, and it was nice to get a different vantage point of all the sights we had been looking at from land. The commentary was nice and informative, too.

The only thing I didn't like was that my vantage point didn't make for very good picture-taking. For one, it's kind of difficult to take photos from a moving boat, and since we were at the very end, I didn't always get to see what they were trying to show us whenever they paused the boat.

For instance, there was one point where you were supposed to see a whole bunch of arches in a line (like 7 of them or something), but I was at the wrong angle, and there were too many people's heads in the way, so I couldn't get a good photo.

Despite the lack of fabulous pictures, it was a pleasant experience to enjoy the canals and rest our feet.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank I-Lin10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanalCompany, Junior Online Marketer at Canal Tours Amsterdam, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.

We are glad that you enjoyed cruising with us through the Amsterdam canals.
We understand your point about the vantage point, we really want everyone
to have a perfect vantage point, however this is not yet entirely possible.
But we will defintely use your feedback to underline the importance of
optimizing the customers experience.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience and feedback
with us.

With kind regards,

L. Franken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lydney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A view of old Amsterdam”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

An excellent cruise arond the harbour and canals of this beautiful City. Plenty of historical information from the Captain/Courier. Very
pleasant and restful way to spendy a sunny afternoon, particularly after long walks around the museums and following my wife around the shops !

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanalCompany, Junior Online Marketer at Canal Tours Amsterdam, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Peter,

Thank you for your review and positive rating!

We are really happy to know that you had a great time
on board of our Harbour Cruise and the cruise through
the historic centre.

We hope to see you and your wife again!

With kind regards,

L. Franken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Better Value Is Hop-on Hop-off Canal Cruise”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Hotel concierge sold us discounted tickets for an hour canal cruise with Holland International, which departed from Grey Line Pier 5 near Damrak 26. Went by Central Station, entered Waalserlaudsgracht Canal, then Oude Schans Canal passing City Hall, then Amstel River and turned into Herengracht Canal all the way to Brouwersgracht Canal. After turning into Singel Canal, cruise went out to where the river cruise longships dock, then turned into the Oosterdok passing Nemo and returned to Pier 5. Personal audio was loud and clear in a number of languages and covered the few sights we passed. Entire tour lasted less than an hour and, unfortunately, overall cruise left a poor impression. For a few dollars more, a better value is the Hop On Hop Off Canal Cruise whose routes better cover sights of interest.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank SMP-NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanalCompany, Junior Online Marketer at Canal Tours Amsterdam, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
First of all, thank you very much for taking the time to share your
experience on the #1 canal cruise.

We are sorry to hear that the cruise didn't entirely meet your expectations.
We will do our best to improve our route to cover even more highlights.

Thank you for choosing Canal Company and we hope to have you on board
again.

With kind regards,

L. Franken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Very worthwhile”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Lovely evening on the canals. Good wine, good cheese selection with bread, white tablecloths, nice group of people. Commentary was not too much, not too little. Closed-in boat with windows that allowed a good view, windows opened if you wanted. Small bathroom on the boat. Very interesting to see how the long canal boat can be manouvered through turns.

Visited June 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank onmyway10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Canal Tours Amsterdam also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Canal Tours Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing