We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor service”
Review of Mai Thai

Mai Thai
Ranked #1,104 of 3,814 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Stadsdeel Zuid
UK
Level Contributor
168 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Poor service”
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

We visited this restaurant because, on the previous night, the lady outside had persuaded us to try their special deal. I had explained that I didn't like the 'hot, spicy' curries and she explained that if I told the waitress they would be able to make it mild. My husband likes Thai food, so we agreed to go the next evening.

Unfortunately, that lady wasn't there the next day. The waitress inside the small restaurant didn't smile at all and made no effort to modify the meal as had been promised. She just said 'It's already mild' and walked away. Needless to say, it was far too hot for me and I couldn't eat it. My husband said it was bland!

On the plus side, the starter was tasty and the rice well cooked.

Helpful?
Thank Frissels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    34
    33
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
454 reviews
284 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Pad Thai was good”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

My Tom Yum soup was pretty weak with two shrimps but many mushrooms and tasted just average. My wife liked her pad Thai and shared it with me. Good sized portions but a bit pricey for lunch.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank tatliturk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
68 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Beware of paint stripper strength cocktail! The food was average.”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Pleasant and prompt service. The food was overpriced, but Amsterdam generally is, given its central location. I was shocked to be served such a strong cocktail, which would have been great if I was attending a hen/stag do.
It filled a hole.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank siewping_lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Cheap and tasty”
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

We called here on a busy Saturday night although the streets were empty the restaurant was quiet. We choose the two course special option chicken skewers with peanut sauce and Thai green curry and rice 2nd option spring roll with beef ....... and rice. Cannot fault the food it was fresh and full of flavour.
Waitress was a beautiful Thai girl and such a sweetie.
Very pleasant evening. Wish them success in building up their customers.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ketchupgirl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade
Level Contributor
147 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Just eat there, and relax”
Reviewed 27 June 2013

The woman befor Mai Thai restaurant is desperate like Jehova´s Witness in her attempt to drag into this restaurant. I felt sorry for her and ... I came in.
Yes I knew her interest for me was fake. she aksed me where I came from.
- Serbia.
- Serbia?? Never heard of.
- Balkan...
- Balkan?? No.
- Ex yugoslavia, you know Tito, Non-Alighen Movement, Nehru, Sukarno, Nasser...??

Then she rushed outside to lure some other tourists, ANd she succeeded at this.
And no she did not hear of Tito and Yougolavia either. Great disappointment.

Ok, let´s talk seriosly.
Hot soup with shrimps (only two shrimps, though), and pork in curry sauce with fried noodles. - that was my choixe, and it was good. Well, almoust very good.

They had Singha - Thai beer, but no any indigenous brandy.

The chef of the restaurant is old man with black hair. Family restaurant. The picture of Thailand´s royal couple is hung on the wall at the entrance of the restaurant.

She did not know of Tito?!?! I can´t believe.

Never mind, the place is warm and cute, it is piece of shabby thai place in the midlle of equaly shabby Amsterdam. This is the tourist area, all right, but eat there anyway, and leave a tip, please.

They are open til midnight.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Crnkovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mai Thai also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Mai Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing