We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nice apartment in a perfect location”
other travellers have booked this property
Living Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living Room
Amsterdam Canal Apartment Your view from the table
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
140 reviews
Living Room
Amsterdam Canal Apartment
Your view from the table
The Studio Bedroom
Your table with view
Living Room
Living Room
The Studio Bedroom
Your more then kingsize bed
The Studio Bedroom
Your beddings
The Studio Bedroom
Hallways
Your kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Bathroom
Bathroom
Your dream kitchen
Bathroom
Your living area
Your living area with antiques
Amsterdam Canal Apartment from the opposite bridge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Amsterdam, North Holland Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 140 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
al7jj
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Nice apartment in a perfect location”
Reviewed 16 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
2
people found this review helpful

This is our second stay in the Canal View apartment. The front part consists of a living/dining area in the front and a king-sized bed in the back, while the smaller back room is a kitchen with a bathroom. There is an additional fold-out bed in the front area which we did not pull out or use. The apartment is nicely furnished and the kitchen has everything needed (we ate most of our meals in). The location is quiet but close to the old downtown and the canal ring -- pretty much everything is within walking distance. Taxi service from the airport is included, which is very helpful. The owner is very helpful and the apartment is very well kept. We stayed for two weeks; there was a small maintenance issue partway through the stay and someone was there to fix it within 20 minutes.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the view
Liked least: The outside steps are a bit steep for those with disabilities (17th century)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosundeen
la
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Comfortable and great location”
Reviewed 30 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

My husband and I stayed here 2 weeks in September and October 2016, and it was perfect for us. Size was spacious for a studio (the well supplied kitchen was a separate room) and met our needs. We observed that the Blue Delft apartment below us had a different configuration, with the kitchen opening into the living room (a preferable layout), but we were very happy with our apartment, which had a lovely view of the canal from our dining area. While there was some noise when the inner windows were open (walking above, rattling of pots) that was more than compensated for by the location, the tree lined canal and street, proximity to Nieumarket, Dam Square, restaurants, and tram stops (also metro, which we didn't really use). Of the many apartments that I was considering, this one had two very important features: ground floor (about 5 front steps) and canal location. Bas, the owner, was very entertaining and accommodating, assisting us with operation of all appliances (which included washer and dryer). The only issue was getting access, because of the mixup about key location and we were expecting the manager to be on the premises. Fortunately, the other renters phoned the manager, who arrived within 10 minutes. We appreciated the airport pick up. We would surely stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: confusion about getting into the apartment, location of key
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SengaMiln...
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
375 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
“Bright and cheery”
Reviewed 6 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We stayed in the Canal View apartment for only one night after spending four in the Delft Blue apartment downstairs and were pleased with our stay. The apartment is bright and welcoming and everything you need for a pleasant stay is provided. Being an old home, there is absolutely no soundproofing so, if you’re a light sleeper, take earplugs If you sleep in the nude, take along a robe as there are no blinds in the hall or kitchen so no privacy when you walk from the living/sleeping area to the bathroom. The bathroom is spacious with a medicine cabinet to hold your toiletries. I found the kitchen table very off-putting as there is a groove all around the table and food has collected in this crevice. There are many decorative pillows and knick-knacks but these all need to be moved and stored when it’s time for bed. There are decorative items on the window ledge but you can’t close the blind unless you move them. The location is great and there are two Albert Heijn supermarkets within a 5 minute walk. 5 minutes to Niewmarkt metro, 20 minute walk to Central Station. We would be happy to stay here again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oaxacamam...
Brooklyn, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stay here and feel like an Amsterdamer.”
Reviewed 27 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Lovely bright apartment on a smaller, side canal. Very central location, but quieter and more residential than surrounding streets. The unit is tastefully furnished and equipped with everything you need. Perfect space for a couple, but there is a cot in a closet if you want to add a third person, as we did. My only wish would be for softer bed pillows.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
papaver1
Gloucestershire
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Fantastic location”
Reviewed 19 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We stayed in the apartment for 12 days and found it very comfortable and well equipped. We were within walking distance of all the main sights of Amsterdam and countless cafes and restaurants, and there was a supermarket a few minutes walk away. Also, the metro was nearby so we could get to the central station easily for our trips out of the city. We loved having breakfast by the window overlooking the canal. The area is quiet and safe but there was just enough going on outside to make it interesting. The bed is huge and the bedding is good quality. The only reason I haven't given it five out of five is because we were woken up several times by noise from other apartments around the central courtyard. The house is very old (1620) so I guess the soundproofting isn't that good. Also, it was very hot while we were there so we had the windows open and the courtyard seemed to amplify every sound. We were woken up by doors slamming and crockery rattling at 6.30am and doors slamming after midnight which made the apartment shake. Ironically we weren't bothered by the chuch bells - they seemed to stop beween 11pm and 8am, and for the last few days they stopped completely because the church building was being renovated. The free taxi from the airport was much appreciated

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Sep 2016
Dear Guest Thank you for the very good review. I was shocked however by the noise problem, you did report. It was very warm indeed during your stay and all windows in the area were open. The noise should have come from my other guests, as the neighbours and myself are very quiet. I throroughly regret the problem you did experience but also that you communicate this problem through Tripadvisor but not during your stay, as when i did know about it during your stay it could have been easily resolved, I suppose and your stay would have been quiet. Sorry for this inconvenience anyway and thanks for your stay and hope to see you again Bas
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Reviewed 23 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: hard to pick one
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Helen M
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A Home Away from Home”
Reviewed 7 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

This apartment is everything anyone could wish for. Bas and Wilson are wonderful hosts, the taxi pick up from the airport, cheese and wine were a delightful touch. The apartrment is warm, comfortable with every possible thing in it anyone could want and even more, Bas had thought of just everything. If I could have taken the bed home with me I would have. I have never slept in a more comfortable bed anywhere. Sitting at the window having our early morning coffee with the lights dazzling on the canals, watching the dawn break and another Amsterdam day spring to life, is a memory that will live in my mind forever. Amsterdam is a beautiful city and this is definitely the place to stay. Thanks again Bas and Wilson for the memories.
Helen Marsden and Jennifer Maroney, Melbourne, Australia

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bed and the view from window
Liked least: There was nothing we did not like
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing