We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky, appealing. convenient.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #104 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
185 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Quirky, appealing. convenient.”
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Stayed here for a Show at RAI. Very convenient, about a 10 minute walk. Also walkable to museum area and a few blocks to tram 5 and the center city. Front desk is helpful, friendly, and polite. Restaurant is a little indifferent; like they were trained by a different company.

I screwed up on check-in and can never figure out which countries count the first floor as zero. Thought my key was bad. Front desk personnel hand carried my luggage back up and made sure all was OK. Refused a tip! (Dorothy, we're not in Kansas anymore). Everyone speaks English as if it were their first language, oddly with seemingly more of an American than British dialect.

Decor scheme is "what can we do with a bad-looking 1950s (on the outside) 40+ year old hotel and make it hip, fashionable, and euro-traditional at the same time. So you get a little of it all from a decor scheme. To be fair, its really all fine and some is very nice inside.

Breakfast is very steep at 22.50E for a typical spread, nothing special. Internet is 7.50 per day, not too bad and worked fine.

Beautiful view overlooking the canals. Upgraded to a small suite; I sense the regular rooms are a bit tight, but this was fine. Of the RAI area hotels, this was a value when I booked. I think I did very well.

Room Tip: Overlooking canal is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Artemus_Gordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApolloAmsterdam, Manager at Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
Dear Sir,Madam,

Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam would like to thank you very much for taking the time to remark on your stay.

I am pleased to hear that the service of the hotel staff was good and that you have enjoyed your overall stay. Thank you for leaving your comment about the staff in the restaurant, could you let me know what you mean with ‘trained by a different company’?

And in responding to the hotel decor scheme, we are currently in a renovation process which means that all rooms will be renovated to make everything look like the same style. Also I would like to point out the additional costs for Internet, we offer free Wi-Fi for Wyndham members which you can ask for at the reception. Membership of Wyndham by Request is free of charge.

I look forward welcoming you again at Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Peter Heule
Hotel Manager Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,693 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    619
    646
    272
    94
    62
See reviews for
171
654
69
444
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Asker, Norway
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

The hotel is situated a little bit south of Amsterdam centre, but trams or a rental bicycle will easily take you into the centre in no time.
The hotel itself is a mixture of business and tourist hotel, and the surroundings are very quiet. It's also nice to sit in the bar, watching one of the many canals around.
The staff is really nice, and mostly very attentive. The hotel is clean, and the rooms are of standard size, and just what you need for a long-weekend in lovely Amsterdam.
The room rate for the week-end was around what you expect for a hotel of this standard in a city like AMS. What makes me slightly disappointed are that you have to pay extra for absolutely everything. It seems a little petty, to charge customers for Wi-Fi connection these days, when even most hotels in "tax-loving" Norway gives you that for free. Another thing is the price for the breakfast. Special rate was 16 Euros pr. person pr. night. Standard rate is 22 Euros.
The breakfast was good, but I’m not sure it’s worth this kind of money. You can go out, and walk for 5 minutes to a nearby café, and they'll charge you 8 euros for 2 big sandwiches and coffee. The only reason why we chose to have the breakfast at the hotel was that we prefer to be able to go up to the room to brush our teeth etc. after eating. So for that you pay a price.
Having visited several hotels with lower standard than this, both inside and outside Europe, with both Wi-Fi and breakfast included in the price, I found that having to pay extra for this, makes the hotel, or at least the Wyndham chain look a bit “greedy”. I know that they also need to earn money, but how come other hotels around the world can manage? We also experienced bus-loads of tourists on the Saturday and Sunday which brought the logistics to a collapse during breakfast, as they all came in at the same time. But that's something they have to expect. They could have foreseen this by looking at the bookings in advance, and prepared for this scenario. The poor guys and girls working there did their best, but they were not properly staffed for this amount of people. As long as they accept the number of guests to the hotel, they should prepare for this kind of things to happen. We told the reception afterwards, and they agreed totally, and made no excuses, which for us proved matureness, and insight. They offered us to give us the two breakfasts for free, and that's professional. The staff and the hotel itself are very good, but why not add another 10-15 Euros to the room-price, and let the breakfast and Wi-Fi be complementary? I will however recommend the hotel for a nice week-end in a beautiful town. After all the breakfast and Wi-Fi are voluntarily.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raviolies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApolloAmsterdam, Manager at Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
Dear Sir,Madam,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam.
I am pleased to hear that you have enjoyed the location and that you had a good overall stay. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused with the touring busses during breakfast. I will take this as a serious point for improvement and I will make sure this won’t happen again.

I would like to point out that we offer free Wi-Fi for Wyndham members which you can ask for at the reception. Membership of Wyndham by Request is free of charge.

Thank you for leaving you comment and for giving your advice about to make the breakfast and Wi-Fi complementary, reviews as these encourage us on continuously improving our service.

I look forward welcoming you again at Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Peter Heule
Hotel Manager Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 May 2012

The service and staff was very good. The views from the dinning room were great. The rooms were as advertised. I enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eliot d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApolloAmsterdam, Manager at Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
Dear Sir,Madam,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam.
I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed the service and the location at the canals. And I am pleased to hear that the rooms did meet up to your expectations.

Thank you for leaving a remark on your stay, reviews as these encourage us on continuously improving our service.

I look forward welcoming you again at Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Peter Heule
Hotel Manager Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Great stay at the Wyndham Apollo in Amsterdam. Beautiful location at the waterfront. We had a lovely stay with very good service and excellent food at the Hotel Restaurant. Recommend to try it. The room was modern and nicely refurbished. Perfect parking facilities infront of the hotel. This hotel is a good hotel for business and leisure proposes.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephanie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApolloAmsterdam, Manager at Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
Dear Stephanie,

I would like to thank you very much for sharing your good experience at Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam.
I am pleased to hear that you have enjoyed the location at het waterfront and that our service did meet up to your expectations.

Thank you for leaving your comment, reviews as these encourage us on continuously improving our service.

I look forward welcoming you again at Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Peter Heule
Hotel Manager Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Every contact with the staff at this hotel was a pleasant experience. They try very hard to satisfy and smile. I stayed in a room with a terrace on the ground floor, quite pleasant being able to walk out of the room but be faced by a 10ft wall between me and the canal. Beds are reasonably comfortable but bedding is odd with 2 single duvets on a double bed. The bathroom was mucky with mould around the bath seals and filth around the awkward corners. Breakfast at €18 was excessive at it is pretty well self service but not at all unpleasant. The bar has a delightful terrace overlooking the confluence of 5 canals. If only the bar staff would come out to serve it would have been idyllic. Easy access from this hotel into town with trams and a 30 min walk if preferred. Could be a good place to stay where it not let down by little annoying things which should be picked up.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonOdysseus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApolloAmsterdam, Manager at Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
Dear Sir,Madam,

Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam would like to thank you very much for taking the time to remark on your stay at.

Sorry to hear that the hotel could not meet up to your expectations. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused and I take it as a serious point for improvement. Regarding to the rooms, some have recently renovated and the rest is still in progress because we could not renovate all rooms at the same time. Hopefully in two years all rooms will be renovated.
Thank you for leaving your comment, reviews as these encourage us on continuously improving our service.

I look forward welcoming you again at Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Peter Heule
Hotel Manager Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

We recently stayed at the Wyndham Apollo for 3 nights as part of a tour group. As someone else said, the hotel looks great from the outside. Some of our friends were given rooms with a canal view, but our room looked out on the parking lot. The room was small, carpet threadbare, and the furniture seemed to be early distressed (meaning bumps, scratches, etc.). The breakfast included for our group was good. Our group dinner at the hotel the first night was meagre, and by the time the last table was served, they had run out of vegetables.
The hotel is in a residential area of Amsterdam, so there were very few restaurants close by within walking distance.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nannyOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApolloAmsterdam, Manager at Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Dear Madam,

Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam would like to thank you very much for taking the time to remark on your stay at.

I am sorry to hear that the hotel could not meet up to your expectations. Recently we have renovated some of our rooms, but unfortunately we could not renovate all rooms at the same time. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused in the restaurant and I take it as a serious point for improvement.

Thank you for leaving your comment, reviews as these encourage us on continuously improving our service.

I look forward welcoming you again in one of our renovated rooms at Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam!

For the best available rate and best service please make your booking by phone: +31 (0)20 673 5922 or send us an e-mail: reservations.wyndhamapollo@apollohotelsresorts.com

Kind regards,

Peter Heule
Hotel Manager Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Comfortable rooms, but they are looking a bit worn and could use some renovation. The staff are incredibly nice and helpful. Breakfast is top-notch. Fitness room is small but functional. Nice location on a waterway in a fairly quiet part of the City. Very easy 10 min walk to the RAI convention center, and there are some shops and a grocery store nearby. Very easy to hop on public transport and get to the city center in about 10 mins, or can walk there in about 30 mins. The Van Gogh museum is a pleasant 15 min walk.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana_SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApolloAmsterdam, Manager at Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Dear Sir,Madam,

Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam would like to thank you very much for taking the time to remark on your stay.

I am pleased to hear that you have enjoyed the location and that the staff was friendly and prepared to help you. Unfortunately the rooms did not meet up to your expectations. Currently we are in a renovation process, which means that we could not renovate all rooms at the same time. Hopefully during the next two years all rooms will be renovated.

Thank you for leaving your comment, reviews as these encourage us on continuously improving our service.

I look forward welcoming you again at Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam in one of the renovated rooms!

For the best available rate and best service please make your booking by phone: +31 (0)20 673 5922 or send us an e-mail: reservations.wyndhamapollo@apollohotelsresorts.com

Kind regards,

Peter Heule
Hotel Manager Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Element Amsterdam
#33 of 367 in Amsterdam
495 reviews
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#27 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
De Pijp
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
#32 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,280 reviews
Hilton Amsterdam
#43 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,812 reviews
Novotel Amsterdam City
#122 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Hotel Amsterdam

Property: Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Apollolaan 2, 1077 BA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#56 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#68 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#74 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#96 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Apollo Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Apollo Hotel Amsterdam is both classy and modern. Our hotel boasts a central location, in the beautiful Oud-Zuid region of Amsterdam. Stay the night or meet at a typical Dutch location, where five of Amsterdam's canals converge. Are you planning to attend a conference at the World Trade Centre Amsterdam or at the RAI? These can both easily be reached, as they are at a distance of just 1,000 metres from the hotel. During a weekend stay in the beautiful Oud-Zuid region, you will be staying at a walking distance from Amsterdam hot spots, such as De Pijp, the Albert Cuypmarkt, or you can relax in the Beatrixpark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Apollo Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing