We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Appalling service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #103 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Appalling service”
Reviewed 4 January 2013

I have literally never met a more unprofessional, rude or downright aggressive manager in my life, the room had a ventilation problem meaning we had a loud whistling noise in our room both nights, internal telephone system didn't work meaning it would have been easier to run down to the kitchen than order room service

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
5 Thank Russell J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 7 January 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. Your feedback is very important to us and I can assure you that we will use this information to improve our services.

I am really sorry to hear that there was an error in the ventilation system during your stay in the room. I have informed our Technical Department about the issue and they will make sure that the ventilation error is solved.
I take the comment about the attitude of the staff very serious and I can assure you that this will be discussed internally.

I hope that the city Amsterdam has fulfilled all your wants and needs and that you had a great stay in the heart of the city.

I do apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and we hope to may welcome you again in the near future at the Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam.

Kind regards,

Peter Heule
General Manager – Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,672 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    611
    638
    269
    94
    60
See reviews for
169
646
67
440
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kopenhagen, Denemarken
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012

I had a great weekend in Amsterdam and the choice of hotel couldn't be any better than Wyndham. These guys understand what service and hospitality is! I checked in on Friday night and was offered a great suite for a very reasonable price. The facilities were outstanding, supplemented with an amazing hotelbar. I am not completely objective, as they were serving my favorite beer on draught, Heineknen ;)

Anyways, I am often in Amsterdam and I don't see any reason to not become a regular here! Guys, I'll be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tiesschaap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 25 December 2012
Dear sir/madam,

The Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam would like to thank you very much for taking the time to remark on your stay.

I am happy to hear that the hotel did meet up to your expectations and that you enjoyed your overall stay. Also I am happy to hear that you enjoyed all our outlets and especially our bar.

I look forward welcoming you again at the Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam.

Kind regards,

Peter Heule
General Manager – Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enschede, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012

We stayed here for a single night in Amsterdam. Friendly staff at the desk, a very reasonable room. Breakfast pricing is ridiculous (just pop out to De Bakkerswinkel a couple minutes' walk away). We got a weekend bargain deal, which made value pretty good.

Still - nothing to complain about really, so I'm a happy customer :)

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dabutcha76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 25 December 2012
Dear sir/madam,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us and complimenting our hotel rooms. Your feedback is very important to us and I assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests.

I am really sorry to hear from you that you experience our breakfast as expensive. From now on I can inform you that we have breakfast specials available which can save you up to €10 per day. The breakfast special can be reserved at the reception.
I am happy to hear that the hotel did meet up to your expectations and that you enjoyed your overall stay. Also I am happy to hear that you found the staff to be very friendly.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam in the near future.

Kind regards,

Peter Heule
General Manager – Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2012

Me and the gf need to get an early flight, so decided to stay at the Apollo hotel. As it was close to trainstation. The place was verry clean and nice. Rooms where excellent. However was a but suprised about the city tax charge even after we paid in full during booking. You should really have mentioned this to us before hand. One more thing, u have a young blond reception guy that was really rude at checking in , later when I asked for bucket of ice, he was on Facebook and seemed annoyed that I was bothering him. Lucky the rest of your staff made up for his poor attitude. You bar man was verry professional and helpful

Food and bar were excellent as well, I will be staying here again and will recommend the hotel to family and friends.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stugreen88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 25 December 2012
Dear sir/madam,

The Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam would like to thank you very much for taking the time to remark on your stay.

I am happy to hear that the hotel did meet up to your expectations and that you enjoyed your overall stay.
I take the comments about the attitude of the staff very seriously and have discussed this with the team.

I do apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and we hope to may welcome you again in the near future at the Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam .

Kind regards,

Peter Heule
General Manager - Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam

I look forward welcoming you again at the Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 10 December 2012

The Wyndham hotel was a lovely hotel the service was great the staff were very friendly and helpful. Although they did charge me over a hundred euro for services I did not avail off and I am still yet to get it back and its been over three weeks since I have been home. They are saying they have not taken any money from my bank account even though A bank statement will prove they have. Apart from this the hotel was lovely

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 12 December 2012
Dear madam,

Thank you for leaving your comments regarding your recent stay at our property. Your experience at our hotel is very important to us and I can guarantee you that we will use this information to improve our services.

I understand that the error on releasing the authorization on your credit card is extreme critical. I have been informed that your father is in contact with our Accounting department and with the Front Office manager to solve this issue as soon as possible.
I really like reading your comment, that besides this issue a wonderful stay was given to you. Thank you for that.

Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you had after check out. I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam in the future.

Kind regards,

Peter Heule
General Manager – Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 December 2012

I liked how welcoming and friendly the staff we're upon arrival. (apart from the unexpected £200 deposit) but this was then explained to us. The staff we're very friendly and polite when we asked if it was okay to smoke a joint near the hotel. He sent us to a beautiful smoker-friendly area with a pond with carp and a bench very relaxing. and out of the way of any guests etc entering or leaving the hotel.
amsterdam central was around a 15-20 minute walk from the hotel if you know you're way around we seen a great amount of Amsterdam by doing this a few mornings than we would staying in a central. Or if your not a big walker a tram is 5 minutes away.
I also liked how we ran out of money on the last day and the kind it was of the fellow to give us some of our deposit back early to help us out.
Our hotel room was comfortable clean and relaxing the drinks we're expensive in the mini-bar but if your suffering amsterdam Drymouth it doesnt really matter.lol
Apart from the ridiculously expensive food and drink it was well worth the money for the accomidation.
Overall it was a great trip and i'll definetily book up here again next year.
I prefered staying here compared to the central as the walk from the hotel to the central is excellebnt along with Coffeshops, Bars Canals and great views on the way!
The wifi was a bit tricky to set up but the technical dude helped us out no problem at all.

Room Tip: Try and go for a room-upstairs with a nice view as we had a room facing the carpark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steveysteve420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 12 December 2012
Dear sir/madam,

Thank you very much for taking the time to remark on your stay.

I am happy to hear that the hotel and city met up your expectations and that you enjoyed your overall stay.
I really liked your kind words about our staff, giving you a warm welcome - providing you information what is needed and knowing your wants and needs, is very important for delivering the right service.

I look forward welcoming you again next year at the Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam.

Kind regards,

Peter Heule
General Manager – Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canvey Island, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

My wife and I spent a few days in the wonderful city of Amsterdam. We stayed at this hotel on the south of the city. we had a great break partly due to this hotel. The staff were helpful, friendly and efficient. The room was very nice and very quite even though the hotel was full. This hotel is geared up for business people as the conference center is near by. The city center is a 20 minute walk away. My wife and i enjoy walking so this was no problem. We flew in to Schipoll airport there is a shuttle bus to the hotel or you can get a train,bus, tram or a taxi. We took the train to Amsterdam Zuid (south). We only had light luggage so we walked 20 mins to the hotel but again you can take other transport to get there. We had a meal in the hotel which was excellent not cheap but you would pay double in London for a similar meal and service. We had a great time a would happily stay again in this hotel and this great city. There is a load of things to see and do. If it was good enough for John and Yoko ( they had a week in bed in the Amsterdam Hilton just down the road from the Appollo) then it's good enough for us.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 12 December 2012
Dear sir/madam,

Thank you for taking time to share your comments with us. Your experience at our hotel is very important to us.

Your kind words about the staff and the rooms are really much appreciated. It is nice to hear that the hotel met up your expectations and that you had a wonderful stay in Amsterdam.

Thank you for choosing the Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam and we are looking forward to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Peter Heule
General Manager – Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Element Amsterdam
#34 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#27 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Amsterdam
#41 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,764 reviews
Novotel Amsterdam City
#120 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,659 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Hotel Amsterdam

Property: Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Apollolaan 2, 1077 BA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#56 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#67 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#74 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#96 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Apollo Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Apollo Hotel Amsterdam is both classy and modern. Our hotel boasts a central location, in the beautiful Oud-Zuid region of Amsterdam. Stay the night or meet at a typical Dutch location, where five of Amsterdam's canals converge. Are you planning to attend a conference at the World Trade Centre Amsterdam or at the RAI? These can both easily be reached, as they are at a distance of just 1,000 metres from the hotel. During a weekend stay in the beautiful Oud-Zuid region, you will be staying at a walking distance from Amsterdam hot spots, such as De Pijp, the Albert Cuypmarkt, or you can relax in the Beatrixpark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Lastminute, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apollo Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing