We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, beware of building work!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #100 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great hotel, beware of building work!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

The hotel itself and our room were great looking, the service generally was excellent. Our one issue was with some building work that was happening during our stay. From what I understand, this was due to refurbishment that's due to be completed around February. This would have been ok but we were disappointed we weren't informed before being woken up by it at 7.00am.

The hotel has a beautiful location right on the canal front and is easily accessible by the 5 and 24 trams to Apollolaan (about 15 minutes on the tram from Central Station), making getting in and out of the city centre very quick and easy.

One last thing, we decided to treat ourselves to breakfast on our last day, it cost 45 euro! Pretty steep! But overall I would definitely recommend staying here as long as it's after the refurbishment is completed.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,638 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    599
    627
    264
    89
    59
See reviews for
165
635
64
434
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

We had a very pleasant stay, but this is a very large hotel. The part where we were was undergoing renovations, so it was very noisy (work seemed to start at 7am!) and there was damp down the corridor.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Drave1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

We booked through lastminute.com for a weekend stay for my husband's birthday. We arrived around 10pm on friday night and were both tired and hungry after working and then travelling. The receptionist was awful. No greeting or welcome. The first thing she asked for was a credit card. It had not been mentioned that this would be needed and we had paid in full in advance. I gave her my debit card but she said a credit card was required. Neither of us had one, and I reiterated that we had already paid in advance. She said that in that case they would need €200 cash. We didn't have any cash on us and she suggested we walk to the atm 10 mins away. I asked why they couldn't just use my debit card. She said that they could but didn't have the facility to refund it back onto the card when we checked out, so they would give us €200 cash. This was far from ideal as we would then have to lose money in commission getting it changed back. The receptionist got more and more rude with us. Having no other choice we had to agree. She took money from my debit card, then virtually threw a room key card at us and turned her back and walked away.
We managed to find our room and went and deposited our cases. I was quite angry but we had to return to reception as I wanted to find out if they were still serving food, arrangements for breakfast etc. There was a man at reception and they were no longer serving food and there was apparently nowhere locally. He did offer to order us a take away, which we accepted as it was nearly 11pm. We were told that there was a breakfast offer and we said we'd like to go ahead. He said we could pay in the morning.
The following morning, apparently the offer was not valid and breakfast was twice the price we had been told and we had to deal with yet another rude and unhelpful staff member. The breakfast was really very good though, lots of choice and delicious.
Our room looked newly refurbished and was lovely, spacious and spotless. It had a lovely bathroom and good facilities.
The hotel is further from the city centre than I would have liked, and there is not much nearby. The tram is a few mins walk away.
On balance I would never stay here again, the room and breakfast were good, but the service and location poor.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rjem20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

I booked and i paid online in Wyndham Apollo hotel from 24.12.2013 to 01.01.2014 with my girlfriend. When we arrived there they took my Credit Card information and they freeze Euro 250 from my account!
During my stay i made five local phone calls from the the room telephone, when i checked out they gave me a bill of Euro 112..!!!!
I didn't want to argue with them, the taxi to Airport was waiting for us. but they said we have your Credit Card information, and we'll take the Euro 112 from your account. Later on i checked it out..they took Euro 250 from my account. I called them back from the Airport, but they said NO..we took only Eu 112. i have evidence in my account, and i have also the copy of that incredible 5 phone calls i made!!

Room Tip: Don't try this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DanielBabylon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, Kent
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

The Wyndham Apollo had everything we wanted for a short break in Amsterdam; a comfy bed, a spacious bedroom, clean bathroom with decent shower and nice toiletries, TV, safe, and even a view over a small marina area, home to the local rowing club.

Check-in was very easy, and wifi access was offered before being requested - worked just fine with my rather ancient iPhone.

Breakfast offered a good choice of all the usual continental treats, from cheese to pastries, and nicely-cooked hot food, so long as you didn't mind your bacon crispy. Nice cut fruit and yoghurts, and the welcome sight of both fizzy and still water to drink.

The hotel is just a short walk from the No5/24 tram stop, which whizzes you to the museums in under 10 minutes if you don't fancy the walk. The trams sell 24hr tickets on board, which we found great value.

We arrived at rush hour in Amsterdam and decided to catch the train from the airport to Amsterdam Zuid and then a No5 tram up to the hotel, rather than travel to the Centraal station and catch a tram down. Not sure this saved us much time in the long run, but we saw a whole different part of Amsterdam, which was fun and it cost a couple of euros less!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TRNCvillaseekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
130 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Many of the hotels within walking distance to the RAI Conference and Exhibition Centre (Novotel, Holiday Inn) are not particularly wonderful. Having tried most of them we switched to the Wyndham Apollo. We were not particularly impressed. Welcome by reception staff was lukewarm. Then we were given a room which had a faulty TV - a fact of which the receptionist was well aware. She offered us free films instead, but we insisted on another room. No assistance was offered for this transfer and we had to lug our clothes and bags ourselves. One thing we noticed in both rooms and in the hallway: the tiredness of the decor. Both could do with sprucing up and were definitely a bit on the old side. The view, looking out on the water and rowing club, was very nice though. The bar area is nice and pleasantly decorated (with nice staff members), the restaurant overpriced and a tad pretentious. We've never seen a more limited and disappointed menu. The same restaurant is used for an excellent and sumptuous breakfast. Lots of choice.
Be alert: there are some steps in this area which are treacherous and badly marked. My wife hurt her knee quite badly when she missed one of these steps and fell down. Great start for two days of business in Amsterdam! Tip: pay for the hotel parking as parking on the road is even more expensive.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room on the side of the water (if there are any 'fresh' ones)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TaxiFaber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Element Amsterdam
#38 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#26 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Amsterdam
#42 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,726 reviews
Novotel Amsterdam City
#119 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,632 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Hotel Amsterdam

Property: Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Apollolaan 2, 1077 BA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#56 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#66 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#74 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#96 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Apollo Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Apollo Hotel Amsterdam is both classy and modern. Our hotel boasts a central location, in the beautiful Oud-Zuid region of Amsterdam. Stay the night or meet at a typical Dutch location, where five of Amsterdam's canals converge. Are you planning to attend a conference at the World Trade Centre Amsterdam or at the RAI? These can both easily be reached, as they are at a distance of just 1,000 metres from the hotel. During a weekend stay in the beautiful Oud-Zuid region, you will be staying at a walking distance from Amsterdam hot spots, such as De Pijp, the Albert Cuypmarkt, or you can relax in the Beatrixpark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Lastminute, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apollo Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing