We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Positive long weekend experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #105 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Finland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Positive long weekend experience”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We were a group of two couples staying in Amsterdam for a long weekend in mid May. Despite the weather being rather cold and unstable, we had a really nice three days. We did not know the hotel before, but found the service very good at every encounter. Especially the breakfast room was nicely located by the water, and the breakfast itself was great, although quite expensive.
The hotel location was pleasant, in a residential area, by the canal, but a bit away from the city centre. Tramp connection was only a few minutes walk away, however.
Our room was large enough, bathroom small, the room was quit, with a canal view, and we liked it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pekka T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,731 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    626
    662
    285
    97
    61
See reviews for
178
667
72
452
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
272 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Just returned from a City Break and stayed in this hotel and while a little out of the City in a mainly residential area it provided a welcome oasis after a day of sightseeing. Newly refurbished rooms - very large and great bathroom including tea and coffee facilities - situated by side of canal. The hotel is serviced by an excellent tram service and local restaurants and shops - also if you want a decent sleep then this is the place. Staff very nice and would return. If you want to be in the thick of things this hotel is not for you.

Room Tip: We had a canal view room 306 in a nice ground floor position
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coffeetime93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

The hotel itself and our room were great looking, the service generally was excellent. Our one issue was with some building work that was happening during our stay. From what I understand, this was due to refurbishment that's due to be completed around February. This would have been ok but we were disappointed we weren't informed before being woken up by it at 7.00am.

The hotel has a beautiful location right on the canal front and is easily accessible by the 5 and 24 trams to Apollolaan (about 15 minutes on the tram from Central Station), making getting in and out of the city centre very quick and easy.

One last thing, we decided to treat ourselves to breakfast on our last day, it cost 45 euro! Pretty steep! But overall I would definitely recommend staying here as long as it's after the refurbishment is completed.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We had a very pleasant stay, but this is a very large hotel. The part where we were was undergoing renovations, so it was very noisy (work seemed to start at 7am!) and there was damp down the corridor.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Drave1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Element Amsterdam
#31 of 368 in Amsterdam
584 reviews
Novotel Amsterdam City
#128 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre
De Pijp
Sir Albert Hotel
Sir Albert Hotel
#36 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Hotel Amsterdam

Property: Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Apollolaan 2, 1077 BA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#56 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#69 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#74 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#96 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Apollo Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Apollo Hotel Amsterdam is both classy and modern. Our hotel boasts a central location, in the beautiful Oud-Zuid region of Amsterdam. Stay the night or meet at a typical Dutch location, where five of Amsterdam's canals converge. Are you planning to attend a conference at the World Trade Centre Amsterdam or at the RAI? These can both easily be reached, as they are at a distance of just 1,000 metres from the hotel. During a weekend stay in the beautiful Oud-Zuid region, you will be staying at a walking distance from Amsterdam hot spots, such as De Pijp, the Albert Cuypmarkt, or you can relax in the Beatrixpark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Apollo Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing