We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Am I invisible???”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #112 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Been at the bar for 15min now! The young lady who is serving finally deemed me worthy of her attention; this after serving everyone else before me. Most of them did arrive later than me. Shouldn't happen at this price range; certainly.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bananaspijamas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Bananaspijamas,

Thank you for leaving your comments on Tripadvisor.

I'm distressed to learn of your dissatisfaction as we strive to fulfill and meet the needs of all our guests. I would like to offer my sincere apologies as I do agree that this should not have happened.

I will certainly take this up with the responsible restaurant manager.

Once more, I am sorry for the inconvenience.

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer- General Manager
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,774)
There are newer reviews for Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

801 - 807 of 1,774 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

I stayed here for 5 nights last week.
It was clean tidy and a lovey view over the canal where you can sit out side and eat and drink.
The rooms were clean and tidy. The hotel is not that large so you get good service from all the staff. 15 Euros and 10 minutes taxi to the city centre. 5 minutes walk to the Rai.
I will stay her again

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank martgr10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Martgr10,

Thank you so much for your nice review.

I'm delighted to read that the hotel and the staff have met your expectations.

It is nice to read that you had the chance to enjoy our lovely terrace which offers a beautiful view over the canals.

I hope to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer- General Manager
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Our stay started well and carried on in the same vein! We were given a (free) upgrade to a suite with a huge bed, to accommodate my very tall boyfriend(!), when it became apparent there were no more twin rooms available. Special view of the canals, plenty of room, clean and fresh smelling; for a coffee-phile delighted to have a Senseo coffee machine in the room, shame the water vessel was slightly broken and there was no fresh milk, just powdered, but I forgive them!
Great staff, cheerful and helpful, and super location if you are lucky enough to have a room with a canal view. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: If you can, go for a room with a canal view, worth it
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Daniela W,

First of all I would like to thank you for staying with us. I'm delighted to read your positive comments on Tripadvisor.

Also, I would like to thank you for recommending our hotel to other travelers!
I sincerely hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer- General Manager
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Stayed in this hotel for 5 days. Our room overlooked the canal and was very roomy. Three of us stayed in the room and we were comfortable. It was very quiet and peaceful. The reception area was very friendly especially Elina, who was very friendly and helpful.She has become my email adopted daughter and I have invited her to visit us in Pismo Beach, CA in the future The sea food in the restaurant was superb. We ate there everyday and ordered mussels, oysters and sashimi which were always fresh. I would have given the hotel a 5 star except they accidentally charged us a daily breakfast for 5 days which we tried to correct on our checkout. I had to report it to AMEX and they refunded us the cost of the 4 breakfasts we did not have. Otherwise, a great hotel to stay while in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the canal is wonderful. The restaurant looks over the canal too and has outside se...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariaRosen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear MariaRose,

What a pleasure to read your review of your recent stay with us. Thank you for sharing this review and for all the kind words.

I will make sure to pass on the compliments to Eline.

It is unfortunate to hear that your credit card was accidentally charged for something that should have been solved during check out. I hope now everything has been taken care of.

Once again thank you for your review and we absolutely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again. We will do our utmost to make your stay memorable in a positive manner.

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer- General Manager
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Lobby and restaurant nice. The best rooms overlook a canal area; the others overlook the parking lot with a small landscaped area, and a recreation center that stays open late. The rooms are much smaller in Amsterdam so don't expect the same type of big room the USA have but the room was clean and very quiet. The room in the middle of the hotel on the 3rd floor overlooked the entrance of the hotel and parking area with the small landscaped area but heard no cars. Met a travel tour group there for a 2 night stay; breakfast was included. The breakfast had a variety of things to choose from, no complaints since it was free. Hotel located close to a Shell convenience store that sold soft drinks/sandwiches and snacks about 4 blocks from a variety of restaurants including a Subway sandwich shop that took a credit card which was a plus. Make sure you have plenty of Euro's, ATM's are hard to find and very few restaurants will take a major credit card. All of the staff were nice and helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking canal area have a good view.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bettygeorge4462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear BettyGeorge,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us feedback regarding your recent stay at the Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam.

I am happy to hear that overall the hotel did meet up your expectations and that you enjoyed your overall stay.

The tram stop to go to the city centre is 5 minutes away from the hotel. By tram, it is a 15 minute ride to get to the city centre.

Thank you for complimenting our staff!
I do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back upon a future visit to Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer- General Manager
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Good position for this hotel but I suggest to take a bike to reach the centre. The room was clean. Free wi-fi coverage was poor maybe for the position of the room (in the corner of building). Ask the reception for the bikes and a map of the city, they are very helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raffru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Raffru,

Thank you very much for writing a review on Tripadvisor.

The hotel indeed offers rental for bikes and scooters. Renting one of these will give you the possibility to explore the city in your own tempo and on a typical Dutch way.

I do regret to hear that the WiFi coverage at your room was not as you may expect. Please feel free next time to make us aware of that.

We sincerely hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer – General Manager
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Located in the southen part of Amsterdam this would not be Your first choice for a "city trip". However are You in Amsterdam for a visit to RAI this location is perfect. Great view over the canals, friendly staff and nice rooms.
But their restaurant blew me away. It was outstanding. Having visited a number of restaurants all over Europe I have to say this is my favorite right now. Great food - like really great - good professional waiters and an very fair price. I recommend fully!
Now why only 4*? Well, room had some flares regarding cleaning and interior. Not enough to spoil the stay, but a 5* review has to be absolutely flareless.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JANHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear HM,

Thank you very much for this positive review!

I feel very honored to hear that restaurant La Sirène is your favorite restaurant after visiting a number of different restaurants in Europe. That truly is a very big compliment!

I am sorry to hear that there were some attention points in regards to the cleaning and interior.

Once more, I would like to thank you for this review!

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer – General Manager
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Element Amsterdam
#32 of 371 in Amsterdam
621 reviews
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#27 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
De Pijp
Sir Albert Hotel
Sir Albert Hotel
#36 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,366 reviews
Novotel Amsterdam City
#119 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Apollolaan 2, 1077 BA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#56 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#71 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#74 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#96 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £110 - £355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Apollo Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Apollo Hotel Amsterdam is both classy and modern. Our hotel boasts a central location, in the beautiful Oud-Zuid region of Amsterdam. Stay the night or meet at a typical Dutch location, where five of Amsterdam's canals converge. Are you planning to attend a conference at the World Trade Centre Amsterdam or at the RAI? These can both easily be reached, as they are at a distance of just 1,000 metres from the hotel. During a weekend stay in the beautiful Oud-Zuid region, you will be staying at a walking distance from Amsterdam hot spots, such as De Pijp, the Albert Cuypmarkt, or you can relax in the Beatrixpark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Lastminute, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apollo Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing