We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Totally average with a few weak spots” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apollo Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #87 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Totally average with a few weak spots”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Pretty average low speck 4 star hotel, with particularily large rooms for Amsterdam. But its the slow internet, the dirty bathroom, small beds pushed together to make a 'double' and the overpriced water that make the hotel stay a little painful. Large hotel, you'd expect higher standards.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chrisonderstall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Chrisonderstall,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Your feedback is very important to the hotel to improve our product and the service.

I am very sorry to hear that your stay did not meet up to your expectations. The handling Manager on Duty who was responsible during your stay have send you a personal e-mail to further discuss this matter.

I apologize for the inconvenience during your stay, and I hope we can restore your faith with us during your next stay at the Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer – General Manager
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,608 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    595
    613
    259
    83
    58
See reviews for
158
626
62
429
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
187 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed here on business - and I was unlucky as I fused the electric circuit in my room - although it was fixed it continued to trip and as this was overnight there weren't people around who could sort it so it rather spoilt the experience. Yet the staff did their best

However the food was fine and the breakfast and lunch choices generous and the staff who waited on our meeting rooms very helpful.

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the canal (not the car park!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HT1359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear HT1359,

Thank you for taking time to share your comments with us. Your feedback is very important to us and your information will be used to improve our service and product.
I am very sorry to hear that the electronic circuit did not work properly in your room. I will definitely discuss this with our technical department.

The staff will be informed about your compliment, that will give them a good motivation to keep up the good work.

I hope to welcome you again soon at the Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer – General Manager
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
245 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

This hotel is very nice, modern, clean, and a great location overlooking one of the many canals. The front desk staff and various concierge staff were very nice and eager to help us. This is not a downtown location, and it is not walking distance to downtown but easy to take the tram or a taxi there. The quality of the food at the restaurant was very good, and the breakfast buffet was among the best I've had in any European hotel. However... the restaurant and bar service staff were awful - took forever to get a drink and to get our dinner (the place was nearly empty), and the wait staff for the breakfast buffet was so bad - tables were not cleared off so there was no where to sit, and when we finally did get a seat we had to wait forever (or at least it felt that way) to get a pot of coffee.

Room Tip: They have rooms with a view of the canal and rooms with a street view (choose based on price).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear TheATLPrinces,

Thank you for taking the time writing a review. We are always happy to help you with all your questions and requests during your stay, we are glad you have enjoyed the service from our staff.

I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed the food which was served at the restaurant, however I am very disappointed to hear that your experience with the restaurant staff did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

I hope that we may welcome you back one day.

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer – General Manager
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Very nice hotel and super helpful staff.
The parking was 35 euros a day apart from Sunday though, not horrendous but can soon add up. I would recommend this hotel to a friend and may well book it up when I next pop over to the Dam.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Bigal6660,

Thank you very much for your nice review.

I am very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at the Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam.

The fee to park your car is in line with the parking fees in the neighborhood. The hotel offers parking for €4 per hour with a maximum of €35 per 24 hours.

It is so good to hear that you would recommend our hotel to others!

Thank you so much for your stay with us.

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer- General Manager
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guimaraes, Portugal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Excelent views the amesterdam canals.
Fantastic breakfast with delicious chocolate muffins, sublime oranje juice, excelente variety of fruit allowing the breakfast to be healthy and at the same time really enjoyable.
Very comfortable rooms and very quiet atmosphere.
I had a great time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RitaBaptista4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear RitaBapti,

What a pleasure to read your review of your recent stay with us. Thank you for sharing this review and for all the kind words.

Starting the day with a healthy breakfast is a good start of the day, especially when you have a nice view on the canals around our hotel.

I am glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us, and I hope to welcome you back very soon!

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer – General Manager
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

When we booked this hotel on line we were led to believe it was 4 star with modern rooms and high quality service. We were staying for three nights on 24 May 2014 for our wedding anniversary. On arrival we were greeted with a luxurious reception area which had all the hallmarks of a high quality hotel. We were allocated Room 20 which we then found to be on the lower ground floor. When we entered the room we were overcome with a strong stench of damp!! Not only this but the decor was shabby with badly soiled carpets. We opened the patio doors to let the smell out only to be greeted by a brick wall. When we asked for another room we were blankly told there were no other rooms available. We had to suffer three nights in this hotel room which resulted in chest and nasal problems. Overall we are very disappointed with our experience of the Wyndham Apollo Hotel. So if you do decide to stay at is hotel please avoid rooms 17 to 26 as they are no more than the Hotel's Basement!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

A good hotel, slightly outside of the center, slightly expensive and a small fitness center. The personnel is a bit cold but maybe due to the national character :-) Otherwise, the breakfast is good and the overall package can be recommended for business.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandre A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Alexandre,

The Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam would like to thank you very much for taking the time to remark on your stay.

I am very happy to read that you would recommend our hotel to other guests.
Thank you for staying with us, and I hope to welcome you back anytime.

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer- General Manager
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Element Amsterdam
#39 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#27 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Amsterdam
#42 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,674 reviews
Bilderberg Garden Hotel
#109 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,360 reviews
Novotel Amsterdam City
#117 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Hotel Amsterdam

Property: Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Apollolaan 2, 1077 BA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#56 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#59 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#74 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#96 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Apollo Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Apollo Hotel Amsterdam is both classy and modern. Our hotel boasts a central location, in the beautiful Oud-Zuid region of Amsterdam. Stay the night or meet at a typical Dutch location, where five of Amsterdam's canals converge. Are you planning to attend a conference at the World Trade Centre Amsterdam or at the RAI? These can both easily be reached, as they are at a distance of just 1,000 metres from the hotel. During a weekend stay in the beautiful Oud-Zuid region, you will be staying at a walking distance from Amsterdam hot spots, such as De Pijp, the Albert Cuypmarkt, or you can relax in the Beatrixpark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Lastminute, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Apollo Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing