We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #110 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Jan V
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,768)
There are newer reviews for Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

773 - 779 of 1,768 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

very friendly staff
quiet location with good access to public transportation
clean and comfortable rooms
gorgeous view to adjacent canal
bathtub side very high - difficult to step into - bathtub very slippery

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Lynn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Lynn A,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us feedback regarding your recent stay.

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review. We will share your lovely comment about the staff with them.

Thank you for leaving the nice comment about the view on the canal and the decoration of the general areas. The view on the canals reflects the typical Amsterdam surrounding.

Your comment about the bath tub I will discuss, to see how we can improve this.

I do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back to the Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam upon a future visit to Amsterdam.

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer – General Manager
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

4 of us stayed for 2 nights in 2 room (Saturday to Monday) Pleased we could check in 2 hours early and got given a free upgrade to a renovated room and got offered breakfast for 12.50 which we accepted for only 1 morning (Sunday) we got to are rooms to find the trouser press in one room was completely broken in half.... The Bed side light hanging off the wall and the fan in the bathroom didn't work also the shower was so noisy sounded like an air horn the hole time the shower was on and the carpet had stains on it the only view we had was a over grown rooftop of the reception. Considering it was meant to be a renovated room I wasn't impressed. Very overpriced mini bar along with the hotel bar only 11.75 for a vodka and orange. Didn't get a good night sleep as the air conditioning didn't really work and the window opened about 6 inches. The breakfast wasn't to bad but no sign if any hot water to make tea or any milk but they do put tea bags on your table. When we came to check out the lady at reception handed us a bill for over 200 euros after looking at it we had been charged for breakfast 4 times for 4 people luckily we didn't pay and it was sorted out. You have a 4 star reception not a 4 star hotel won't be staying again

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Dom B,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us.

I am really sorry to hear to the hotel did not meet up your expectations. Your clear explained comments for improving have been highly noted and are discussed and directly improved where possible.

The Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam offers different types of rooms with different views and styles. When you have checked into a room which is not meeting up your expectations we can always see if other rooms are available.

I am really sorry to hear that you are not planning to stay with us again. We do hope you will give us a new chance during your next visit to Amsterdam so we can prove this was an incident, and I would appreciate hearing your remarks in person! Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you had during your stay in our hotel.

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer – General Manager
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Took only 15 mins to walk (leisurely) to Museumplein area. situated in a nice, quiet area. Rooms very clean and bed comfy. Staff were very helpful, could hold luggage there too. Hairdryer actually quite powerful! Loved it here, no complaints.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank ARWoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear ARWoo,

Thank you for sharing your review!
It is our passion to combine the best facilities with great service in order to make successful and memorable stays possible for our guests. Thank you again for confirming that we succeeded in that.

I hope to welcome you again at the Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer – General Manager
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Of all the places we stayed during our Netherland trip, the Wyndham Apollo was the best! Large and comfortable room, very European feel. Comfortable bed. Breakfast buffet was excellent. Enjoyed dining on the deck next to the canal. Beautiful and relaxing. Staff was very helpful. Located in a very quaint and quiet neighborhood. Close to a Tram stop. One of the very best places to stay in Amsterdam!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Carol G,

Thank you so much for granting us with the maximum score.
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you once again for your comments and look forward to welcoming you back in the nearest future!

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer – General Manager
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed at the Wyndham Apollo for one night in June. Our check-in was quick, friendly and efficient, and we were upgraded for free to a bigger room. Wifi is free, but you will receive a different code for each device.

Parking is not ample, and seemingly incredibly expensive: 3.50euro an hour or £35 for 24 hours. However, Amsterdam as a whole is a very expensive place to park, so it is what it is.

Breakfast prebooked was 19.50euro. We only decided to add breakfast to our stay when checking in, and apparently, there was a special deal, meaning our breakfast was only 12.50euro per persoon. Breakfast itself was ok: the mini pancakes and sausages a bit dry, but there was plenty of choice. I'd say we were happy to pay 12.50euro; I certainly don't think it's worth 19.50euro.

Our room looked out over the lake, which was lovely. The room was very clean, modern, stylish and comfortable, with a mini fridge full of drinks, and tea and coffee facilities available. Although a personal preference matter, I found the pillows a little too soft.

All in all, a pleasant stay, in a good location (we took a taxi into town) but tram/bus is available too.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dutchess_UKNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Dutchess_UKNL,

Thank you for having taken the time to share your experience on tripadvisor.com. I really appreciate it.

Your remarks are very much appreciated. It is only with the help of our guests that we can maintain or even improve our high level of service. I take your comments as a challenge to keep striving for excellence.

It has been a pleasure to welcome you and we are looking forward to welcome you again as our guest.

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Frank v
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Element Amsterdam
#32 of 371 in Amsterdam
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#27 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,506 reviews
De Pijp
Sir Albert Hotel
Sir Albert Hotel
#36 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,366 reviews
Novotel Amsterdam City
#120 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Apollolaan 2, 1077 BA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#56 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#70 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#74 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#96 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £107 - £368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Apollo Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Apollo Hotel Amsterdam is both classy and modern. Our hotel boasts a central location, in the beautiful Oud-Zuid region of Amsterdam. Stay the night or meet at a typical Dutch location, where five of Amsterdam's canals converge. Are you planning to attend a conference at the World Trade Centre Amsterdam or at the RAI? These can both easily be reached, as they are at a distance of just 1,000 metres from the hotel. During a weekend stay in the beautiful Oud-Zuid region, you will be staying at a walking distance from Amsterdam hot spots, such as De Pijp, the Albert Cuypmarkt, or you can relax in the Beatrixpark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apollo Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing