We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small, Clean, Central”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #100 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Small, Clean, Central”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

I was in town for a conference. The location is excellent and the staff was very helpful. The rooms are typical to Europe: small, clean and quaint. But everything you need is there from desk to shower to Wi-Fi. Walking distance to the train and easy to get around central Amsterdam.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,641 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    600
    629
    264
    89
    59
See reviews for
166
636
64
435
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

For a small fee we were upgraded to an executive room (the agency booked normal room). The staff at the reception was very polite and helpful. The room was spacious and the bathroom modern, lovely view to the canals, coffee amenities in room, safe, ironing board, free WiFi, spacious ward boards. The beds are very comfortable. The breakfast was very good and the waiters very efficient. The view from the breakfast room amazing. A 10 minute walk from trams 5 and 24 that go in the center in a few stations. The biggest asset of the hotel is the concierge Jacques who was extremely helpful and polite, always ready to suggest places to go and to reserve our excursions. Would recommend this hotel without any reservations.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with view to the canals
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank countasg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Upon arrival we were upgraded to a suite, which was a real bonus. The reception staff and concierge were all very welcoming and extremely helpful. Needless to say, our accommodation was very comfortable, with a great view over the junction of the five canals right outside the window.

We were told that we could walk to all the tourist sites in the city, and we actually did. Trams are frequent and cheap, but we found so many nice little cafés and street markets by walking everywhere, it really added to the enjoyment.

Bar and restaurant are extremely comfortable and attractive, and the business centre has facilities that allow you to print off your boarding cards for the flight home, if you check in on-line.

A nice, quiet residential area, but close to some great restaurants and cafés.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Assundune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Dear sir/madam,

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review.

I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your upgrade and the beautiful view we have from our hotel.

Amsterdam has indeed a lot to see. I am glad that you have enjoyed your time in the city!

I hope to welcome you again during a next visit to Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer – General Manager
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

We only stayed one night for my birthday on the 15th. We arrived had no problems checking in, staff was lovely and polite. The room was on the 2nd floor. There is a lift for people who need it. Rooms were very clean and tidy. Beds very comfortable. Everything you need, hairdryer,toiletries,fridge,tv and tea and coffee., powdered milk in room. Nice reception area, and lovely canal views from bar and breakfast area. Breakfast was lovely with plenty of choice. Only let down was drinks was very expensive. Lovely garden outside hotel. Lovely hotel about 2 miles from the centre. No 5 tram around the corner, runs approx every 10 mins. €7.50 for 24 hours. Easy to use. Also museums and park within walking distance. Lovely tranquil hotel would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Donna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Dear mrs. Donna P,

Thank you for posting this review on Tripadvisor.
It is our passion to combine the best facilities with personalized service in order to make successful and memorable stays possible for our guests. Thank you for confirming that we succeeded in that.

I hope to welcome you in the near future!

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer – General Manager
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

We have recently come back from a 3 night stay.
The hotel does run a free collection bus from the airport, but unfortunately did not tie in with our arrival (just after lunch time) However we managed to get there from an excellent map, a short train journey and a number 5 tram. there is a 5-10 min walk from the tram stop & I am pleased we were not carrying anything heavy.
On arrival, the receptionist was friendly and helpful.
The room we had was one of the executive rooms overlooking the canal. Fabulous view! The room was very clean and spacious. The bed was bigger than a king size and very comfortable.
We did not eat at the hotel, apart from a late lunch when we arrived. Yes it was pricey, but large portions and well presented. I think if we were to have had breakfast at the hotel that would have been expensive, however we found a great coffee shop on Beethovenstrat that did nice breads & croissants etc for probably half the price of the hotel. We did want to eat in the restaurant on our last night but unfortunately the restaurant was not open - closed throughout August. ( That was my main reason for only giving 4 out of 5 stars)
Getting into the centre of Amsterdam was quick and easy using the no.5 tram. I wondered if a taxi boat might be fun or possible that would drop you off right outside in the hotel's marina?
I would have no hessitation about staying at the Wyndam again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Almond K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in August 2014. We had a double room which was very very spacious (we may have been upgraded) and bathroom very modern, clean with lovely bath. We would recommend this hotel on the quality of room, the level of cleanlinessness and proximity to the musuem quarter. The restaurant/bar also overlook a large canal which is very pleasant. What we would mark down on is that it doesn't have a lot of 'personality', is a bit naff looking on the outside and the bar had a very limited menu, and what was on offer was over-priced (salad nicoise 19 euros - very lovely, but too pricey for a salad). There is also a restuarant which we did not eat in, so choice may be better in that It's an all-round safe bet, bit far out of city centre but close to musuems, and maybe don't eat in the hotel unless you are a fan of overpriced food.

Room Tip: When we checked in the Reception told us we had been upgraded, at no extra cost. I have no idea why...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Veronica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Along with my parents, my husband and I stayed here for two nights at the end of July 2014.
The beds were ultra comfortable and we had two very restful nights. The location of the hotel at the convergence point of 5 canals, gives an amazing vantage point and views. The outdoor seating over looking the water is perfect for any meal there and evening drinks.
The breakfast buffet is just fantastic!
Staff are very approachable, helpful, friendly and always have a smile for you.
We would stay here again

Room Tip: The room we stayed in was at the top floor and at the very end. So for my Mum who has slight mobilit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashes20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Dear sir/madam,

Thank you for your review about your stay in Amsterdam. I am very happy to read you enjoyed your stay this much.

Starting the day with a healthy breakfast is a good start of the day, especially when you have a nice view on the canals around our hotel.

Your remarks are very much appreciated. I will share your feedback with the entire team.
It has been a pleasure to welcome you and we are looking forward to welcome you again as our guest!

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer – General Manager
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Element Amsterdam
#38 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#26 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Amsterdam
#42 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,729 reviews
Novotel Amsterdam City
#119 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,632 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Hotel Amsterdam

Property: Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Apollolaan 2, 1077 BA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#56 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#66 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#74 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#96 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Apollo Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Apollo Hotel Amsterdam is both classy and modern. Our hotel boasts a central location, in the beautiful Oud-Zuid region of Amsterdam. Stay the night or meet at a typical Dutch location, where five of Amsterdam's canals converge. Are you planning to attend a conference at the World Trade Centre Amsterdam or at the RAI? These can both easily be reached, as they are at a distance of just 1,000 metres from the hotel. During a weekend stay in the beautiful Oud-Zuid region, you will be staying at a walking distance from Amsterdam hot spots, such as De Pijp, the Albert Cuypmarkt, or you can relax in the Beatrixpark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Lastminute, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Agoda, TravelUp, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apollo Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing