We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, a Tribute portfolio
Ranked #109 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
3  Thank Marcel D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, a Tribute portfolio, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,830)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

735 - 741 of 1,830 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2014

Upon arriving at the Wyndham Apollo we were greeted by a very friendly and efficient staff member. We were given a room on the first floor and were very disappointed with the room. The air conditioner was broken, one of the bedside tables was severely broken, there was no ventilation in the toilet, the carpet and curtains were ripped and stained in several places and our bed sheets were dusty. We asked the reception staff if we could change rooms and as there was only a trainee at the service desk we were asked to come back at a later time. We went for a walk in the area surrounding the hotel which is very nice, and went back to the reception desk about an hour later. We were greeted by a nasty staff member who demanded to know where we had been as she had been to our room and there was no one there. She then asked what was wrong with the room and then told us that she would meet us in our room 5 minutes later so that she could inspect it. She came to our room 40 minutes later and asked us to explain what was wrong with the room. We were made to feel like we were criminals and then after explaining what was wrong for the third time, the staff member inspected the room and told us that we could change rooms the next day.

After spending the morning waiting in our hotel room, we received a call from reception saying that if we still wanted to change rooms we should go to reception with our things. When we got there, we were told that the room wasn't ready yet and that we would have to put our things in storage. We were eventually given a new room that was marginally better but still very outdated and unclean and there was half empty bottles in our minibar.

Whilst I am sure that the updated section of the hotel is very nice, I would not recommend this hotel to anyone due to the rooms we were placed in and more importantly, the way we were treated by the hotel staff. The rooms we received were definitely not that of a 4 star hotel and our treatment by the hotel staff put a huge damper on our six days in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
4  Thank Oliver G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, a Tribute portfolio, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Dear Oliver G,

Thank you so much for your constructive feedback following your stay with us at the Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam.

I can assure you that what happened during your stay is discussed amongst the front office manager and the responsible staff to prevent any new failures in our level of service in the future. I understand that this has been most inconvenient for you.
Unfortunately I have no excuse for this and agree with you that this is not the level of service we as Wyndham can accept. Wyndham strives for the best service towards our guests. For your next stay I hope we can take care of everything in a righteous way, without any mistakes and failure in service provided.

In case you have any questions or remarks, please do feel free to contact me directly at the following e-mail address: mt.wyndham@apollohotelsresorts.com. I truly hope that we will be able to provide our product and service again to you in the near future. Your loyalty and satisfaction is our main priority.

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer – General Manager
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

The Van Gogh museum is a 15 minute walk from the hotel. The train is about a 5-7min walk from the hotel. It is also close to the "I Amsterdam" (red & white) sign. Otherwise far from everything else. I was glad that it was away from the the tourist spots. Also, great little restaurants close by.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrsmill13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

I enjoyed my trip to Amsterdam. Overall the hotel stay was very good. The tubs are a little steep to come in and out, so be careful. Also, there are no washcloths if you are accustomed to using one to shower, so be sure to bring your own. Hotel staff was helpful. I would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Keyana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, a Tribute portfolio, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2014

Dear sir, madam,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. It’s great to read that you will return! That’s the biggest compliment we can get!

Please know that you can always request washcloths with our front office or housekeeping staff. We are happy to provide you these.

I hope to welcome you again in the near future!

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer – General Manager
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
5  Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 26 August 2014

I was in town for a conference. The location is excellent and the staff was very helpful. The rooms are typical to Europe: small, clean and quaint. But everything you need is there from desk to shower to Wi-Fi. Walking distance to the train and easy to get around central Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

For a small fee we were upgraded to an executive room (the agency booked normal room). The staff at the reception was very polite and helpful. The room was spacious and the bathroom modern, lovely view to the canals, coffee amenities in room, safe, ironing board, free WiFi, spacious ward boards. The beds are very comfortable. The breakfast was very good and the waiters very efficient. The view from the breakfast room amazing. A 10 minute walk from trams 5 and 24 that go in the center in a few stations. The biggest asset of the hotel is the concierge Jacques who was extremely helpful and polite, always ready to suggest places to go and to reserve our excursions. Would recommend this hotel without any reservations.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with view to the canals
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank countasg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Sir Adam Hotel
#28 of 373 in Amsterdam
323 reviews
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#27 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Element Amsterdam
#33 of 373 in Amsterdam
698 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, a Tribute portfolio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, a Tribute portfolio

Address: Apollolaan 2, 1077 BA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#68 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#74 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#96 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £94 - £330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, a Tribute portfolio 4*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Apollo Hotel Amsterdam is both classy and modern. Our hotel boasts a central location, in the beautiful Oud-Zuid region of Amsterdam. Stay the night or meet at a typical Dutch location, where five of Amsterdam's canals converge. Are you planning to attend a conference at the World Trade Centre Amsterdam or at the RAI? These can both easily be reached, as they are at a distance of just 1,000 metres from the hotel. During a weekend stay in the beautiful Oud-Zuid region, you will be staying at a walking distance from Amsterdam hot spots, such as De Pijp, the Albert Cuypmarkt, or you can relax in the Beatrixpark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, a Tribute portfolio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing