We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”
Review of The Posthoorn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Posthoorn
Ranked #24 of 335 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Mississauga
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed 18 October 2011

The Posthoorn is in a great location and Francois makes you feel at home the moment you arrive. The room was clean and the breakfasts were excellent with fresh fruit and baked goods, a great way to start any day in Amsterdam.It is in an excellent location and is within easy walking diatance of all of the major attractions.I would highly recommend the Posthoorn to anyone who is looking for an authentic stay in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Don G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    34
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
47
173
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Very nice B+B and friendly people which give a lot of information and support.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luna-Schmuck A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Sorry to write this review so late - but we stayed at the Posthoorn in June/early July 2011 and it was fantastic (just like the other reviews below) It is well situated within walking distance to Central Station, a wonderful location on the canals, the rooms are very comfortable indeed and Francios is a great host. His breakfast are superb. We will definitely try to stay there when we are next in Amsterdam

Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coquitlam, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Hello Francois.

My wife Heather and I wanted to thank you once again for your hospitality while we stayed at The Posthoorn. We enjoyed our time at your Bed and Breakfast and we enjoyed the breakfasts. We appreciated your offer to move to apartment 2 which was a real treat. The location was ideal and Amsterdam is a wonderfully walkable city. We never felt the need to use the trams.

We will recommend your Bed and Breakfast to anyone we know that is planning to visit Amsterdam.

Again, thank you very much, Dank u wel and Merci.

Heather and Michael Jones

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather_and_Michael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flagstaff, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 25 September 2011

It was a pleasure to stay at the Posthoorn B& B. Francios was welcoming and knowledgable about the sights and had excellent recommendations for restaurants. I look forward to staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FunBusiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We stayed at The Posthoorn last week and I have to say that it was even better than we anticipated. In reality the room was even better than in the pictures which is not very common. Francois is such a nice host. The location is excellent, 5 minute walk to the Ann Frank's house and 10 minute walk to Central Station. First time we stay in a B&B and we couldn't ask for a better place.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mariocrosswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emeryville, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Very friendly & knowledgeable host. Speaks excellent English & is very accomodating. I've already recommended this B&B to a friend!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilpinkbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Canal House
Canal House
#21 of 367 in Amsterdam
662 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Barangay
B&B Barangay
#6 of 335 in Amsterdam
913 reviews
Jordaan
WestViolet Bed & Breakfast
WestViolet Bed & Breakfast
#48 of 335 in Amsterdam
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordaan
Sjudoransj
Sjudoransj
#32 of 335 in Amsterdam
217 reviews
Breitner House
#11 of 335 in Amsterdam
223 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Bees B&B
Bees B&B
#9 of 335 in Amsterdam
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Posthoorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Posthoorn

Property: The Posthoorn
Address: Prinsengracht 7, 1015 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 335 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed within the fine walls of a listed historical 17th century canal house on one of Amsterdam's most picturesque canals in the heart of the city - the Prinsengracht - part of the UNESCO World Heritage, The Posthoorn Bed and Breakfast features three charming rooms which offer guests four-star luxury whilst staying in the Jordaan district. The Canal View Room, Patio Room and Hidden Church Room ooze opulent and stylish character within the pleasant atmosphere of this contemporary bed and breakfast flawlessly disguised in the old-fashioned exterior of this canal house. The history behind this interesting building dates back to 1578, during which time Catholics were refused to visit their churches so several hidden churches were built in private houses. Around 1650, one was built in the basement of what stands as The Posthoon today and if you wish the owner will be pleased to tell you the history of the house. The elegant decor of The Posthoorn is boasted throughout each and every room. The livingspaces feature a flat-screen cable TV, en-suite bathroom with under-floor heating, comfortable sofas, free wireless internet. In each room you will find a kitchenette including coffee maker, microwave and refrigerator complete with white wine, beer, orange juice, milk and mineral water. Full continental breakfast including freshly baked bread and croissants is served to guests in their room each morning. Staff aim to make guests' stay at the Posthoorn memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Posthoorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing