We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Posthoorn
Nearby Hotels
Room Mate Aitana(Amsterdam)
US$232
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$208
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
citizenM Amsterdam(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$163
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$154
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel The Exchange(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$237
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$189
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
XO Hotels Couture(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$171
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Lloyd Hotel(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$183
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$258
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
XO Hotels Park West(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$162
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Volkshotel(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$121
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (305)
Filter reviews
305 results
Traveller rating
262
36
5
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
262
36
5
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspatio roomhidden churchanne frank houseb bboiled eggsprinsengracht canalyogurteach morningnine streetssecret tunnelfridge was stockedtrain stationbreakfast was deliciouswithin walking distancejordaan areacoffee makerexcellent location
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
130 - 135 of 305 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2013

The owner of Posthoorn B&B, Francois, is very friendly & able to accommodate most requests. Stayed in room at rear of property. Nice size room, bathroom & small kitchenette with eating area. Breakfast time each morning was of our choosing. Location is excellent. Only 5 minutes walk to Anne Frank House (best to book online & weeks in advance). 15 min easy walk to main tourist shopping precinct. Jordaan precinct is directly across the canal - filled with lovely restaurants & boutiques. The "Nine Streets" walk is also near by. Allow 30-40 minute drive from airport, cost via taxi approximately €50. There is much to see & do in the area & it very easy to get to other parts of Amsterdam via taxi, foot or tram. Francois provides a hands on approach to make sure all his guests are looked after & have a positive experience in his city. We hope to visit Amsterdam again & of course stay with Francois!

Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
4  Thank ExpatAussie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2012

I stayed here with my friend and we had a lovely stay. We asked for two single beds and this was made up ready for us. From my first enquiry via email Francois was so very helpful. The information he gave us was brilliant (a better/more detailed map would have helped a little more) suggestions of places to visit and places to eat were good and he even made reservations for us (although was not impressed with the French restaurant, see my other reviews) The breakfasts that Francois served us were fresh and devine, a superb way to start the day. I would not hesitate to stay here again. The location is very good and peaceful and the room spotlessly clean. Thank you Francois for your lovely hospitality.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

As you arrive at the Poosthorn B&B, you are greeted by Francois, proprietor, owner & resident of the 2 upstairs flats with his lovely wife and 3 beautiful children. You think you are enthralled by the elegant, comfortable, easy beauty of the inn, but after a few moments you realize you have just hit gold. Francois answers every question, guides you through the intricate, historic tale of this building, which trust me, is worth learning. It is a story about liberation and a people's quest to worship / think / behave freely. That is the beginning. Then you settle into your room, equipped with wonderful coffee & tea, fall asleep in the most comfortable bed only to wake to fresh juice, meats, breads, pastries jams, rich butter - a beautiful breakfast buffet delivered to your room at your preferred time. That's right - at your choice of delivery time, not theirs. In other words, Francois & his family are beyond accommodating. This is a special place. We spent 4 nights at the Poosthorn B&B in September and have already booked a 10 day trip back in April. If you are planning a trip to The Netherlands, and to Amsterdam, please offer yourself the graceful gift of staying at the Posthoorn B&B. The prices are very reasonable, which is great, but that is not why you go. You go because you desire a sanction, a nest, a place of retreat and comfort. The Posthoorn B&B is all of these things. It was for us and we are forever grateful.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shannon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

I booked a stay based on reviews from TripAdvisor, and I was not disappointed.

We stayed in the patio room because we wanted someplace quiet and in the back of the house rather than on the street. The room was plenty spacious for two people. It was also nicely decorated and had a lot of convenient little extras - plenty of drawer space, a little entry area to keep shoes, a large sofa, and heated floors in the bathroom (much appreciated during the cold weekend we visited!) The bed was so comfortable I didn't want to get out of it, and the blackout curtains almost did us in. With regard to service, the room was cleaned each day - bed made, supplies re-stocked, towels folded, etc.

Francois was a wealth of information and was very accommodating. He gave us the history of the house, told us helpful information about the neighborhood, made suggestions for dinner, and called in our dinner reservations on a busy Friday. He was also very flexible about our crazy arrival - delayed almost seven hours! - and our very early morning departure. The breakfast he delivered was delicious and more than abundant for the two of us: several types of bread, pastries, fruit, yogurt, meats, cheeses, and eggs. Francois even kept the fridge stocked with complimentary beverages like bottled water, milk, and juice. In addition, there was coffee and tea in the room.

The location could not have been more perfect. It was within easy walking distance of central station, canal boat tours, delicious restaurants, and the Anne Frank House. But, it was far from the noise and some of the grittier aspects of Amsterdam. The area is residential - mostly beautiful canal homes - with lots of character. Both nights of our stay we walked around the neighborhood until very late, but we felt comfortable and safe.

We really enjoyed our stay at the Posthoorn, and would come back in a heartbeat. Thanks, Francois, for your hospitality!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fetaphile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

My husband & I arrived at the Posthoorn on Saturday, November 17. Our Canal Room was
ready even though we arrived before check-in time.
Our host, Francois, was there to welcome us and spent time telling us about the history of
the Posthoorn and marked a map locating suggested restaurants. As it was Saturday, he
offered to make dinner reservations for us. So thoughtful.
Everything about this cozy establishment is excellent ~ from the wonderful location to the
sumptuous breakfast Francois delivered to our room each morning at our requested time of 9 AM
Our room was spotlessly clean every evening upon our return and the refrigerator was re-stocked
every day ~ a bottle of wine, soda, beer, mineral water, juices, coffee creamers.
This was our fourth visit to Amsterdam and would never consider staying any place other than
the Posthoorn on future trips.
Kudos to Francois! He was so helpful, informative, attentive and decidedly charming!

Room Tip: the Canal Room was charming ~ bright, sunny and surprisingly quiet for being right on the street leve.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BethOlesen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews