We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel with fabulous host!”
Review of The Posthoorn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Posthoorn
Ranked #31 of 328 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel with fabulous host!”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

This hotel is a must for all travellers. Central, well equipped, very comfortable, with the most charming host, Francois. The room has a kitchenette which allows guests to make snacks and drinks. Nothing is too much trouble and we enjoyed 4 days of walks, museum visits and great food. Will be returning.

Room Tip: Back room was quiet and well provided.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yesbutnobut366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    34
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
45
169
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

My wife and I recently stayed in the Hidden Church Room. Francios the owner is the most helpful person - he greated us with a smile and and spent time to help us navigate the area. The room itself is on the lower ground floor with its own front door and steps directly onto the street. To be fair it was pretty noisy - it has all original windows which are lovely - but not great at providing sound proofing! I packed ear plugs - would suggest you do the same. The room is a good size and includes a small kitchenette. The bathroom had a modern functional shower which did the job.
The breakfast was great - delivered at a time convenient to you - fresh baked goods, eggs, cheese etc. A good start to the day.
The location is excellent - far enough away from the red light area and close enough to the nine lanes.
I would definatley stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank crookedtongues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

What more can be said about this great B&B! We booked the canal view room for 3 nights in the beginning of February. The house is situated in the perfect area. Anne frank house, the Winkel for the best apple pie, the cheese museum, many great pubs/restaurants. Francois was a great and helpful host. The breakfasts he serves were so good and filling. We had an amazing time in Amsterdam, but when we return, it will be in the summer months, to see how beautiful the city is when it's in full bloom. We will defiantly stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janakw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

In May 2013 my sister and I stayed here in the Canal View room for 5 nights. You never forget where you are...the canal, the houseboats, the bicycles, the view of the traditional buildings across the way. I concur with all the wonderful things that have been said in previous reviews. The room was small but that is to be expected in a canal house. The host, Francois, could not have been more helpful, both prior to our arrival and after we were there. The location was excellent with many restaurants nearby and easily walkable from the train station. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JDFOttawaCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We booked the Canal View room for 4 nights. We always attempt to stay at B & B's that are as good or better than home. This is it! We highly recommend The Posthoorn. Everything we would say about our stay, has been said already. We genuinely echo all the positives! We had just the most comfortable perfect stay. Francois, your commitment to making your guests feel so welcome made our stay and first visit to Amsterdam just so memorable. Thank you.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Petersueoliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lachen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
111 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

The lovely renovated B&B in one of the charming historic buildings along the Prinsengracht is located in the middle of one of the most popular parts of the city called Jordaan with many nice restaurants just around the corner. You feel immediately very welcome as your host takes his time to explain you the history of the building, discuss your plans for the next days and recommends some must do's and as well a variety of good restaurants in walking distance. The recommendations turned out to be really perfect. We had the Patio room that is rather big and fully equipped with a modern bathroom and a small kitchen. We got a rich breakfast along with unlimited tea and coffee. We can highly recommend the Posthoorn and will for sure be back with our next visit to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

A great place. We loved the room, the house, the central location (just far enough from the madding crowds of the Red Light District yet still in the picturesque heart of the city), the knowledgeable and friendly host, Francois, his ideas for things to do in and outside Amsterdam, as well as the useful, pre-arrival suggestions, the breakfasts, ... shall we go on? We run a 4-star,silver award, B&B ourselves so feel qualified to wholeheartedly recommend the Posthoorn to future visitors.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Acorns08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#25 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,121 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Canal House
Canal House
#21 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#15 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Museum Suites
Museum Suites
#5 of 328 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Barangay
B&B Barangay
#6 of 328 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Posthoorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Posthoorn

Property: The Posthoorn
Address: Prinsengracht 7, 1015 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 328 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Posthoorn 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed within the fine walls of a listed historical 17th century canal house on one of Amsterdam's most picturesque canals in the heart of the city - the Prinsengracht - part of the UNESCO World Heritage, The Posthoorn Bed and Breakfast features three charming rooms which offer guests four-star luxury whilst staying in the Jordaan district. The Canal View Room, Patio Room and Hidden Church Room ooze opulent and stylish character within the pleasant atmosphere of this contemporary bed and breakfast flawlessly disguised in the old-fashioned exterior of this canal house. The history behind this interesting building dates back to 1578, during which time Catholics were refused to visit their churches so several hidden churches were built in private houses. Around 1650, one was built in the basement of what stands as The Posthoon today and if you wish the owner will be pleased to tell you the history of the house. The elegant decor of The Posthoorn is boasted throughout each and every room. The livingspaces feature a flat-screen cable TV, en-suite bathroom with under-floor heating, comfortable sofas, free wireless internet. In each room you will find a kitchenette including coffee maker, microwave and refrigerator complete with white wine, beer, orange juice, milk and mineral water. Full continental breakfast including freshly baked bread and croissants is served to guests in their room each morning. Staff aim to make guests' stay at the Posthoorn memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your The Posthoorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing