We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint hotel”
Review of The Posthoorn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Posthoorn
Ranked #24 of 336 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Sherbrooke, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Quaint hotel”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

This place is quaint with every room different from one another. It faces a beautiful canal. However it needs some updates. The hotel is not fresh. Cost for room and especially parking is outrageous. Don't come here by car!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank World_Traveler007_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    34
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
47
174
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

A beautiful view, absolutely excellent service and food. The hotel is also in a great location, Amsterdam is a beautiful city and a hotel like this really finished the trip off for myself and the family well.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Leon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This could be the only hotel in the world where you have breakfast looking at canals while people pass by. Francois, the owner, is a gentleman who makes you feel welcome, at ease, brings fantastic breakfast every morning to your room, provides historic narratives about the house (formerly a church), gives tips about the best in Amsterdam etc etc etc.

We stayed in the lower level, with plenty of space for my wife, my daughter and I.

There is a kitchen, with fridge, sink, microwave, espresso machine and more.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank CesarRodrigues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thunder Bay
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

located in almost perfect location.The owner Francois could not have been more helpful.Everything written about this place is true.The canal view room we had may be a little bothersome for some people because of street noise,although in our case it didn't bother us(mostly people walking and talking).We walked to almost every area from the Posthoorn.The museum district we cabbed but did walk back.A great place to start off a river cruise.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ThunderBayWally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

My mom, sister, nephew and I stayed here during our European trip. Francois was a gracious host and was very helpful and accommodating during our stay. He made restaurant reservations and gave us suggestions as to where we should visit and where to eat nightly. All his suggestions were excellent choices and wonderful recommendations. It is perfectly located in the Jordaan district which is close to the Anne Frank House and all other local attractions. We appreciated him making us a taxi reservation back to the airport on our departure, which was much more reasonable being pre-booked. I would stay again at the Posthoorn and highly recommend it to others visiting Amsterdam. Thank You, Francois for making our family's European vacation enjoyable!

Room Tip: We enjoyed the "Hidden Church Room" but some might think it is small and underground. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Travel_velocity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

We had a great stay at Posthoorn. Perfect location, could not have been better. We had the canal view room which provided lots of people watching and beautiful city scenery. Francois was a gracious host and provided wonderful dinner recommendations along with reservations if needed. He also helped with information and directions for sight seeing as well as arranging transportation to the airport. The room had small frig, along with drinks,tea and coffee in the room. There was in small kitchenette which was nice for our four night stay. I would certainly stay at the Posthoorn if in the area and recommend to others for perfect Amsterdam accommodations.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bec6700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This is a beautiful place to stay in a great location. But its much more than that. Your host François is attentive and welcoming. His local knowledge massively enhanced our short stay. He really couldn't have done any more for us. The room was beautifully decorated with a superbly comfortable bed. Breakfast was fresh, tasty and filling. We'll definitely be back, we'll be recommending to everyone we know!!!!

Room Tip: Patio room was spacious, beautiful and quiet. End suite shower room and small kitchen. Has a small d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrsec33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Canal House
Canal House
#21 of 367 in Amsterdam
662 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Barangay
B&B Barangay
#6 of 336 in Amsterdam
913 reviews
Jordaan
WestViolet Bed & Breakfast
WestViolet Bed & Breakfast
#50 of 336 in Amsterdam
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordaan
Sjudoransj
Sjudoransj
#29 of 336 in Amsterdam
217 reviews
Breitner House
#15 of 336 in Amsterdam
223 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Bees B&B
Bees B&B
#9 of 336 in Amsterdam
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Posthoorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Posthoorn

Property: The Posthoorn
Address: Prinsengracht 7, 1015 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 336 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed within the fine walls of a listed historical 17th century canal house on one of Amsterdam's most picturesque canals in the heart of the city - the Prinsengracht - part of the UNESCO World Heritage, The Posthoorn Bed and Breakfast features three charming rooms which offer guests four-star luxury whilst staying in the Jordaan district. The Canal View Room, Patio Room and Hidden Church Room ooze opulent and stylish character within the pleasant atmosphere of this contemporary bed and breakfast flawlessly disguised in the old-fashioned exterior of this canal house. The history behind this interesting building dates back to 1578, during which time Catholics were refused to visit their churches so several hidden churches were built in private houses. Around 1650, one was built in the basement of what stands as The Posthoon today and if you wish the owner will be pleased to tell you the history of the house. The elegant decor of The Posthoorn is boasted throughout each and every room. The livingspaces feature a flat-screen cable TV, en-suite bathroom with under-floor heating, comfortable sofas, free wireless internet. In each room you will find a kitchenette including coffee maker, microwave and refrigerator complete with white wine, beer, orange juice, milk and mineral water. Full continental breakfast including freshly baked bread and croissants is served to guests in their room each morning. Staff aim to make guests' stay at the Posthoorn memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Posthoorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing