We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (312)
Filter reviews
312 results
Traveller rating
269
36
5
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
269
36
5
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspatio roomhidden churchanne frank houseboiled eggsyogurteach morningfridge was stockednine streetstrain stationbreakfast was deliciousjordaan districtcoffee makerbeautiful canalperfect staywithin easy walking distancemodern bathroomthe location is perfect
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 312 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2017

This was our second time at the Posthoorn having stayed here a couple of years ago. Coming back was like coming home. It is a short walk from the train station and in a wonderful, calm part of town. It is around the block from wonderful restaurants (Bleu Cafe, Prego), down the block from the Anne Frank house, and our Hidden Church Room (partially underground, having once connected through a secret passage to the Church across the way) faced the canal. Francois is a wonderful wonderful host who is extremely helpful with maps and suggestions about where to go. This time we took a trip to Utrecht (per his suggestion) which was a beautiful, quaint town. Breakfast is simple but good (fresh variety of breads, croissants, cheese, fruit, conducts, yogurt), and is brought to you each morning. Having breakfast in the room allows you to get out quickly in a place where there is so much to see and do. Location is great not just because it is close to everything, but also because it feels like you are a local in a nice neighborhood--not a foreigner in a touristy area. We love Amsterdam, and there is no question that when we return, we will stay again at the Posthoorn.

Good value, and the bed was very comfortable too.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank niceweather18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017

THE POSTHOORN is a great place in the Jordaan neighbourhood near the center of Amsterdam. The location is magnificent.
Approximately 10-15 minutes walk to the railway station, also 10-15 minutes walk to the central Dam Square, 8-10 minutes to the house of Anne Frank and to the trendy shopping area "Nine Streets."
Also I would like to note a magnificent and very authentic view from this mini hotel.

Very tasty breakfast. Special thanks to Francois for freshly baked bread and croissants and freshly squeezed juice for breakfast.
In the evening this place is very quiet and you can get a good night's sleep. Especially I note that all rooms have very comfortable beds.
We stayed in two rooms: 4 nights in "Hidden Church Room" room and 4 nights in "Patio Room".
Everywhere was very clean, shower rooms are in very good condition, a coffee machine in the rooms. In all rooms fast Wi-Fi.

"Hidden Church Room" - a place quite comfortable for three people.
In addition, with its very interesting history from the 17th century (see at the Posthoorn website),
which certainly adds to it authenticity.
"Patio Room" - a more spacious place with a patio. Very convenient and spacious for three people.

Francois is very welcoming, friendly and careful host.
He recommended restaurants, shops, tourist routes.
He also advised how it is more convenient to get somewhere,
answered all our questions, and if he didn't know something, then he specially found out about everything and then explained to us.

We highly recommend this place to everyone and will be happy to come back here next time.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LeonidK245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2017 via mobile

Beautiful room with a beautiful view, the bed was so comfy and the location was ideal. Francois was such a great host showing us things to do in Amsterdam and making sure we had everything we needed for our stay. The breakfast was delicious. We would highly recommend staying here.
Thank you very much for having us!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2017 via mobile

My girls and I stayed in the very comfortable downstairs church room. Plenty of space for the three of us for two nights or longer. Francois was fabulous in hospitality and gave us great directions and ideas on restaurants and sights. The breakfast was very more than expected with eggs, meats, fresh fruit, bread etc. the location was close to everything we needed and not too touristy. We loved staying here and can recommend it.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank suzindy317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2017

Located next to a canal in the vibrant Jordaan district this was a great B&B to stay in. Spacious and clean room (we stayed in the Patio Room) - furnished well with a great shower in he bathroom. Francois was a great host - very helpful and knowledgeable about Amsterdam. The breakfasts with fresh bread and croissants were wonderful.

Room Tip: Patio room can take a family with children.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank PaulRTaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews