We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good with a few hiccups” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bollywood Indian Restaurant

Bollywood Indian Restaurant
Reserve with
Bollywood Indian Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #470 of 3,729 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Stadsdeel Zuid
Biggar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good with a few hiccups”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

Went here a few days ago on our first night of our most recent trip to Amsterdam. Welcomed by friendly waiter, and we ordered a mixed veg platter to start, followed by a lamb tikka bhuna, lamb rogan josh, a rice and a nan bread.
Starters arrived and were really good, very fresh tasting although some more sauce with them would have been welcome. Just as we finished all the lights went out. It didn't affect the power in kitchen so the main course was brought, but for the rest of the night we had to eat by candle light. The staff were understandably a bit distracted and the rest of the service wasn't quite the same, and I would have thought perhaps a drink on the house etc might have been given, but all the food was very good, although the heating had obviously been affected as it got decidedly chilly by the end of the meal. I would visit again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elscodobermann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    57
    20
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hoorn, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Yesterday we had a delicious diner at this restaurant, good food, good service! We will definitely come back here!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lower Hutt, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great indian food, bit pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

In a central location in Leidseplein - away from the hustle and bustle of the Main city area. This place is very large and modern. Was almost empty when we went in (Monday night) with only one other group. Has 2 levels also with tables upstairs. The service was good and attentive. The food was delicious!! Normally I get unusual things, but this time I just had butter chicken, which was awesome. My partner had Palak Paneer which she said was also good. They give you complimentary poppadums as well. Prices are pretty steep (for us) at 16-18 euro per curry, which comes with rice and a small salad. For us this is about $30, a lot more than we would pay at home for an indian meal. Also be aware that the special menu on the little blackboards out the front is a seperate menu and you are limited in the choices you get if you order off that menu. Overall excellent food, but a little expensive. Would recommend if you like a good authentic Indian meal.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rory S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Surprised to find a delicious Indian food at touristic area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Restaurants at touristic areas such as the Leidseplein mostly has no quality ...But surprisingly the Bollywood was one of the best Indian food restaurant not only in Amsterdam but maybe in Europe,if you stay longer time in Amsterdam sure you will go twice ...

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kamal O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Exceptionally clean restaurant in the heart of the Leidseplein Sqaure area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

This was our second visit separated by 16 months from our first and we were just as impressed! Nice variety of dishes but their Lamb and Chicken tikkas seem to be their best and house specialties. Friendly staff with good English. Very modern décor while lively Bollywood music videos play on the flat screens. The value was excellent considering the quality and price of other nearby tourist restaurants. 17 or 20 Euros for a Chicken or Lamb tikka and worth every penny.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank caribbeanlovers10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bollywood Indian Restaurant also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Bollywood Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing