We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Informative and well-paced”

Amsterdam in World War II Walking Tour
Ranked #3 of 353 Tours in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Learn about the terrible experiences of Amsterdam during the Nazi occupation of World War Two, visit the famous sites of the Golden Age. We also offer tailor made family tours. A must for those with a passion for History. For details and bookings go to our website.
Hartford, WI
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Informative and well-paced”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Our group of four, my mother (65), daughter (17), husband (53), and myself (44) really enjoyed this walking tour. Even with such a wide range of ages each of us enjoyed the tour. Peter was informative and kept the tour well-paced. Even the stop for the hot chocolate and restroom break was well placed at the appropriate place during the tour.

Not only did we appreciate the dialogue with Peter, we appreciated looking at the sights and then seeing the historical pictures of the same area that he brought along. Peter is definitely passionate about history. That passion was passed on to each of the attendees, which was appreciated. This isn't just a 'job' to him, it is his what he loves to do! Highly recommended if you are visiting Amsterdam.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jwachs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    874
    35
    2
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“So interesting!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We took this tour as a last minute addition to our stay in Amsterdam, and are so glad we did. Peter our guide was knowledgable, genuine and passionate about not just the WW II, but the history of the city in general. He made a point of getting to know each member of our group (there were only 4 of us which was awesome) and welcomed questions and comments along the way.
This tour is a great way to see a different side of the city. But prepare yourselves- it's a heavy subject matter, and certainly an important one.
Thanks Peter! I'll be recommending this tour to everyone.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hayley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Vega, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
“Great tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Attended the walking tour, our guide was Ben. The size of the group was 7 people which was perfect! Tour was extremely informative and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Tour does not end where it begins, however did not struggle to find our way back.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“History worth knowing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Ben de Jong was our guide. He was fantastic! One of the best things we did in Amsterdam. Ben kept the tour informative, entertaining, and fascinating -- such a sad part of history. Our family of six consisted of three boys ages 17, 19, and 20. Ben kept the boys, as well as the adults, engaged for 3 hours! Ben's level of knowledge was impressive. He told stories that helped painted pictures in your mind of the horror and atrocities of that time. Even though he had so much he wanted to share (in a limited time), he graciously answered all our questions and engaged us in some contemplation. It was obvious Ben could have shared for three more hours and we would have gladly joined him for those hours. Worth the price!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank KSaenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohio45107
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“This walking tour more than met my expectations!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

I just returned from Amsterdam having traveled with 8 other friends. One of them booked this tour for us and I thought it would be more information just about the war. There was some of that, however, Peter pointed out other sites around the city. Most of the tour was more about the Dutch Jews and others, and the atrocities the Nazis inflicted upon them. He made that aspect more real than ever before to me. He personalized the tour with many
References to things his mother had told him of her personal experiences of the war. I would highly recommend this tour.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ohio45107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Amsterdam in World War II Walking Tour also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Amsterdam in World War II Walking Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing