We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Out of the Way Find”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Buffet Van Odette

Buffet Van Odette
Ranked #335 of 3,767 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: US$15 - US$50
Cuisines: Dutch, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, View, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Buffet van Odette is located on a nice and light spot right on the canal. We are open from 10 in the mornig for breakfast, lunch and diner. We use mainly authentic, organic and local product in our kitchen. Our Bocca-coffee is delicious and Direct Trade (even better than Fair Trade)!
Finger Lakes, New York
Level Contributor
334 reviews
226 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“An Out of the Way Find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

Having just come off one of the canal boats and in transit to the Rijksmuseum, we needed a place to sit and have lunch. Passing a few places as not looking appealing, we settled on this place. What a pleasant surprise. It did take awhile for the waitress to assist, but once she got started, she was most helpful. The food was very good. The house white wine was perfect for our meal. Coffee afterward was strong and hot. We would definitely go back there.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tommy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    183
    46
    21
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food and good lunch specials!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

Ate here twice because the food was so good and it was close to our apartement. Great food and nice atmosphere!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DanP708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very nice food, mixed reviews of staff.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

Our overall impression was quite good but there were a few things that made the visit slightly less enjoyable.

The food was really good, they have a reduced main course menu but what they do sell is very nice. However for the price I would have expected a slightly bigger piece of steak (mine was 3 inches x 3 inches) but the sauce was truly amazing! Another concern was the way that we were packed into the restaurant. We (party of 2) were put on a 6 person table which 5 other people then joined. In itself this was not an issue but because of the positioning of the tables my wife literally couldn't get out from behind our table and our table had to be pulled right out for her to leave the restaurant.

Our waiter was very friendly but we found it quite bizarre when the staff bought out 2 of the 5 courses of the table next to us, before bringing the other 3 five minutes later.

Overall it was a nice enough meal and experience but with so much choice and competition in Amsterdam it's sad that such easy to fix issues would still be prevalent.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JWaldock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
335 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Good Lunch Place But Service Rude”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

We were exhausted after a museum and looking for a lunch place when we came upon this place. The wait was thirty minutes. We waited. The tables are cramped together and the female server was very slow and rude. We asked about gluten free choices and got attitude. You are pretty much out of luck with those types of questions here. Also, they run out of a lot of menu options quickly. My daughter had an okay tomato soup and I violated my gluten free diet and ate an okay spinach quiche. The men were more happy with their lunches. The toilet here is teensy. Nevertheless, considering the awful meals we had at other places I am forced to give this one three stars.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank misanthropicdreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
180 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“The best lunch in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

We chose this restaurant at the recommendation of our canal boat tour captain. It was on the Prinsengracht canal. We sat outside facing the canal. The food was very much farm to table. I had a spinach quiche with goat cheese that was fabulous! We spent eight days in Amsterdam and this was my most memorable meal.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ARretired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Buffet Van Odette also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Buffet Van Odette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing