We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious meal in lovely atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Buffet Van Odette

Buffet Van Odette
Ranked #356 of 3,763 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: US$15 - US$50
Cuisines: Dutch, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, View, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Buffet van Odette is located on a nice and light spot right on the canal. We are open from 10 in the mornig for breakfast, lunch and diner. We use mainly authentic, organic and local product in our kitchen. Our Bocca-coffee is delicious and Direct Trade (even better than Fair Trade)!
Decatur, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delicious meal in lovely atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

My cousins and I lucked upon this restaurant as it was near our hotel. We enjoyed our first meal so much that we returned for a second, something we don't normally do. I enjoyed everything I ordered-- a lovely steamed artichoke with creamy dipping sauce, a delicious smoked salmon with lentils and one of the best desserts I've ever had-- sticky toffee cake with vanilla ice cream. The service was exceptional one night and just ok the second but no matter, the food and atmosphere were fantastic.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    183
    46
    21
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A great meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Have to recommend, 9 of us went tonight and all of us had great food. Comfortably atmosphere and highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Justin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Great meal and good service. Ambience supurb. Lovely location on the canal. Only negative we had shrimps and mussels in Harissa and the mussels a bit on the small side. Reasonably priced.

Lynne and Peter Australia

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Odette and Yvette - Simple Cooking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We picked this place from the Lonely Planet guide and were not disappointed. Its not a buffet but an interesting cafe near the canal with a warm feel and food that is prepared with heart. It attracts many locals plus blowins like us from out of town so book if you can. Its good value and has what I call the local feel. Recommended!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TrumanWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
135 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Canal view and organic fabulous food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

My Dutch friend recommended this little gem and everything was incredible; the setting and the food. This was also one of the few places in Amsterdam that had great herb tea (not the gross Lipton bag tea that is all you can find everywhere else). The carrot and chocolate cake aren divine.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank SwedishVagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Buffet Van Odette also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Buffet Van Odette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing