We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a perfect location to explore the city”
Review of Mauro Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mauro Mansion
Ranked #3 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Flanders
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“a perfect location to explore the city”
Reviewed 14 March 2011

I just spent 3 nights in Mauro Mansion in Amsterdam with my wife and we were very pleasantly surprised. Perfectly located in the city centre (very close to the Central rail station), it is a welcome change from the big hotel chains that all look the same. Here, your really feel like your on a special trip. it makes you want to stay longer (or come back soon)!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OstendTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,050 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    891
    142
    15
    2
    0
See reviews for
53
768
48
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2011

This hotel had very high ratings. We stayed one night in the bricks room. It was better than expected. Fantastic hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pekingeserescue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enschede, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 10 March 2011

I never typically take the time to write reviews, but my stay at the Mauro Mansion was probably one of my best hotel experiences. We spent roughly 2 weeks here, with a portion used as our "base station" when we traveled to a few other cities. I have to say hotels in Paris and in Rome didn't match everything that we got here. It's just done right. The little details are taken care of and thought about. It's how a hotel should be, but somehow people forgot or it got lost with the larger chains. If you're looking for a loud party zone, or stuffy 5 star atmosphere this isn't the place, but if you cherish just the right amount of extravagance mixed with comfort and amazing hosts this is the spot. No really.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacobwjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2011

We just got back from Mauro Mansion. Being a regular visitor to Amsterdam over the years I was excited to see the Tripadvisor reviews on this place and it certainly lived up to expectations.

Berry and Marcel were lovely hosts, we both loved the fact the service was always there, but was very unobtrusive. Our room was on the first floor with a view onto the canal. it was spacious, comfortable and, for a street facing room, pretty quiet. The bed was comfortable and we slept well for our 3 nights there. Our only niggle was the mosquito net over the bed - it was impossible to tie back fully and kept falling onto us when we were chilling out watching TV. But that's it - the only niggle - hardly major.

It's location not far from the train station means there is a little noise from the trains, but not enough to disturb. The location is spot on - just a short stroll from the madness of Dam Square and the red light district, but not close enough to feel engulfed by it. It's also easy walking distance to the Jordaan and Niewmarkt areas.

Breakfasts were good (those little pancakes were delightful), and there is free coffee from the machine whenever you want, as well as a kettle and (stocked) fridge in the room. It's not a place for small children - lots of steep stairs/breakable objects, but for couples or families with older children, it's ideal.

We'll certainly be back when we go back to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2011

I booked this Hotel as a special stay for my Fiancee's 40th as we wanted somewhere small and intimate but with style. I could not have got it more right! Both Berry and Marcel are the perfect hosts and did everything to make our stay very special. On arrival there were beautiful flowers in the room and a complimentary bottle on bubbly in the fridge to set the mood perfectly. We could not fault the room which was on the ground floor overlooking the canal. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom a good size with underfoor heating and a seprate shower and bath - perfect! The breakfast was held in the back room which still had the original beams from the 16th century and was tastefully decorated with vintage tables and chairs. The food was always good quality with fresh meat's and cheese's with bread so fresh that they were still warm when you cut them. With excellent Tea and Coffee as well what more could you ask for. Mauro Mansion runs an "Honesty Bar" which is a great idea as they do not charge stupid money for the beer, wine and snacks that other Hotels do and with your mini bar in the room being complimentory for the initial stock in there this made for a cheap way to have a few drinks before you went out. I could go on forever about how good this hotel is but I will let you find out for yourselves. Do not stay anywhere else in Amsterdam unless you crave for the multi-national chain hotel with cardboard service! Simply the best!
Shelly and Sean

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RetroRovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2011

This is a wonderful hotel/bed n breakfast type place. Very secure and convenient to "old Amsterdam". Wonderfully large rooms & bathrooms by European standards (and American too). Great breakfast in the morning to start your day of exploring off correctly!
I'd stay here again and again every time I came back to Amsterdam...without question.
Owners/staff very accommadating with ALL requests.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris97975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2011

Fabulous. Cosy. Stylish. Delicious. Simply perfect.

I never write reviews but I am compelled to this time!

We stayed here just before Christmas for three nights and the owners were hugely helpful with all the travel disruption that the snow brought! The room was a fantastic size with a lush view of the canal - the heated bathroom floor was a very welcome feature too! Loved the complimentary mini-bar and the honesty bar is a super idea - would use this more if I am lucky enough to return! Thank you to the owners for making the trip so relaxed and welcoming, even down to asking what music we would like to listen to at breakfast. The warm bread, fresh tea and juices and added treats like pancakes and fresh fruit cocktails at breakfast were so delicious and kept us going for most of the day.

The location was perfect - almost everything in walking distance and central station just 5mins walk - ideal for airport transfers. Helpfully, you can buy excursion tickets from the owners at the hotel and they kindly pointed all the sites out on a map for us on arrival to help get our bearings.

Can't wait to go back - most relaxing and enjoyable city trip I have ever had the pleasure of enjoying. A BIG thank you... we hope to enjoy another stay very, very soon :)

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lozlily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,584 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#6 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,406 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,051 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#9 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,703 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mauro Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mauro Mansion

Property: Mauro Mansion
Address: Geldersekade 16, 1012 BH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mauro is a relaxed, romantic and quirky 9-room hotel, situated in a classic 16th century canal house right in the middle of the historical centre. You will find yourself between 2 former medieval city gates, a unique spot to start exploring Amsterdam. Please be advised that we are not suitable for children andor any parties larger then 5 persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mauro Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mauro Mansion Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing