We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect start to our 3 week honeymoon in Europe”
Review of Mauro Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mauro Mansion
Ranked #3 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect start to our 3 week honeymoon in Europe”
Reviewed 24 April 2011

After our flight(s) from Chicago, and train ride from the airport to the Central Station, we arrived to a very busy Amsterdam. Thankfully, it was only a short walk to the hotel. Upon arrival, we were greeted by Berry. We immediately felt welcomed; the atmosphere & feel of the hotel was very relaxed. The room was cool... decorated with an old-school barber chair, a desk with a chair, a flat screen TV, and a canopy netting over the bed. The bathroom was great! (We were a little worried about the room sizes/bathrooms heading to Europe, but we were 1 for 1 with this place) Also, rose petals on the bed, a small bottle of wine, and a postcard signed by both Berry & Marcel, were really loved by my wife, and was just one example of the attention they seemed to give all of their guests. This coupled with the awesome breakfast (including home made crepes one morning), really make this place feel like a bed & breakfast, which we really enjoyed!

The location was perfect. It was close to the Central Station, right around the corner from the Red Light District, yet on a quiet street across from a canal, that was nice to come home to every night after running around all day. The hotel was very clean & very secure, which was definitely important coming to another country. Another thing that made this trip to Amsterdam awesome, were the recommendations coming from Berry & Marcel. The places they suggested for lunch & dinner were PERFECT!

So, I would highly recommend this hotel. The #1 ranking is definitely justified. We spent 3 nights in Amsterdam, which seemed like enough, however, we would have loved to stay longer, and would definitely stay again if we ever return, in the Mauro Mansion. Thanks Berry & Marcel!
Jeff & Casey

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jkcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,037 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    880
    140
    15
    2
    0
See reviews for
52
760
47
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2011

My husband and I just returned from our trip to Europe. We stayed 4 nights in Amsterdam at the Mauro Mansion. I decided to book the hotel after reading all of the great comments on trip advisor. I can't imagine there being any better place to stay in Amsterdam. It feels more like staying at a friends house then staying in a hotel. They have a good selection of nutritious breakfast items to choose from in the mornings. The hotel is in a great location that is close to everything but on a quiet street. There are several good places to eat close by. They put yummy chocolates on your pillow everyday. They also stock the fridge in your room with several drinks that are there as your welcome gifts. We stayed in one of the rooms at the front next to the canal and it was very quiet. No problems with noise at all. Barry and Marcel are very friendly and always seem happy to answer any questions. Absolutely loved staying here and will definitely stay again the next time I'm in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMartW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2011

Hotel is five minutes walk from Amsterdam Centraal (look out for the pushbikes!) and tram and metro stops. Very warm greeting from owners. Our room was clean, quirky with a lovely view of one of the many canals. Complementary mini bar (not re-stocked)was a bonus and we loved drinking our bottle of Prosecco looking out on the canal one night. Breakfast was between 9.00 and 11.00, although they were happy to accommodate us at 8.00am one morning when we wanted an earlier start. They were also happy to recommend a restaurant for us and managed to reserve us a table during a very busy period, which we don't think we could have done ourselves. Would not hesitate in booking again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenatHastings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonn, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 5 April 2011

everything was perfect : very close to the station, small and lovely hotel, very clean, good breakfast, nice rooms, perfect destination so you can start with your discovery and not to forget the owners : lovely, helpful, funny, had good conversations in the evening and morning...my hotel in amsterdam for my next visits.....

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikandeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2011

The reviews are definitely right and I am sooo glad that we went with Tripadvisor. Like others have mentioned, this is definitely more than a B&B. It feels like your home away from home. Our hosts Berry & Marcel were wonderful. When you first walk into the place, it reminded us of a trendy Brooklyn/NY type of a loft place. They have impeccable taste in designing this place. Our room had the antique barber chair in it and it faced the canal, what more can one ask for? Bed was super comfortable (which is a plus).

They also have a lobby/living room area where you can get your daily breakfast (which was absolutely fresh and delicious) and sip on your cappuccino. They also offer dvd's/cd's in the lobby as well as books/travel brochures, etc. Location is superb because it is a 3 minute walk from the main train station (Central) where you most likely would get off and also is a major tram stop. And it is located right in the heart of it all but the street that it is on is nice and quiet for when you have to relax.

We cannot wait to come back! Highly Highly recommend. Thank you Berry & Marcel!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cinnabun1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannover, Deutschland
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2011

I had a great stay in Amsterdam in Mauros Mansion, so it's the first time I feel the need to write somthing about the hotel. Lovely, friendly persons, very clean rooms and really good service. Every morning something special for breakfast, good coffee for different tasts. Different drinks in the room for free, also there was the posibility of boiling water and have coffee and tee in the room. If I ever go to Amsterdam again, I know where to stay. Thank you!!!!!!!!!!!!! I'll never forget those days at Mauros Mansion......................................................................................................................................

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trallala27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
350 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2011

Located in a Canal House a few blocks from Central Station this small establishment is more of a B&B than a hotel. The owners are very gracious and helpful. The rooms are large and comfortable. Since we visited in the winter, the heated towel rack and heated bathroom floor tiles were much appreciated.

Location is great.

If you prefer a big hotel experience this is probably not the place for you, but if you want something small and welcoming, you will like Mauro Mansion.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrJoelB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,553 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#6 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,388 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 367 in Amsterdam
992 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,101 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 367 in Amsterdam
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mauro Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mauro Mansion

Property: Mauro Mansion
Address: Geldersekade 16, 1012 BH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#28 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mauro is a relaxed, romantic and quirky 9-room hotel, situated in a classic 16th century canal house right in the middle of the historical centre. You will find yourself between 2 former medieval city gates, a unique spot to start exploring Amsterdam. Please be advised that we are not suitable for children andor any parties larger then 5 persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mauro Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mauro Mansion Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing