We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay!”
Review of Mauro Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mauro Mansion
Ranked #3 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2011

Mauro Mansion is located in the Central Station area, near to the city center. Rooms with fancy design (Courtyard room : with barber chair and whirlpool), spacious and clean!
TV with DVD player and several DVDs available in the lounge on the ground floor.
Charming welcome by the hosts; tasty quality-breakfast ; coffee-to-go available.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CureGourmande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,057)
There are newer reviews for Mauro Mansion
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

761 - 767 of 1,057 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2011

We stayed at Mauro Mansion for 3 nights on our honeymoon. It was our splurge for our 8 week trip but it was well worth it! We had a canal room which was definitely worth the extra cost as we loved sitting and people watching from our room. Our room was so unique with 4 different types of wallpaper decorated in Mauro Mansion's colour theme of black, red, grey and white. The furniture and decorations were all carefully chosen with every little detail attended to. The owners Berry and Marcel have put so much work into making the hotel a relaxing and luxurious place to be we really did not want to leave!

The room was quite large with a lovely comfortable bed with quality linen and a nicely decorated bathroom with large deep bath. Quality bathroom products were supplied too. Everything was spotlessly clean and well looked after.

Each morning we had breakfast downstairs in the lovely sunny breakfast room. All the items available for breakfast were fresh and again carefully chosen. We enjoyed fresh juice, freshly baked bread, cheese, meats, yogurt, cereals and fresh fruit. Each morning the boys have a surprise special item to go with breakfast too which we looked forward to! Coffee and tea is available all day in the breakfast room which you can help yourself.

Marcel and Berry were very helpful in suggesting places to eat dinner and both places we tried were delicious! We were welcomed on arrival with a bottle of wine to enjoy plus some softdrinks, beer and juice in our room. There is also an honesty bar downstairs with lots of food & drinks to purchase.

We were staying at the hotel when Marcel and Berry celebrated Mauro's 1st birthday - congratulations guys - here's to many more and we hope to return again one day.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra to be on the canal
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank josii11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

Mauro Mansion is a darling, tiny hotel in the heart of Amsterdam. It was so easy to get around and walk to most of our to do list. The staff was extremely helpful with suggestions, reservations, sights,n planning for the weather, etc. They made our visit memorable.
Best breakfast anywhere.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bbwilletslp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

Everything everyone has raved about is true: super clean, nice location, honor bar, mini bar stocked with drinks, tea kettle in room, fresh flowers on nightstand, nice breakfast, funky decor, luggage transported up and down the stairs, etc. BUT.... I found Berry and Marcel more formal than friendly. Maybe it was just my perception and I don't view it as a negative, but I was expecting something different.

We would definitely stay here again and would recommend it without hesitation to all.

Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 26West
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

We loved our time at mauromansion...the room was magic and quiet.location excellent and the breakfasts to die for..we love healthy food breads and juices..all provided generously and with a sensible time for breakfast 9 to 11 and for stragglers like us you could still be eating nearer noon. As for the honesty bar! Such consideration.they also advised us of some divine eating places such as lastage, on the other side of our canal.DEserves to be number 1 in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leefini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2011

We stayed at Mauro Mansion for one night. The room was basic and clean, I was a bit underwhelmed because of the super glowing reviews... it reminded us of the Ace Hotel, which is a budget, cool, funky place. This is more expensive than the Ace so I would really expect a bit more for the price... but anyway, the issue that came up was that we were awoken at 8 am by extremely loud construction near our window. They deducted half off our bill for this - that was appreciated and helped make up for it - I consider that good customer service. They also carried our bags up and down the stairs, which we were grateful for. Lastly, the breakfast was also underwhelming - I eat mostly organic and healthy food, and the yogurts were all the 'sugary' kind, no plain yogurt, and the fruit selection could have been better. Great, fresh bread was a nice touch.

Overall, not bad, as long as you don't have the construction next door (not their fault!).

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Global_Nomadista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

My husband & I stayed here for a couple of days for my 40 th. We could not of asked for more. The hotel was situated perfectly, close to station and quite central for all else. Berry and Marcel made us very welvome, it was like a quaint home from home. The rooms were clean, quirky and very comfortable. We would both thoroughly recommend it. Lastly please visit restaurant recommend to us by Berry & Marcel , The Lastage, it was beautiful.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kaz087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,608 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,322 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#6 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,091 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#9 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,744 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mauro Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mauro Mansion

Address: Geldersekade 16, 1012 BH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#5 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £91 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mauro is a relaxed, romantic and quirky 9-room hotel, situated in a classic 16th century canal house right in the middle of the historical centre. You will find yourself between 2 former medieval city gates, a unique spot to start exploring Amsterdam. Please be advised that we are not suitable for children andor any parties larger then 5 persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mauro Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mauro Mansion Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing