We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect place to experience old Amsterdam from!”
Review of Mauro Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mauro Mansion
Ranked #3 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Perfect place to experience old Amsterdam from!”
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Literally a quick walk from the train station (you don't need a cab unless you're hauling steamer trunks - which to be clear I don't travel lightly and I didn't mind the walk at all!)

From the moment we arrived until the moment we left, Marcel and Berry were the perfect hosts. We often read the welcome guest information package and I was delighted that they included a statement about their important relationship with their LOCAL suppliers (it truly is what builds a strong community) - in addition to that a statement was made about the simple but very nutritious breakfast they provided and this is where if you pay attention to the fine details you will be surprised every morning at breakfast by some creation Marcel has put together to add to what you've already chosen (I'll leave it as a surprise because no two days were the same for us)

Our room was #23 - absolutely immaculate and the deep tub was to die for after a day out walking about. (see my review of Sandeman's walking tours - the perfect start for your stay)

If you're looking to experience all that was and is Amsterdam - this is the place to stay at!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Webbedfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,008 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    858
    133
    15
    2
    0
See reviews for
50
739
47
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex, England
Level Contributor
100 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Just back from a great trip to Amsterdam made particularly pleasant by our 4 night stay at Mauro Mansion. We booked as a result of all the positive reviews already posted about this place and were so glad that we did. We'd visited Amsterdam for the first time in April this year and stayed in a large, so called '4 star' hotel which was pretty disappointing considering the cost, and it really wasn't a patch on staying at Mauro. We definitely preferred the small boutique hotel/bed and breakfast feel you get at Mauro and everyone who says that the owners - Marcel and Berry - are friendly and very helpful are spot on. Although they're not 'in your face' friendly, they do strike a great balance between being extremely courteous,polite and welcoming whilst leaving their guests to get on with their holiday, respecting privacy and in our case, a desire for peace and quiet. They're a very organised pair who are extremely efficient and happy to do anything to help their guests. Whilst there, we asked for recommendations for dinner and help with printing museum tickets - in both cases they were happy to oblige.

THE POSITIVES:

The whole place is spotlessly clean and tastefully furnished (with a quirky twist - check out the iron-work in the rooms! A reminder to guests of the hotel's very 'interesting' past - we did some internet research as our niavity caused us to puzzle over the purpose of the ladder in our room!!).

Very comfortable king size bed with separate duvets (a real PLUS for us as we have separate duvets at home and would recommend this to any couple - it definitely ensures a good night's rest and stops all those middle of the night fights for the sheets!). We've never stayed in a hotel that provides separate duvets before so thumbs up to Mauro for doing so! We slept pretty well.

In-room tea and coffee making facilities - restocked every day ( although only powdered creamer provided so buy your own milk and keep it in your fridge if you prefer it with your tea)

A fridge full of welcome drinks in each room (included in the room rate) - what a breath of fresh air - why don't all hotels do this? It makes the world of difference. Additional drinks (and a wide range of snacks) could be purchased from an 'honesty bar' in the downstairs breakfast room at very reasonable costs - a really nice touch.

A hairdryer in the room - v helpful

A room safe (pretty small though - not quite big enough to house an ipad!) - fine for passports, cash, tickets, jewellery, etc

A desk and seating area - this made the room feel really spacious - great since most hotel rooms in Amsterdam are so tiny that they are prone to induce claustophobia!

Free wi-fi - brilliant - so rare in other hotels

Spacious, super-clean bathroom with separate bath (jacuzzi) and large shower area - stocked with fluffy towels and lovely Rituals products (restocked every day)

Blackout blind on the window

TV and DVD player in each room (with a huge selection of DVDs that can be borrowed from the breakfast room - free of charge)

Great self-selection breakfasts each day (continental not cooked - breads, meats, cheeses, jams, spreads, juices, teas, coffee, cereal, yoghurt,etc and in addition, a freshly prepared 'treat' made and presented each morning by Marcel - a very nice touch). Certainly plenty to eat to keep guests going until lunch time.

Light and airy breakfast room - always with fresh flowers on the tables and cloth napkins - it sounds silly, but these little touches make all the difference to us!

And now just a few niggly things that if they were improved our stay would have been totally perfect . . . .

No ironing facilities in the room - the owners will happily lend guests an iron and a board, but they do request that both are returned after each use - this was a bit of a pain for us,since we like to iron our clothes each morning before we dress. So we had to ask for the iron each day and carry it up three flights of stairs each time - this was a bit annoying. It wouldn't take much to put irons and boards in each room would it? Or at least have a couple of irons and boards per floor for guests to use.

The walls were pretty thin so we were disturbed a few times one particular night by kitchen noises (there seemed to be apartments above and to the side of our room?) and other guests coming in late and talking loudly next door, etc - this is hardly anything to complain about though - you can't expect silence in a hotel! On the whole it was fairly quiet and we slept pretty well. We were in Room 34 which is supposedly one of the quieter rooms - I think the rooms at the front of the hotel (with canal view) well may have been pretty noisy compared.

Mauro Mansion is on quite a busy little side road (although other reviewers have said that Mauro is on a quiet road?? Perhaps being there during August - the height of the season meant that there was a lot more traffic around than usual?) - every time we stepped out of the front door it seemed that we had to dodge a constant stream of taxis, cars, bikes, lorries and delivery vans who were trying to squeeze down the narrow canal side. This didn't bother us too much but you do need to have your wits about you - however, no different to the rest of Amsterdam when it comes to negotiating traffic!

ON THE WHOLE THOUGH OUR STAY WAS REALLY GREAT - would we recommend Mauro Mansion to other visitors to Amsterdam? . . . . .100% YES!

Marcel and Berry work extremely hard and do a fantastic job. We wish them continued success with their hotel venture.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms require you to climb 3 flights of stairs - not for the unfit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janeyblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

I booked Mauro based on the excellent Trip Advisor reviews, and although it is a lovely place to stay it didn't quite live up to expectations. It's definitely unique... in a good way! And I agree with a previous reviewer that it's more a boutique B&B rather than a hotel, but that's a positive in my book and makes it more appealing.

It has a lot going for it... The location is superb - 5 mins walk from the train station and a very central starting point for whatever you want to see and do. The room we had was on tlhe first floor and faced the canal; it was spacious with a high ceilling, uniquely decorated and furnished, and had a great view. A kettle is provided with a selection of teas and coffee, and there's also a mini fridge in the room which was stocked with complimentary drinks. The little treat on our pillow each day was a really nice touch.

The breakfast room is lovely, as was the breakfast... great selection of breads, peanut butter, jams, chocolate sprinkles etc., cold meats and cheeses, cereals, yogurts, fresh fruit, juices, teas and coffee, (although if you like your tea made with boiling water you'll be disappointed!)
The 'honesty bar' is a great idea - whether you use it or not, it's nice to know it's there.

The not so good points are:
The pillows are too high and hard - ok if you like sleeping with your head at right-angles to your body!
The mattresses are very uncomfortable - you can feel the springs coming through!
It was a bit strange having 2 single quilts over a double bed, but I guess that's because we had 2 single beds pushed together!
If you sleep with the window open it's very noisy - although you can keep the window shut and put the aircon on (our choice not to do that!)
There's a ridiculous net canopy above the bed... what's the point? It just gets in the way and gathers dust!

All in all, is it value for money? Probably not - it's quite an expensive and you could find a perfectly good hotel for much less.
However..... Would I stay there again?.... Most definitely!
And would I recommend it to others?..... Absolutely yes!

Room Tip: I don't know what the other rooms are like but the first floor canal room has a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HorshamJacqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
58 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

This place definitely earns it's #1 rating on Tripadvisor! Marcel and Berry are amazing hosts. They can provided you with great advice on what to do. Skip the line tickets are a must and they will provide them for you. The room was great. We've stayed at a lot of places and this rates with the best of them! Stay here! You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike9mc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westerly, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Quiet, very clean, very comfortable, contemporary, convenient location, fantastic breakfast (great coffee and fresh baked goodies), perfect-sized room, fantastic toiletries, radiant heated bathroom floors (great in the winter) close to great restaurants, wonderful owners (kind and hardworking) ... I could go on and on.

I love the quote that is nicely placed on the wall of the breakfast area, "Love, Be Passionate, Be Spontaneous, Dream Big, Celebrate, Change the World" ... it's very nice touch to the decor and also seems to be a reflection on the type of atmosphere that this hotel creates. This really is the perfect hotel for a quiet, romantic honeymoon or simply a special getaway.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level Contributor
214 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

This is an unusual hotel well located in a delightful city. my only drawback is the quality of the beds which could be better but still highly recommended

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smallface1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerbieW
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We booked Mauro Mansion on account of its very positive reviews on Trip Advisor and true to those reviews it provides a wonderful mix of location, style and really great service.

It's more of a boutique B&B than a hotel but that shouldn't put you off, there's plenty of places to eat very close by in Amsterdam. It's small enough to have an intimate and individual feel and the design of the rooms gave a sense of being in a stylish setting but retained a certain modesty about it, which I liked.

I think the reason it gets so many five stars (I know I've only given it four but I think one should be sparing with 5s) is the service. The guys that run the place go out of their way to be helpful. Most B&B/Hotel owners are generally helpful people but for these guys it seemed effortless, they had good ideas and as others mentioned had thought of lots of little things (like having enough guide books that they could lend to guests for the day). Simple but makes a difference.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HerbieW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,514 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,357 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#10 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#15 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mauro Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mauro Mansion

Property: Mauro Mansion
Address: Geldersekade 16, 1012 BH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mauro is a relaxed, romantic and quirky 9-room hotel, situated in a classic 16th century canal house right in the middle of the historical centre. You will find yourself between 2 former medieval city gates, a unique spot to start exploring Amsterdam. Please be advised that we are not suitable for children andor any parties larger then 5 persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Mauro Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mauro Mansion Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing