We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not have made a better choice”
Review of Mauro Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mauro Mansion
Ranked #3 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 October 2011

I can only say that I agree with all of the positive reviews that have been written about Mauro Mansion. The weather turned wet and windy during our three day stay and made us really appreciate Mauro's proximity to the train station (about 2 blocks altogether) and to the many, many restaurants in the area. Our hosts were friendly and helpful with restaurant, sightseeing and travel suggestions. Our spacious room was canal side on the first (not ground) floor. There was an armoire for hanging clothing but no separate dresser, a safe, hairdryer, TV, extra pillows, extra shelf space in the bathroom for toiletries, and a mini fridge with complimentary beer, prosecco, and soft drinks. The buffet breakfast of cereals, fruit, yogurt, meats, cheeses, unique breads to toast and a small treat that differed daily (spice cake, strawberry parfait, etc.) was very satisfying.
Wifi and a computer for guests to use were on the ground floor. The eclectic decorating is pleasant and funky, "boho industrial" with some antique pieces mixed in.
Don't miss the masterpieces in the Rijkes and Van Gogh Museums. Take the #2 tram unless you want a long (but picturesque) walk.

Room Tip: Book early, 6 months or more in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ngardens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,077)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

747 - 753 of 1,077 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2011

We just spent 8 days touring Belgium and the Netherlands and returned yesterday. The last 4 days of this trip we spent in Amsterdam at the Mauro Mansion - this was absolutely the highlight. Marcel and Berry have made their place so comfortable, we felt at home. I was looking forward to getting to Amsterdam and staying at the Mauro Mansion based on the reviews on Trip Advisor and what I saw on Marcel and Berry's website. The decor is fabulous - its modern but comfortable. From the mix of textures - embossed wall paper, wood beams and furniture, industrial iron work, leather and rubber floors - to how clean and updated everything is. We stayed in room 34. I could live there full time! And the location is perfect! Its on quiet street but so close to the train and everything else.

And the honesty bar - was beyond what I imagined. They have a large selection of wine, beer, drinks, snacks to choose from. There was no need to go out and search for such items if you didn't want to - it was all right there. Breakfast was great - nice spread with the best, fresh baked bread and Marcel made something extra every day. Thanks for the mini pancakces with fresh strawberries - I am still thinking about them!

If you go make a point of taking the train to Haarlem and Zandvoort. Its an EASY day trip from Amserdam - Haarlem is 20 minutes by train and Zandvoort is about 10 minutes past Haarlem. On the last full day of our trip we took the train to Zandvoort and walked along the ocean. We then stopped at Haarlem on the way back to Amsterdam for a few hours. It was a nice way to end our vacation.

I will highly recommend the Mauro Mansion!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mia_Leonard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

Stayed 4 nights at the Mauro and was thoroughly satisfied with the choice. The hotel is a 2 min walk to the train station, yet is on a quiet street next to a canal. The staff was more than helpful because we arrived 2 hours past their 9pm check-in curfew time, due to a flight delay. This is a small intimate hotel in a 1600's era canal house. The Mauro serves up a beautiful breakfast spread (included) and can also print out your tickets for all of Amsterdam's museums while you finish your morning coffee, saving you the hassle of standing in line. You can easily take a scenic walk to all of the city's major sights from the Mauro. It is also right next to the Red Light district which was a concern of mine because I didn't want to be in a seedy part of town. It wasn't a problem at all. The neighborhood is quite upscale and felt very safe, though I wouldn't recommend staying in this area with kids. The Mauro doesn't accept kids anyway. A good policy in this particular situation. The hotel owners, who work there as well, recommended a great local Italian cafe called Oggi. It takes 5 min to walk there from the Mauro and was outstanding. The manager of Oggi is Mossimo. He was wonderful and very generous to my wife and I. We ate there 3 straight nights because of him The food is terrific!! A must do for dinner if you stay at the Mauro! Try his anti-pasta appetizer. Amazing!

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room, the first one on the left, which was a blessing because of our heavy lug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MisterBespoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Thank you for the wonderful experience!!
The rooms are beautiful. ( We stayed in 2)
Modern ammenities in a old canal house. The decor is fabulous.
The breakfast is great too, and is included.
They give you FREE wine and beverages in your room!! OMG unheard of! Bless you.
The location was awesome. I recomeend this place to anyone I talk to about Amsterdam. You deserve to be #1. Owners are very helpful. We will be back, and what an amazing value to top it all off. Don't change a thing!

Room Tip: If you don't like climbing narrow staircases that twirl, choose the ground floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Live4it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

We just returned from Amsterdam where we spent 5 nights at Mauro Mansion. We would thoroughly recommend it as a clean, comfortable and well located boutique hotel where the owners cant do enough to ensure that their guests are comfortable. The location is ideal so close to the Centraal Station for tripping outside Amsterdam on trains and buses. Their attention to detail is noticable with a nice breakfast to start the day.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

My wife and I recently stayed at Mauro Mansion for two nights to celebrate her birthday. The hotel is clean and homely and very comfortable. It is run by two lovely guys (Berry and Marcel) who were both kind and thoughtful and paid great attention to detail, which made our trip memorable. It's situation 5 minutes from Centraal Station could not be more convenient and whilst very close to the hustle and bustle of the city, we suffered no noise or other problems. A good healthy breakfast will set you up for the day and although we did not use it, the honesty bar was very reasonably priced. Thanks guys, for a great stay. We will be back next year!

Room Tip: A canal view room is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank europeandeco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

This hotel is an easy walk to the central train station. This was really nice for us since we came and left by train, and during our stayed used the train several times. It is close to the red light district but the area is still nice and quiet. It was a bit of a walk to get to the museums though we enjoy walking, but if you didn't there are plenty of public transportation options. The hotel was very comfortable; they have a simple breakfast every morning, and a coffee machine that you can use anytime. Berry and Marcel were quiet but extremely helpful when we asked them questions. They will buy museum tickets for you online or make reservations. This was great to avoid the lines at the very busy museums. The stairs to the rooms are tight and winding and while we were checking in they had carried our heavy luggage up to our room for us. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was spacious and clean. There was a beautiful vase of flowers and a mini refrigerator in the room with several complimentary drinks. There was a safe in the closet, but there was no luggage rack. Our room had a lovely view of the canal, but did get very warm from the morning sun coming in. They did have an air conditioning unit in the room. We did make the mistake of opening the large windows to let some air in....we did not realize the error of this until that night when my friend was bitten in several places on her face. That was bad but after that incident we kept the windows closed and that took care of the problem. This was a good hotel and I would recommended staying here.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NyCricket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 374 in Amsterdam
2,652 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,252 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,380 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,472 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 374 in Amsterdam
2,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mauro Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mauro Mansion

Address: Geldersekade 16, 1012 BH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £92 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mauro is a relaxed, romantic and quirky 9-room hotel, situated in a classic 16th century canal house right in the middle of the historical centre. You will find yourself between 2 former medieval city gates, a unique spot to start exploring Amsterdam. Please be advised that we are not suitable for children andor any parties larger then 5 persons. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mauro Mansion Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing