We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mauro Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mauro Mansion
Ranked #3 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
157 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“wonderful stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

I stayed at Mauro Nov. 2011; front room, canal view. The room would present some challenges had I been traveling with my partner; there was just enough space to hang and store my clothes- for two people it would have been tight. That aside, the room was large for AMS, airy, high ceilings, quiet. I find it amusing that people comment on the stairs as an issue- its AMS- anything built prior to 1950 has narrow winding stairs. My only reservation here was the location- great if you want to be near the Centraal Train station (if you are planning day trips by train out of AMS perfect location); but I found the adjacent RLD to be annoying and a bit grating. For the price and standard of attention this hotel is a great find. The room was pretty spotless (I am a clean freak so am highly critical); service impeccable (they arranged for me to get a much needed massage in my room one evening which I recommend to all with airplane fatigue).Would definitely stay there again; but would also consider staying closer to the Museum District just to avoid the rowdy bands of youths making the rounds thru the RLD. As I live in a major city I wanted to escape this kind of aggression; for others it may not be an issue. The location of the hotel is on a quiet street overlooking a canal- quite charming and peaceful considering the proximity to the central hub of AMS.

Room Tip: Chose a room facing the canal if possible; and yes, they seem to book quickly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JAHNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    852
    130
    15
    2
    0
See reviews for
48
733
46
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

Berry & Marcel are lovely two guys, they try hard to make you feel comfortable while your stay in their boutique hotel. We like the room very much, especially the design and furnitures looks great. These two lovely guys thought about every little detail in hotel design which makes it just perfec

Location is good for public transportation. 2 minutes walk to central station which is very good.

Breakfast is standard but you have everything you need. Everyday they make you little compliments which are very delicious. Pancake with Strawberry was my favorite one. By the way, Thank you very much for the extra Chicken Marcel :)

Finally, this is the place where you want to stay in amsterdam. Don't you go back home without you staying in Mauro Mansion!!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank HassasBurun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woolacombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

Excellent location close to all the bars, cafes, shops, red light district and railway station. A boutique hotel run by dedicated owners offering a tranquil resting place not far from the madding crowds! Small hotel that has a truly delightful individual style. Very relaxed atmosphere.

Room Tip: I stayed in a courtyard room as the canal rooms may suffer from some road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mungo69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

Just got back from spending New Year in Amsterdam and had a fantastic time, mainly due to the great stay at Mauro mansion.
It's ideally situated near to Central Station, alongside a canal and close but not too close to China Town and the Red Light District.
We were lucky to get a cancellation and stayed. in Room 32 which had lovely views of the canal.
The owners think of everything - even ear plugs which we didnt need. The room was equipped with T.V and DVD player with lots of DVD's to borrow. A mini fridge which came filled with complimentary drinks, including a welcome bottle of champagne to celebrate the New Year. The bed was very comfy and there was a nice shower and deep bath. Underfloor heating in the bathroom was very nice.
Breakfast was continental but there was plenty of choice and lots of it. Fresh coffee, juices, warm breads, cheeses and meat.
The owners were very warm and friendly and even though we had ordered I Amsterdam tickets, they did not charge us for them as they would not be valid due to it being New Year and they would not have worked - thank you for that.
Useful to have laptop and i-pad available to use too.
Overall, if you are wanting to stay somewhere that's got it all then book this place.

Room Tip: Room 32 has canal views but there is a steep staircase to climb so not good for people who like to d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emz5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Den Haag, Neherlands
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

We stayed here last April for a little romantic getaway and we really appreciated their attention to detail. Large rooms, beautiful/stylish decor, helpful staff, good location, and the little additions that turn a good experience into a great experience. thanks!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chrisk828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

This place is marvellous.We loved it and the owners too, they were super helpful and sweet.

Breakfast was simply gorgeous, food was delicious and all locally sourced, organic, so perfect. Very close to the station, you just have to take the main exit or you'll get a bit lost! Love the honesty bar, we didnt have need to use it but it was super nice to have it there, and it was VERY VERY reasonably priced. Beds were divine and the heating was perfect. I cannot faul this place at all and highly recommend to everyone.

Room Tip: Book on the second floor for a view but only if you can deal with the staircase and lugging it up an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Annora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

lived up to its reputation as number one on trip advisor.Our room was lovely overlooking the canal and the owners were friendly and helpful during our stay


rhydian and rhian s wales

Room Tip: room 22 overlooking canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhyd2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,492 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#7 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mauro Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mauro Mansion

Property: Mauro Mansion
Address: Geldersekade 16, 1012 BH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mauro is a relaxed, romantic and quirky 9-room hotel, situated in a classic 16th century canal house right in the middle of the historical centre. You will find yourself between 2 former medieval city gates, a unique spot to start exploring Amsterdam. Please be advised that we are not suitable for children andor any parties larger then 5 persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Mauro Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mauro Mansion Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing